4.2

Created with Sketch.
40 reviews
75%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

I used Countess Isserlyn makeup when I was barely nineteen, which was ridiculous at that age, but I loved it anyway. Now at the tender age of sixty-six, I have reacquainted myself with this heavenly foundation. The numbering system has changed since I first used it and believe it has been this 'newer' system for well over twenty years. I have a light complexion with yellow undertones. I blindly guessed that I would be a match for 91 1/2 and that was not available anywhere. I bought 92 1/2 and hoped for the best, well it was a lucky day for me because the shade I bought is a perfect, almost invisible(no-line of demarcation)match. I also use the Alexandra de Markoff Daytime Moisture, which can be found at bloftincosmetics.com, this is an extremely thin veil of moisture that I feel is essential to use this particular cosmetic as there is nothing on the market that is even similar to Daytime Moisture it $55 so a little pricey however that is for four ounces and the bottle will easily last two years for that matter the foundation can last well over two years because so little is needed. You can use any serum underneath the AdeM moisturizer, which is a bi-phase liquid that does have some oil in it, but not a straight-up oil that many people are now using. If you were to use a regular moisturizer I suggest a lightweight lotion and that will work well just so it's not a thick, heavy moisturizer or an oil. It is important to follow the directions to the letter so you have a perfect application. This needs to be not just shaken but "spanked" their words you do that to the bottom of the bottle, like ketchup. This order of instructions 1)Spank hard 2) Shake well 3) Use the included white plastic stick distribute the pigment from the oil(s) 4) Dip the stick into the bottle slide off any excess into the neck of the bottle and what adheres to slender stick will be then enough to acquire a perfect, glowing, and even coverage. P.S. Once I have "spanked and shaken" the bottle I keep it stored in its box upside down.

About reviewer (96 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I have been using Countess Iserlyn liquid 71 1/2 for 46 years and it is but far the best foundation ever made. The problem is, I can't find it anywhere. Ever time I find a website that sells it, thee is a message that says, "Out of stock". This has been going on for months and months. Probably close to a year. I find it hard to believe that it would be out of stock for that long. If it's discontinued, I wish the message would say so rather than out of stock. Does anyone know of a foundation that is similar to AdeM.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I use 90 1/2 this is by far the best foundation I have ever used! Pros: Coverage- Great! This make up covers very well, and feels light on your skin. :) Long Lasting- Yes! I work full time, and I don't ever have to touch it up. This is the first foundation I've found that lasts like this, and I worked at Macy's in the cosmetics department. Mineral Oil- Yes, and before I tried this product I had been warned that mineral oil is super bad for you. I was having break outs, and working for a make up counter it was soo embarrassing telling other women how to stop break outs when my skin is a mine field. So I tried this make up. It didn't clog my pores, my break outs have all but stopped. Cons: It is hard to find! I get mine online. $$$- Its a little pricey I spend about $55 a bottle, but that bottle last me six to eight months using it every day. A little bit goes a long way with this stuff! Packaging- I don't love the glass bottle it comes in. It makes it hard to get the last little bit out of the bottle, but this in a minor annoyance. Over all this make up has my highest respect! I love this stuff!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

The best foundation on the market. Yes it is a suspension of pigment and oil. But for some reason it goes on smoothly, covers wrinkles and when blended to a fine finish makes me look 20 years younger (60+). I use color 95 1/2 which is a medium beige with pink undertones. Ok, remember this is serious makeup. Vivien Leigh wore it in Gone With The Wind. You cannot use this like you would Revlon or Cover Girl. A sponge is almost too much; use your fingertips and make a dot on each cheek. Smooth out very well and let dry before using powder or blush. I skip the powder because after using this you don't need it. Never having had acne, my skin is pretty good, except for a little roseacea. I find Countess Isserlyn helps the roseacea calm down. I've been using this for thirty years off and on. Just make sure you shake the bottle very well. ONE bottle should last about 3 years. It does not go bad as long as you keep it in a cool place. This is a FLAWLESS FINISH product.

About reviewer (61 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I've tried a variety of foundations through the years, and Countess Isserlyn is one of the best. My skin always looks flawless and glowing, which isn't easy at my age. Yes, a little goes a long way, and yes, you have to smooth it out to make sure it doesn't look mask-like, but it's worth the effort. I've found it seems to go on best with a makeup brush and a light hand. Wonderful stuff!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

9 years ago

I found a most wonderful and unique way to use this product. I stirred well, put a dry sponge in a tight compact, and poured just enough to dampen the entire makeup sponge-- I use a SPF tinted moisturizer first (there is no SPF in the Countess Isserlyn), then I just dab my fingers on the sponge a couple of times and put it where I need it--mainly around my nose and chin. Beautiful and very convenient!

About reviewer (214 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

My favorite make up is DHC liquid but this is a close 2nd. However this is very expensive and oily. But is covers wonderfully. You must blot your face afterward or you'll get make up everywhere. However if you use powder, that might be the answer, I just don't like powder of any kind on my face. Lovely colors. This is best for a night out.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

You do not have an age category for Old Crows, but I have been in love with this product for 40 years. I do not deserve even the face I have after decades of smoking, crazy diet and sun abuse. Two chemical peels and an occasional injectable helped, but this make-up is responsible for my skin looking the best it can at age 77. Putting the tightly capped container in a basin of warm water helps it smooth on evenly. I smooth on a light covering for at-home, or dip the stick to the bottom of the bottle for prime time. Using clean fingers and a magnifying mirror guarantee getting it right. My selection of CI liquid make-up shades has evolved over the years, to compensate for aging. When prescribed dermatological concoctions, to "nourish" my mature face, I had trouble with the ever-popular mineral make up blotching and clumping . ( BE Mineral cosmetics are effective and effortless, but the color has little depth on very dry skin.) I can play around with the application of CI while reaping the results of TNS and gloppy moisurizers.. E Bay is my vendor.. when the price and timing are right. However, a bottle lasts a long time. With the economy (which does change color and texture...and smells bad ) so fluid, pricing and shipping costs may come down. I have heard that major department stores steered away from Alexandra de Markoff because its management was unstable and deliveries undependable. More's the pity.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinVery Dry, Other

HairBlond

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

12 years ago

i CANNOT BELIEVE HOW MUCH I LOVE THIS STUFF. AS I GET OLDER I NEED THE NATURL look.BOTH FORMULAS. ONE FOR SUMMER--MATT. AND THEN THE MOISTURIZING ONE FOR WINTER. LOOKS SO NATURAL!!! I CAN ADJUST THE COVERAGE BY HOW MUCH PIGMENT I PICK UP FROM THE BOTTOM WITH A TOOL.( I USE A CROCETT NEEDLE.) AND HOW MUCH I SHAKE IT. I RECOGNIZED THAT SEVERAL BRANDS COPIED THIS TRIED AND TRUE FORMULA. JOEY OF NEW YORK---ALMAY LASTING. THEN JEROME ALEXANDER DID ONE ALSO. I HOPE THEY NEVER STOP MAKING THIS SORT OF FORMULA. IT TRULY COVERS AND LOOKS NATURAL ONCE IT SETS INTO THE SKIN. I NEED TWO DIFFERANT COLORS. ONE FOR WINTER AND ONE FOR SUMMER. TRULY A ADJUSTABLE FOUNDATION DEPENDING ON YOUR MOOD. YOU CAN EVEN GET PIGMENT FROM THE BOTTOM AND BARELY ANY OF THE SILICONE/OIL AS YOU PULL IT UP. I DEDUCTED FOR COST, BUT IT DOES LAST LONG. IF ANY OF YOU WANT TO SWAP YOUR OUT...

About reviewer (129 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Other

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

You get sick of stirring it. I wanted to give this a really good blending, so I put the bottle in a ziplock bag and shoved it inside the whipping attachment of my Kitchenaid mixer, turned on low. I turned it off and rotated the bag a few times. The pigment mixed completely. Hey--and they say only MAN knows how to use tools. As for the makeup, I don't wear it every day, but I like the stuff.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us