Artis Oval 7 brush

 Artis Oval 7 brush
Artis Oval 7 brushArtis Oval 7 brush

4.0

12 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 8/16/2017 5:34:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This review is for the oval 7 from the elite mirror collection. I really, really love this brush for applying my foundation, better than any brush or beauty blender. It is so quick, so unbelievably soft and doesn't leave any stripes on my face. It gives a beautiful, full coverage. But...
After a year of use, the brush head suddenly snapped off - to my horror. Before I bought the brush, I had already read reviews from people who said not to apply too much pressure on the handle, because the brush head could break off. With every use I was really careful not to apply too much pressure, and still it broke. After contacting customer support, they kindly sent me a new one. With this one, I always make sure to hold the handle AND two fingertips on the brush head itself, to make sure to even out the pressure.
I don't regret buying it, but I wouldn't buy it again, since there are so many good dupes available now for waaaayyyy less money and I am convinced that the design of the brush is faulty. The handle is way too thin to support the large head, which they changed for the better in the newer collections with the black handles.
My Artis brushes (I also own the oval 6, oval 4, linear 6 and linear 3, and the circle 1) have the white handles, which are really prone to staining - especially when applying foundation or concealer, which won't come off the handle even with a seriously good wash. The heads of the larger brushes (oval 7, 6) are especially hard to clean as well, since the brush is so dense.
All in all: I really like my oval 6 and 7 for applying products when I want coverage (i.e. foundation, or a very sheer blush). The linear 6 I use for concealer. The other brushes I don't really use, which is a shame (especially for the price I paid). When purchasing these, you have to keep in mind that they are really dense, the smaller ones also, so you can't use them for any product you want to apply lightly or build up, like highlighter, eyeshadow, contour, a light veil of powder or a pigmented blush.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

So everyone knows this is expensive, and I'm not even going to go into if I think it's worth it or not. That is such a personal choice based on your own finances. I personally do not believe you should ever stretch your finances for luxuries, which, while I love make up, it is absolutely a luxury. So putting that aside, now for the review.

I have been using the Sigma F80 for a loooooong time. I use the beauty blender some but it's kind of a pain to take it to the sink, get it damp, come back to my vanity, use it and for optimum application blend for 5 minutes. So I don't use it as often as I should. I also hate how that you have to replace them as often as you do (compared to brushes which can last 10 plus years if you care for them). I rarely use fingers to apply foundation. I wanted to find something that would work as well as the beauty blender but a brush. And I wanted something that works a little faster than the Sigma F80. I got the oval 7 in the smoke series.

This is a very dense and very soft brush. You swipe the product around. I can use slight tapping motions in some small areas to work product in. I've used it with Revlon Colorstay (liquid) and Tarte rainforest of the sea foundation so far. I feel like this brush does what I want it to do. The head is basically the same width of the Sigma F80 (artis brush is slightly smaller) but a little under twice as long. I can cover my face faster than the F80 with the blending of the beauty blender but again, faster blending than the beauty blender. I have acne scarring/large pores by my nose and it smoothes foundation perfectly over that area. My skin looks incredible when I use this brush. It can be slightly streaky but I just go back over it again and to smooth it out. I can fit it around my nose and squeeze it under my eyes. I do kind of want to try the Oval 4 for under eye concealor and see if I like that better because it does feel just a bit big for my eyes. Also the oval 7 has flat bristles and the oval 4 has rounded so I feel like that may fit better under the eyes. I do feel like the neck of the brush head feels a little flimsy. It is quite slender. I keep a finger on the brush head to reinforce it so I don't put too much pressure on the neck.

Cleaning. I've been using the brush for two weeks and I can't detect any foundation build up on it. I have a cloth I wipe it on and nothing comes out. I have not felt the need to clean it yet so I can't share my cleaning method yet. I did not buy their cleaning system. I intend to try out my cinema secrets solution and a microfiber cloth when I do.

For me, this brush does what I purchased it for and I am very happy with it. Picking which size was the hardest part for me because I do not have a place to see these brushes in person. It's a little smaller than I thought it would be so I'm curious if I would have preferred the oval 8 for foundation, and I don't have a large face. I really don't know how people use the oval 6 for foundation, it would feel tiny. I am very happy with my oval 7. I will probably get the oval 4 for concealor. And I can finally retire my beauty blender and sigma F80.

7 of 10 people found this helpful.


on 1/1/2017 11:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

You will NOT regret this purchase. I work in the beauty industry, and I get compliments on how flawless my SKIN looks everyday. I assure you my skin is not flawless, but this brush gives all of my foundations (Re-marcable by Marc Jacobs, Estée Lauder's Doublewear 18 hour Stay in Place liquid, Dior Star, and Smashbox Studio skin) a skin-like finish. The foundation will not cake. It will be evenly spread in and around every crevice of your face. Make sure you take good care of cleaning this brush properly and regularly. The density of hairs makes it difficult to clean foundation buildup deep in the brush head. This brush is worth every penny!!!!!

10 of 13 people found this helpful.


on 10/12/2016 3:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought the Oval 7 in the Fluenta series rather than the Elite series, because I had read some reviews in which the Elite handle was criticized for being flimsy. The Oval 7 is plastic with a chrome-colored finish that shines like a mirror. The brush is interesting, but my boring old standards perform better.

PROS:

1) It has a sleek and modern look.
2) Synthetic “CosmeFibre” bristles are cruelty free and soft.
3) I’ve had this for a few months and have not witnessed any shedding.
4) Good for softening hard edges such as a harsh line of contour.
5) It does not leave streaks like a flat paddle brush.
6) Okay for powders.
7) Helps you get full coverage, if that’s what you want.
8) The Fluenta handle is sturdy, despite how slender it is.

CONS:

1) I dislike it as a foundation brush. Because the brush head is so dense, it can drag and pull at the skin too much when blending liquids or creams. Thin, watery foundations vanish quickly into the bristles, so you have to use more. Because of the way it tugs at the skin, I feel like it’s aging me every time I use it. Other brushes are gentler.

2) The handle placement is awkward. It forces my hand and arm into positions that cause fatigue. I wouldn’t give this to my friend with carpal tunnel syndrome. Artis makes their gimmicky line look very luxurious, but I found the new Kat Von D Edge Foundation Brush to be more ergonomically correct and comfortable to hold, not to mention a better value.

3) Rather than obscuring pores, this brush likes to push products firmly into the pores, and if anything they look more obvious than they do when I buff with a cheap Real Techniques Expert Face Brush or a damp sponge. The Beautyblender makes me look more airbrushed than the Artis Oval 7.

4) Because the handle is perpendicular to the head, it’s difficult to get the Artis Oval 7 into pans of powder that are small and square, or deep. Ideally the pan should be round, larger in diameter than the brush head, and relatively shallow, otherwise coating the brush evenly is cumbersome.

5) The Oval 7 is unwieldy for small faces. I intended to buy the Oval 6 so I could buff with it, but I was talked into buying the 7, and now I realize the sales associate wanted to sell me a pricier brush, not the size that would work best.

6) This brush isn’t the best tool for applying makeup to myself, and it’s even less appropriately shaped for doing someone else’s makeup. I’ve worked professionally on films and photo shoots, and if I use the Oval 7 to apply base products to someone else, my knuckles brush the person’s skin. It’s not elegant to bump your subject’s nose. Again, awkward handle placement. A traditional long-handled brush gives you more freedom of movement. Kevyn Aucoin’s Foundation Brush is more fun to operate and more respectful. It allows me to work better and faster without invading someone’s personal space.

7) At $70, the Artis Fluenta Oval 7 is overpriced. I don’t feel the quality of the materials or the contrived design can justify the costliness. It’s not revolutionary or life-changing, and it doesn’t blow me away.

8) If your skin is dry, a dense, firm brush head like this can stir up flakes.

9) A lot of foundation can collect in the densely packed bristles. Contrary to claims made in several online videos, this brush doesn’t save money on foundation. I’m not using less than I would with a sponge. Cinema Secrets Brush Cleaner and Parian Spirit dissolve makeup quickly, but I still have to use a pad and scrub the head to get all the gunk out of the Artis. It’s easier and faster to clean conventional brushes.

10) I have a brush tree to dry brushes upside down. Because the Artis brush head is perpendicular to the handle, if I want to keep water away from the glue, I have to lay it flat on a towel instead of using my tree. Artis wants you to buy special cleaning supplies for their atypical brushes. I would if I loved this brush…but I don’t.

Surprisingly, I found Kat Von D’s The Edge to be more versatile. It’s better at hugging facial contours, better for stippling, simpler to clean, more pleasant to hold, and at $34, it’s less than half the price of the Artis Fluenta Oval 7. I would have been better off buying MAC’s $42 Oval 6, just to satisfy my curiosity for peculiar makeup tools. Even the Artis Oval 6 would have set me back less; the Fluenta Oval 6 is $60 and the Elite Mirror Oval 6 is $55. I’m glad I didn’t invest in the large Fluenta set that costs a whopping $355. I can’t imagine what I would do with the enormous Artis Oval 10. Wash my car, maybe?

I wouldn’t buy the Oval 7 again. It doesn't live up to the hype and for the money, it should. I prefer the finish I get from a domed buffing brush or flat-topped kabuki brush or Beautyblender. So I can’t recommend the Artis Oval 7 to you, especially when it’s so expensive.

22 of 24 people found this helpful.


on 9/12/2016 10:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Amazing brush!! I got this for my birthday and am absolutely in love! I mainly use this brush to blend my foundation and it blends so seamlessly. Even my boyfriend commented on how wonderfully it blends my makeup. I previously used the beauty blender to apply my foundation and let me say this, the artis brush blends so much better at a fraction of the time! I always got frustrated by how long it took to blend my foundation with a beauty blender, but this product blends it amazingly and quickly!! It especially great if you're always in a rush like me.

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE 9/28: After my initial love for this brush, I have decided to return it along with the cleaning pad. For $126, I shouldn't have to fiddle so much with the application. The problem is that despite the fact that I only use sheer-medium coverage foundations, they all look cakey and heavy when I use this brush. I have tried everything but works best is mixing my foundation with Laura Mercier foundation primer. Unfortunately my skin is so sensitive that this primer along with almost all other primers, causes me to break out. Not a ton, but enough that I have several new spots at the end of the day. Finally after several weeks of adjustments, I have decided to stick with another new foundation brush that works really well for me (MUFE HD foundation brush 106). It does a great job and doesn't cost a small fortune, also no fiddling required.

ORIGINAL REVIEW: I love this brush. I have tried SO many different high-end foundation brushes but this one is my favorite by far. I learned about Artis brushes from beauty vlogger Chloe Morello, who highly recommends them. Overall this is a lovely brush and every last molecule of liquid foundation is spread on my face with none wasted or sucked up by the brush (unlike my beloved Beauty Blender which eats up product). Because of this, you need about half as much product with these brushes, or you will look like a cakey mess who applied your foundation with a trowel. This is my biggest issue with this brush as I prefer a very natural look so I have had to learn the right amount with each of my different foundations. Long-term this is a benefit, it is more efficient and I go through way less foundation. The negatives are:
- Excessive packaging: not necessary, bad for the environment. (Flipside is that the presentation is gorgeous and would make for a beautiful gift for the beauty junkie in your life.)
- Cheap plastic handle (as preview reviewers have noted)
- Can easily make foundation look cakey and heavy - remember to use much less product
- Ridiculously expensive (obvs)

If you can overlook all of that, these brushes are lovely. I will definitely be getting a smaller one for my undereye concealer because the 7 is too large. The 7 is perfect for allover foundation application. I have only used it for liquids but it would also work with creams. I've heard it works with powder as well but I prefer a fluffy softer brush for that. I also bought the cleaner pad which works well but is really heavy - would be a pain to travel with but is perfect for a vanity as it doesn't slide around no matter how vigorously you clean your brush. So to sum up, the investment is worth it if you wear foundation everyday and aren't thrilled with your current application methods. I would love to buy a complete set of these brushes but would only do so if they were seriously discounted.

7 of 7 people found this helpful.


on 6/27/2016 12:24:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Holy crap, I'm impressed. Not by the price, not by the cheapy plastic handle, but by the results: I have used this with only 2 foundations so far: Charlotte Tilbury Light Wonder (this is the lighter coverage of her foundations), and MUFE Ultra HD, and yes, yes yes yes YES this gives a great result. Yes, ma'am, it sure does, I am not lying.

So I prepped my skin as I normally do with a great moisturizer for my skin type, then Porefessional for my nose and inner cheek area, then Becca Backlight primer, then a spray of NYX prep, letting each layer set for a minute or 3 (I am getting old, so I need all this). However, I have to say, I have not been following a good skincare regimen lately, which means I have not exfoliated in about 3-4 weeks, and I also have some blemishes around my chin and lower jaw area, so I had both well-primed and crappy skin to test the application.

My skin looked, as most YT "gurus" would say with that uniquely affected tone, a'Fffff--L--AWless. So lovely, like I had nary a problem with my skin to speak of. Now, these are all products I have used many times before, and yes, I'm relatively happy with the usual results from them, as in sometimes I'm not at all impressed with them, and sometimes they hit the mark beautifully, BUT NOT BEFORE TO THIS DEGREE HAS EVERYTHING COME TOGETHER WITH SUCH MELDING, SEAMLESS BEAUTY.

The foundation just, for lack of a better term, flowed over my skin. I do not shave (microblade) my face, so I do have peach fuzz, and this was not exacerbated by the foundation. You know how you first apply foundation, and it's nice and all, perhaps a little texturey, and then it settles down after a half hour to an hour and then it looks great? After using this brush to apply, I didn't have to wait for that, it looked great right then and there.

I swear this brush makes a super difference. Yes it does. I can't speak for any of the other Artis brushes (I ordered #4 oval for concealer and #1 liner, according to Tati's experience, but I haven't received them yet so cannot speak on them), but I am floored by this brush. It's been just 3 applications, but I am so far extremely impressed. After application, I gently scrub the brush off on a terry cloth, and this seems to keep it clean for the next usage, but soon I'm going to get that foamy cleaner to do it right - so I have no words on how it really cleans up. But so far, no shedding. And it is truly insanely soft.

And that application! Oh mama...

12 of 14 people found this helpful.


on 6/13/2016 7:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This brush definitely lives up to its rave reviews by Tati! My foundation looks airbrushed and the bristles are so soft and glides so gently around my face! I am incline to buy the oval 4/5 for contouring or blush. I bought this brush from net a porter and paid more tha USD 60. A little pricey but I feel it's of good value considering the finish I get as compared to other high end brushes I own!

6 of 7 people found this helpful.


on 4/14/2016 5:32:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

If you don't have this brush...DON'T bother! I just needed to try it out because it's different looking and I have heard mixed reviews on it so thought I would try it for myself. Yes, this brush is super soft..it feels nice against my face, but other then that? Nothing special. I used this to apply my foundation and I find it hard to apply in the smaller areas of my face for example the sides of my nose right next to my eyes, under my eyes, between my eyebrows, etc..I also found myself getting tired of holding the brush. After I applied it I didn't think my foundation looked as nice as it does when I use my beauty blender. I felt like most of the foundation was on the brush and not on my face. Glad I tried it, but I won't be using it again. I will stick to my holy grail beauty blender. I also tried a "cheap" version of this product that I bought on Amazon for $10 bucks and honestly they both were about the same. Felt the same, did the same and that's not saying much. Want to try it, get the cheap version. Well, the only thing difference I did notice was that the cheap brush shed after only using it ONE time. Only difference.

5 of 9 people found this helpful.


on 3/29/2016 9:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Before taking the plunge on a $60 brush, I tried the Cailyn Wow dupe to see if I would like the application technique. I loved the Cailyn brush, still do for the $22 it cost me. Then I got a promo code for $15 off on beautybar website and decided to try the Artis. I went with the 7 because the Cailyn brush is a dupe of the Artis 6 and I really wanted just a tad bit bigger. The packaging is beuatiful although I agree with one reviewer that the handle feels weak. The brushes are longer and a little softer than my dupe brush. Where it excels is in the application. I was impressed by the Cailyn until I got the Artis 7. With the dupe brush, my foundation is seemless and beautifully blended. With the Artis 7, foundation, contour and whatever else is completely airbrushed and perfect. I've tried it with Koh Gen Do Aqua, By Terry Sheer Expert, Chanel Aqua Vitalumiere and even Nars tinted moisturizer - which really shocked me at how perfect my skin looked. Usually I'm not a huge fan of Nars tinted moisturizer, but this brush is a game changer (sorry, I hate that phrase but it works here.) It also cuts down application time since it smooths and blends so easily. You can also use less product than you would with a beauty blender or other brushes which seem to suck up foundation. Get a promo code and buy it on sale, but buy one of these brushes.

8 of 9 people found this helpful.


Popular Makeup Brushes


make-up brushes
make-up brushes
27 Reviews
Buffing Brush
Buffing Brush
149 Reviews
#217 Blending
#217 Blending
991 Reviews
Setting Brush
Setting Brush
142 Reviews

Popular Makeup Brushes

make-up brushes
make-up brushes
27 Reviews
Buffing Brush
Buffing Brush
149 Reviews
#217 Blending
#217 Blending
991 Reviews
Setting Brush
Setting Brush
142 Reviews

Where to Buy



Back to Top