3.5

Created with Sketch.
17 reviews
59%
would repurchase
3.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

It took me months to find this. Mostly I looked at CVS, and it was always sold out. One clerk said people kept stealing it. But it was ten bucks there so I'm glad I finally found it at Target for $8. Anyway, I was super excited to try this primer because of all the type, and how it it's a cheap dupe for the Tascha one that costs like, fifty clams. I had been using Smashbox's gel stuff which is very good and now I'm back to that. This stuff comes in a container that you have to dip your fingers into, which I hate because it's unsanitary. So strike one. Strike two: it does NOT conceal my pores. Not even a little. Strike 3: it makes my makeup wear off SOONER!!! The hell....??? I've tried it with 3 different foundations, and all of them slide off my face halfway through the day when I use this. Strike 4: I'm breaking out more. I'm a little hesitant to blame this primer for that because I do not have hard proof of it, but I have been breaking out since I've started using this. Anyway, I'm hoping Target will take it back because 8 bucks is nothing to sneeze at. I'm going back to Smashbox.

About reviewer (3503 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Olive, Cool

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I got this back when it was being hyped everywhere, and I'm just not impressed. I've tried using more and less of it, patting it on and rubbing it in, different foundations and the like, and I don't get the hype. Every now and then I can see the tiniest difference in how my pores look after I've applied my foundation, but it's so minimal that I could have achieved the same look by lightly dusting setting powder over the same area. It does absolutely nothing to help my nose, which is what I wanted it for the most, but on my cheeks it might smooth things out very slightly. I also think this emphasizes texture on my face, particularly any dry patches. As far as longevity, there is none. My makeup usually lasts longer if I go without primer, and even some dewy primers have held up better than this one. Maybe I got a dud, or maybe it just doesn't work for my skin (I've never had luck with e.l.f. primers), but I won't be buying it again. I'm starting to use primer less often, anyway, because I almost never see any real difference in how my skin looks or how long my makeup lasts, and I think I'd prefer using a more liquid-y kind of primer if I did use one (for hygiene). A lot of people seem to really love this primer, so I do think it's probably just my skin not getting along with it, and I'd say go ahead and pick it up if you want to try it, especially if you've seen it recommended by people who enjoy other face products you generally like.

About reviewer (107 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

I don't use this daily. But to be fair, I don't use any primer that often and as far as primers go this is one of my favorites. I'd recommend it to others. E.L.F Cosmetics Poreless Putty Primer really does a great job at hiding my pores. A lot of primers just pool around them, emphasizing the poor texture. This on the other hand glides right over them and seems to fill them in. Foundation looks a lot smoother. I don't really notice much of a difference in how oily my face is or the long wear of my make up. With that being said, I already wear VERY matte/full coverage foundation. I will say I *do* notice that this seems to protect my skin, as odd as that may sound. My skin is always softer after wearing this primer. I suppose that's due to the silicone content. And it keeps my foundation from oxidizing even when I wear vitamin c serum. It's thicker than 99% of the primers on the market so if you have dry skin this might be a bit much. Your mileage may vary.

About reviewer (514 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Honestly, I’m surprised. Usually drug store primers are terrible, so I only buy high-end primers. But after hearing a lot of reviews; I decided to give this a try. It’s probably my favourite primer for when I want a dewy finish; and it’s overtaken my Laura Mercier & YSL primers. This makes my makeup last all day. I probably wouldn't wear it everyday just because my skin is extremely oily, and I really need a primer with mattifying properties. But that's down to my skin type. I don’t understand why these Makeup Alley reviews are bad. It might be that it doesn’t go with certain foundations. Because I’ve tried a lot of primers; and I can say this one is up there. (Just to mention - I haven't managed to try the Tatcha Silk Canvas (which is apparently a dupe), so I'm not sure which is better).

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Deep Dark

HairBlack

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

This is a wonderful pore filling primer and while not an exact dupe for Tatcha’s Silk Canvas primer, this is worth so much more than it’s economical price tag. Did you know they make a small size of this in a squeezy tube, perfect for travel? Or in my case as someone that doesn’t use primer very often it is great to have a small size option to use when required. Depending on the foundation I’m using, I will press this primer into the two small lines on my forehead, fine lines around my mouth and the pores on my chin which helps my foundation smooth over these areas without settling into them. I think this is quite similar to the Revlon PhotoReady Primer and they perform pretty much the same as well. If you like pore/line/wrinkle filling/blurring primers this is a great option.

About reviewer (929 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 months ago

I like this! I am using it on my chin and upper lip area and m finding that it does blur my issues.

About reviewer (61 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairSilver, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I just don't get the hype on this. I used it and it actually made my skin look worse. Pores stood out more and it actually made the texture of my skin look horrible.

About reviewer (255 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 months ago

I was sucked in by the rave reviews on YT and bought this online at Amazon for over ten dollars! I am sure I could get it for less somewhere else, but I thought for sure this would be great and so the price worth it...wrong! This is a small tub, so less hygienic, it doesn't meet it's claims of giving you a pore less finish. Does nothing for my makeup or my skin texture. Doesn't extend the wear time either. So, I guess the size doesn't matter, because though it is small, I will be moving on .

About reviewer (102 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

First off, this primer was smaller than i expected but that's a minor thing. $8US is a very reasonable price. i wanted to try this primer after hearing that it was comparable to the tatcha one. I wasn't going to fork over the money for the tatcha one so this e.l.f. one was heaven sent LOL. It had been sold out for a while but when my hubs went on a biz trip to Philly he was able to grab me a couple. I was ecstatic! The consistency of this primer is very hard. You really have to dig your finger into it the first time to break through the hard layer. It melts beautifully into the skin and you don't need a lot. As per the instructions... i did let this primer sit for about 30secs before applying my foundation. My foundation and face products glide on beautifully and it really does give a very pore-less and airbrushed look. I don't find that it controls oil very well however. I wore it for the first time for about 6+hrs...and noticed my skin looking oily but nothing a little powder can't fix. All in all....very happy w this product and i'm glad i have a backup one too!

About reviewer (913 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Had been wanting to buy this ,since Jeffery Star made a video comparing this one to Tatcha. I am loving it so far, it does blur out my pores and my makeup goes on smoothly.So far my makeup has stayed into place and all day.And surprised on the size and a little goes along the way. Will be repurchasing this for sure.

About reviewer (126 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown