3.5

Created with Sketch.
304 reviews
56%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range
$32.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

23 days ago

I m torn about this product because it’s so difficult to work with! My skin has to be PERFEcTLY smooth and exfoliated for this to apply smoothly. Otherwise? It balls up wherever I have dry skin no matter how gently I apply. I won’t repurchase for this reason. I have tried a beauty blender and a couple different types of brushes besides using my fingers. There is no difference in the necessity of having perfectly exfoliated and moisturized skin under this product. The sunscreen is great. The texture and feel are fine. It’s comfortable and relatively long wearing everywhere but my nose, and nothing lasts on my nose. I just can’t deal with how this one attaches itself to ANY dry skin I might have and proceeds to ball up and lift the edges noticeably. Blech.

About reviewer (46 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

Bamboo 5.5 is listed as “for light warm skin with yellow undertones.” I’m NC25 and the depth is a tad deep but close enough, but the color pulls too peachy for me. I’m starting to think BM doesn’t make a good match for me that leans more neutral or olive; everything is either too peachy/orange or too pink - thus, I would not repurchase due to their shade range. Otherwise the formula seemed ok, it took a while to dry down but stayed put. Light-medium coverage, satin finish. Comes in a simple, no-fuss squeeze tube. $33 for 1.18 oz.

About reviewer (970 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

Wow I love this. It moisturizes very well and is just tinted enough to hide redness and imperfections. It feels very light and doesn’t transfer easily. The spf is sufficient for where I live (very overcast, rainy weather). I wear the shade “ginger 06” which works with Mac nc25.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

Maybe my skin is too oily for this. But I got 2-3 good hours and then I looked like the tin man. It oxidized a little too once my face got shiny. It wasn't a bad tm, but I couldn't even finish it. I threw it away when it got down to about 20% full bc I got sick of bad makeup days. It wasn't bad for skin texture, but I don't think it smoothed over pores and lines either. It just kind of sat. I've been using elta md physical ss for years and years, and I prefer that to this bc elta keeps my skin matte. This didn't.

About reviewer (129 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 months ago

I have been curious about this tinted moisturizer for a long time. I decided to get it when it was 20% off. It is awesome!!! Totally exceeded my expectation! It has very good coverage for a tinted moisterizer, a light weight feel, long lasting, looks like my skin but better. I have it in color Dune. I set it with flowerbeauty matte loose and I'm good until I wash my face in the evening.

About reviewer (195 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

This looks kind of like tinted Vaseline. It has little coverage to start out with and then fades after a couple of hours. You need nice skin to wear this. All of your imperfections are visible. But if you have nice skin, why bother with this anyway? Save your money.

About reviewer (128 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

As much as I love my heavy foundations for evenings or events, this is a dream for everyday wear. This has a very lightweight formula but evens the skin out beautifully and create a smooth texture appearance. It makes the skin look incredibly healthy and although it is a hydrating product with a matte primer and some powder it lasts very well on my skin. It is very comfortable for everyday and is a staple for me :)

About reviewer (8 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 months ago

I actually bought this almost 2 years ago in 5.5 Bamboo and hated it! It dried my skin out and made me look tired and emphasized any texture on my face. Fast forward to present and I bought it again in 1.5 Birch and this time it was wow! I only tried it again because it had such great reviews and one makeup artist said if you buy the wrong shade you will hate it- I had bought the complete wrong shade! My skin is NC20 light with warm yellowish undertones. I am an exact match in Bobbi brown warm sand, clinique even better foundation in Bone, Chanel moisture rich in 20. Make sure you get your correct shade and apply with your fingers - best advice I received.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Overall I really like this product and I'm glad I tried it. It gives exactly the amount of coverage I want: somewhere between light and medium, veering on light. It's definitely not entirely sheer, and with concealer it's perfect. The finish is kind of dewy/satiny but it plays well with setting powder (actually my HG is the Bare Minerals mineral veil but I've also used it with Make Up For Ever HD Setting Powder). It wears well without getting patchy or greasy and does not oxidize. There are a couple of things that keep it from being 5 stars: first, the shade range isn't great. I wear Vanilla which is not a perfect match; it's a tiiiiny bit too dark and I wish it were more pink. Opal is pinker but too light for me. However the coverage isn't heavy enough for it to really matter. Second, it doesn't blend PERFECTLY. I have to put this on in small sections or else it kind of pills up. I always use my fingers because with a brush it looks streaky and a sponge dilutes the coverage so as to make it pointless. Third, it does cling to dry patches but my skin is more oily so that isn't a huge problem for me. That sounds like a lot of cons but they're all really small issues to me and are far outweighed by how much I love the finish of this on my skin, how easy it is to use, and how affordable it is compared to other non-drugstore base products!

About reviewer (75 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Excellent light coverage and moisturiser. I have decent skin (no breakouts since accutane) with some blotchy redness and find this is just the right amount of everyday coverage. PRO: applies beautifully with a buffing brush and gives me light-medium coverage that is very natural and pretty looking. it has a glow but is not shinny. I really like the texture and amount of moisture (I am combination-oily), with setting powder I don't get too much shine or oiliness. The colours are very good, not too pink or yellow. CON: Needs setting powder to last more than 4 hours, does tend to fade by the end of the day (8-10 hours), does not build well. In order to get the benefits of the SPF you would have to apply way more than a normal person uses.

About reviewer (46 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us