2.5

Created with Sketch.
423 reviews
37%
would repurchase
2.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I’m surprised by all the negative reviews. I have used this twice now. I’m 23 but have some grays. I mix the shades medium brown and light brown to get my color. I haven’t had any issues covering grays. However, I’m young so maybe that’s why. I like this over clairol natural instincts because it doesn’t leave my hair as dry and is easier to wash out. I just shampoo once. With natural instincts i have to shampoo twice. The wee conditioner they give you is useless. Not moisturizing. I just use my own mixed with coconut oil. The dye isn’t too drying so I don’t mind. I primarily use sulfate free shampoo and it stays fine. I haven’t had any issues and will repurchase over natural instincts. People seem to be having problems with the bottles. They are thick so it’s hard to get product out. Because I mix colors, my mom dyes my hair using a brush and bowl from sally’s.

About reviewer (124 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue



1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

While I generally think all box dye is terrible, this one really takes the cake and at a pretty penny! I've been coloring my hair for 6 years as it started turning white and while my natural color is dark brown with some golden tones, I have to buy medium brown dye due to all hair color (salon, etc.) being way too dark and inky looking. I bought this in Medium Neutral Brown--the neutral due to dye making my hair so gold and brassy as I have very hard water--but the neutral part made no difference. While the initial color was not too dark, it never covered all my white and I do part my hair and apply color with a brush so there is something wrong with this product. It quickly washed/faded out and became an ugly, brassy-gold color like all the rest of the ammonia-free dyes in particular. I need to dye my hair every 3 weeks due to my white roots and I literally was wearing hats to cover my hair and the insane amount of roots and awful, faded-out brassy color. The packaging would have been fine but I had just enough color for a short, thick bob. One box is not going to cover long hair at all. I also didn't care for the hard bottle the conditioner came in as it was difficult to get the product out after a few days, even with the bottle flipped upside-down. Revlon makes better ammonia-free color (it's still not great) for a fraction of the cost that at least dyes my whites and provides enough product and an easier to use conditioner. Still searching...

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I bought this hair dye in one of the dark brown shades, I usually buy two boxes for my long hair and usually have lots of excess to touch up spots and such. But I literally was scraping my second bottle just to finish the job... When it came out it was quite patchy and turned out black on my light brown hair. My hair is much drier and duller now as well. Just avoid this product as best you can.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I have mid-length, "mousey" brown hair with a bit of grey starting. I've had a bit of experience with different home hair colouring brands, and after growing my roots out to chin length, decided to try out this brand in Bold Rose Gold. Results were not consistent, which I'd never experienced with home hair colour before - I find that usually the results are more uniform, however saturated (or not) the final results may be. At least it blends in, and sort of looks natural. It didn't stick to the grey I have at all, which is to be expected (I'm around 15% grey). It did give a nice subtle rose colour where it did hold, and the colour really held to about 60% of my hair. It's far from a bright, bold result though. The tips of my hair still had some of an older bleach job on them, and the results were much more of a bright rose colour there. So I think for this colour to give bold results, it's best if your hair is bleached to begin with, that's my tip.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I wanted to go back dark and had mad CVS rewards for this — this in soft black and also I got Natural Instincts midnight black. I’m fair and rosy and old 39.5 years; nw15; natural color dark brown. Bleach was eating my hair alive and I want my dark brown/soft black bob back w no ammonia. I also will retry henna & indigo if I decide I permanently want this color. Since I went from blonde I filled with orange, started w this ammonia free perm color so it sticks and will retouch with the natural instincts and/or hendigo. (But can color oops this out just in case). It seems though now that reading reviews I should’ve went straight to natural instincts midnight. I called the hotline it’s 20 volume developer with soft black. Anyway, I gave 4 stars although I did love the color and shine. Deducted one for amount given (barely enough for my pixie!) and for the inane shape of the bottle which gets slippery as you use it and shoots across the room like a crazy staining ink cartoon dart of blackness. Omg please rethink this bottle Garnier! It’s so un-user friendly it’s CRAZYYY To sum up, I will not buy this again. Definitely going with natural instincts which is lower developer deposit only and reviewers say lasts longer than perm dyes with even less damage and more shine!!! Please pour contents in a bowl and use brush. Do not use that stupid bulbous bottle!

About reviewer (389 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Very annoyed with this hair dye, i used it for the first time a couple of weeks ago, never had any problems with any other brand but this one is awful. I dyed it black, there was very little hair dye in the box which barely covered 1/4 of my hair. I always make sure i get the permanent hair dye and after washing my hair a few times its patchy with my natural colour coming through is random spots. I cant afford anymore dye since i already had to buy 4 bottles, my hair now feels awful and is falling out so cant even dye over with another brand. So to sum up : its not permanent, my hair is destroyed and falling out, price is not worth it. I will NEVER use this brand again. Waste of time and money. Also on the box its advertised 'covers full head' my hair is down to my shoulders and never covered it, not even close.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I have been using Olia since it came out and have been consistently happy with it, until the last six months. The previous box that I used contained half the product in both the colourant and the activator, and with the one I used today, the applicator bottle was faulty. It seemed as normal but as I was applying it I realized that the applicator top was not screwed on securely so the mixture was leaking out all over my hands and bathroom counter. I tried several times to re-screw the top onto the bottle with no luck - it kept leaking. Eventually I had to just remove it and pour it into my hands to apply. What is up lately with this product??? If I have additional issues the next time I will have to switch to something else..

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I previously used Revlon Colorsilk, but their buttercream formulas became hard to find and the new formulas dried out my hair. Since Colorsilk did not contain ammonia, I thought I would try Olia. First, Med Pearl Blonde=good result; Med blonde=good result; Dark blonde=disaster. I am now a brunette! I really hope this color fades fast because it looks NOTHING like the picture on the box and is very ashey. I wish I would have gone with the new Rose Gold color instead, but I was afraid it would look pinkish. Don't know if I'd buy this product again, but definitely NOT this shade!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I used this instead of one of the Garnier Ultra colours following a bad experience with it. Both fried my hair and not only came out in the rain onto my clothes following several washes it also went onto a hotel's white towels and while still damp the hotel's white bedding. My hair was left in incredibly bad condition. The colour itself started off OK but faded to a horrible red. I told Garnier on Facebook and they asked me to privately message instead! I emailed them and received no reply. I will never buy Garnier hair colour again.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I've use Garnier products before. This was 5.0 Brown. The applicator bottle was such a strange shape it was very difficult to hang onto while applying. In addition having to add the developer yourself seems like a waste of containers. My hair is medium long and I was surprised that I did not have enough product to properly cover my hair. Very disappointed.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us