4.0

Created with Sketch.
446 reviews
77%
would repurchase
3.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Not sure what all the hype is about...did nothing for my hair. In fact it felt even drier. Tried both with wet and dry hair....

About reviewer (1023 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a review for the Potion 9 styling treatment. My hair goals are to be smooth whilst providing some hold without crustiness and should deliver some nutrition. This is the best I have found for many years, this is much better than any other smoothing treatment I have used. When used prior to blow drying, it provides volume, smoothness and hold. When used on dry hair, provides smoothness without oiliness which lasts all day. Since I have coarse hair, I need something that is pretty strong without weighing me down or overly filled with silicone. Love the natural oils in this and that fact that its not runny, far beats bumble, kerastase, redken etc I've tried over the years. Basically does a great job doing everything without goopiness. I highly recommend you try a travel size which will allow you to work with it for a little prior to buying. Give it a go, you will love this!

About reviewer (689 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

You won't believe this but I just found my potion 9 from 20 years ago! And I decided to use it because back in the day it was my favorite! (Why dude I stop using it?!) so I applied it to my damp hair after shower and I swear, my hair had never felt so soft! SO SOFT!! so I went online and ordered a few more of this so I will have it forever :) it is truly the most softening conditioning beautifying hair product. (I had also used the Sebastian trillium shampoo and conditioner which I love). I think Sebastian is just the best. And I have thick wavy hair. This potion 9 left it smooth. Smooth beautiful waves like the 40s movie stars. I am mad that i stopped using this for years while I tried out bumble and bumble and so many other Products. I do love Moroccan oil. But I now use potion 9 right after shower and then Moroccan oil a bit later or when dry. It makes me dry hair so soft and full of moisture. Healthy.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Dry, Medium, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Was not impressed with the product, did absolutely nothing for my hair. Used it for 3 weeks but did not see any difference which is a bit disappointing as it is another product going to the bin. I am on the hunt for a styling product that will make my hair more manageably/frizz free and easier to brush. I tried about 5 products but all of the ended up in the bin. The only products seems to be making a difference is silicon based which is not ideal for regular use.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have used this for many years. Just a little pump on my damp hair and combed through before styling. I can't imagine using anything else to combat frizz, and help to set my styling.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Other, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I first used this gosh maybe some 15-20 years ago and forgot all about this (and how I loved this) until a friend was talking about this. I decided with the never-ending humidity that is prevalent where I live, this could/would help and I decided to re-visit this 'old friend'. Now, this can be a little tricky to use and I could see how some may think this is heavy or greasy. The trick to this is applying the tiniest dab (a very small half of a pea-size amount) in the palm of your hand, and rub both of your palms together, and even getting this on your fingers, massage it in your palms and fingertips really well, like a little kid playing with mud. And then slowly and steadily apply this, starting from mid-shaft for most people, and 'smoothing' it down your hair, lightly, and evenly as possible. I then use a wide tooth comb if my hair is wet or a paddle brush if my hair is dry, to then distribute this evenly through my hair. I do not see this so much as a 'conditioner' nor a moisturizer as some seem to mistake this as, but rather more as a styling product. This does help keep my little fuzzies at bay, even throughout the day, and I just never found a product to do so. Some may work for about an hour at the most, but this one lasts the longest for me throughout the day. But the key is to remember that the tiniest dab will do ya, even for long hair. This does have a rather odd scent but for me the scent does not linger once this is applied to the hair. The price of this is a bit steep, but this will last for a very, very long time, if used correctly. Great product that I never really hear talked about.

About reviewer (686 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have used this product (in its many different formulations) for 20 years on my hair that has changed from thick course frizzy curly-wavy to thinner finer still-tiny-bit-frizzy wavy hair that can still form curls when using this product the right way (which also allows me to style it straight). This product has performed amazingly over all that time (I will say that if you can find an older formulation, buy it up) and all those hair textures. The only change wrt the product is that I use less than I first did (and sometimes thin with a little water depending on what I'm trying to achieve). What's amazing to me is that I can use it on wet or dry hair and can get a wide variety of styles depending on the amount I use and the method of styling. For curls, I massage well (one dollop in my current finer hair or two generous dollops in my old super thick hair) into wet hair, and scrunch and either air dry or blow dry. For waves or piece-y look, I let/get my hair partially dry and then massage in a small amount and continue to tousle hair while I'm drying it (air or blow). To tame/control hair day(s) after shampooing, I'll mix it in my hands with some water and finger it through dry hair from mid-shaft down and work it in. I get control without crunchiness. The only time I get crunchiness is if I apply it and leave it untouched (on wet or dry hair). In my thicker hair days, that helped keep control of the ringlets that would naturally form midway down. Too much of the product and your hair is going to look greasy, though it will never feel that way. Nor will it _ever_ feel like you have silicone in your hair (if there is any in the product, it's imperceptible). It will only weigh down hair if you don't use the right amount, and I know firsthand that that will vary by hair type and thickness. In areas where my hair has become fine over the years, I need to use a light touch otherwise and be wise about where I apply it on the shaft. Folks with a lot of fine hair might want to consider mixing a small amount with water in their hands first before applying. I don't think this product was ever designed for use in all the ways I use it as my hairdressers over the years have all expressed incredulity when I tell them what I do, but they see that it works. And works well!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

If you are in search of a light, barely there feeling styling product this is for you. Unfortunately, my hair is not very cooperative, I have fine curly, cotton candy, wispy kind of hair. Potion 9 gives me (on freshly washed hair, applied to damp hair) soft loose curly waves. Very easy and loose, it looked very nice. While they are reasonably frizz free and nice looking they are still a bit fly away. I need a fine balance of not too heavy, but a bit of heft because my cotton candy hair is so wispy and fly away. Second day hair is not pretty when I used this. My curls are pulled out. I have a whole Captain Cave Man look going on. I used this in place of my Deva Styling Cream and all other actions and products were the same. I prefer the Deva because it gives my hair the extra heft I need without weighing it down, but not letting it get too fly away & wispy. The Deva Styling Cream also chunks my curls together better. So given how this performed for me, I think this would be amazing for those with fine hair, those that want loose hold and definition, and those that want to not feel like they have something in their hair. Not a bad product at all, but not the best one for me.

About reviewer (1201 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I am 28 years old and first discovered potion 9 when i was like about 14 years old in my sisters drawer in our shared bathroom. I have literally never stopped using it since. All of my friends have become cult addicts too. It's just the best styler ever. My hair is naturally wavy and I "scrunch" it into my hair to create pretty, loose, shiny waves when it dries, and i smooth it into my wet hair before blow drying and straightening, as well as adding some more to smooth over after i'm finished. I ALSO use this product when I do a top knot, I smooth it into my hair, and toss it up, whether i want a loose top knot or a tight formal one, this is my go to. It never EVER leaves my hair greasy, but controls flyaways, adds shine, and nourishes my hair. I am into trying other products and often do but I have never found a better hair product out there!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I got this stuff randomly for free and I didn't think I'd like it as much as I do! My hair is fine, damaged/processed and straight. This gives me just enough control without making me feel like I have anything in my hair. I notice a huge difference in the fullness, softness and smoothness of my hair when I use it before blowdrying. It's certainly not a miracle treatment (is there such a thing?) but it allows me to fake having healthy hair. I'm a hair stylist, so I've used a lot of different products, but this is definitely THE ONE for me.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen