Sheer Cover Sheer Cover - Mineral Foundation

3.0

349 reviews

46% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

2011 Reformulation: Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 12.00%. Inactive Ingredients: Boron Nitride, Bisabolol, Aspalathus Linearis Leaf Extract, Lauroyl Lysine. May Contain ( /-): Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499


on 6/25/2015 11:39:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been using this for a few years without actually realising it was Sheer Cover. I bought several pots of mineral foundation of various different makes from ebay. My step daughter had advised me mineral makeup was the way to go and now at 38 i should only be using it. (Honestly why are kids so bossy?) . After going through the others and they were either too chalky, cakey or making my face feel heavy i settled on this one.
After a discussion with my friend about the mineral makeup i was using, she said it sounded like an informercial she had seen. Anyway i decided to get up early the other day to look and see what i was using. I love the way sheer cover makeup goes on and how it feels. I have normal skin so don't have major breakouts except the odd one at the time of the month.
My husband compliments me and says it looks good and not like i'd put it on with a trowel lol.
Being unable to go out that much due to caring for disabled husband (he can't be left unattended) i've decided to get the kit from them.
They must have changed the way their site is as i saw it three times that i was going to be auto shipped makeup every 3 mths. That suits me and although i haven't tried the other products in the kit i already know i love the mineral foundation.
I did look on ebay for some more but it is now just as expensive as buying it myself and getting all the products. it only takes minutes to apply which is perfect for my time scale.
I know if i do end up with extra's i don't yet need, i won't have them for long as when my step daughter calls round they will be going back with her.

I will update this when i get the full kit and have tried everything else.



on 6/14/2015 12:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've tried both the loose mineral foundation and the pressed compact one.I liked both of them but I love the convinence of the compact just throw in your bag and go.The name may throw some people off because it's really not sheer coverage which is a good thing. It's a medium to full coverage, I love mineral foundations because they give a healthy looking glow and that no makeup makeup look.


on 12/7/2014 4:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

First of all the newly formulated products suck! The foundation is super chalky. That being said, I returned two shipments of product, unopened mind you, and cancelled my account. Well 5 months after the fact, I receive a letter from their collections agency stating I owe them $78. Keep in mind when I cancelled my account, I had no outstanding balance. Never in my life have I had this happen to me! So I call to figure out what is going on. The lady I speak with barely speaks English, and then proceeds to have no idea what she's talking about with regards to my account, returned product, etc. Long story short, a supervisor gets on the phone and says that they credited back my account in the amount of $31.87 on X date. So I look at my bank account and I never received the payment! It gets better! Then the lady proceeds to tell me that they don't refund payments for partially returned packages (meaning if you like the concealer but hate everything else, even tho the rest of the product is unopened....YOU DONT GET ANY OF YOUR MONEY BACk( straight from Rachael's mouth). It gets better! So long story even longer the person handling the returned shipment did not read the paperwork stating everything that was returned, and only refunded me for one shipment, not 2. They said it was because everything was in one box, not two! Why the heck would I pay $8.98 shipping twice?! Uh. So they actually realized they owe me $73.78+ the original $31.87! Freaking incompetent! And yet you send ME a collections notice. Absolute BS. No wonder Bare Minerals eats you for breakfast!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm sorry did someone over the age of 25 actually accuse those of us who love sheer cover and had no problem saying so of working for sheer cover? LOL!!! WOW! That's ridiculous,some people actually do love the product and have had great results from the makeup. I for one am in love with it and will never use a different concealer or foundation liquid,mineral or otherwise. I just can't believe a grown adult would say EVERYONE on this site that loves Sheer Cover must work for them. I'm a professional cosmetologist and this makeup provides better coverage than my(very,very expensive) professional makeup kits concealer and foundation. Not only do I use it on myself, I own several shades to apply on clients for a beautiful makeup job.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 9/3/2014 12:25:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am transgender, and this product has been a miracle. I have fair skin and dark hair, but have not have facial hair-removal. I work full-time as a woman, I sing karaoke, and have performed storytelling, on stage, before cameras under bright lights and no beard-shadow. Customer-service is abominable because of computer problems, but the people are nice, and you can work them for free products. What you need to do is set your automatic shipment back as far as possible, and just order individual products at the member-price. None of the peripheral products are worth the cost, but both the original and new covers and foundations really do the job. I sometimes get compliments on my complexion, at 54 with the shadow to cover. The original are smoother, quicker and easier to apply, but are harder to match to your skin tone. The new version is definitely chalkier and takes much longer to blend, but in the end, the look is flawless and the color matches automatically without mixing shades. So for quick makeup for work, I go with the original; but when I want to look my best, I take the extra time to use the new version. Less is more with the original, if you use too much it gets cakey. With the new version, you have to use more product. The brushes that come with the kits are decent, but the bamboo brushes you can get at Walgreens work better.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/25/2014 12:49:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I find this mineral makeup to be very chalky. I have been using Bare Minerals for years but wanted to give Sheer Cover a try. Big mistake !!!!!!!!!!!
Very ashy color. I am a true medium but found the Sheer Cover Medium an awful match for my skin color. I also found it to be far too dry for my skin type. I have sensitive skin and it does tend to be dry but I haven't had any issues with any other foundation I have tried. My other go to foundation is Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer. Love it.
Sheer Cover is a big fail in my opinion.
Will never order again.


on 8/24/2014 9:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The makeup itself is really good but the customer service is AWFUL!!! Not worth ordering over the phone! I had to get a new debit card so they would stop charging my account.. More trouble than what it's worth.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/5/2014 6:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Seen so many reviews on the sheer cover and was amazed by what it did, so thought why not, the package arrived 4 days after ordering. When i opened it was very impresses by the how items were pacakged and could not wait to try it.


Well here goes the first thing i noticed on applying it,it did'nt go on great and left some parts for my face more covered than others, well after sorting it out. I was not impresses with how it went on and looked. then a few hours later i noticed my skin was feeling really itchy, took it off and the itchy feeling went away, but thought it may have been just because i was hot that day.

Well tried again and the same thing happened so not very happy with the items at all, returning the items were no hassle,

The only good side of it was the mascara but not buying it just for that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2014 11:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this product for about 10 years. I used to have really oily acne-prone skin and found that this product was the only one that would cover my blemishes. I found powder was a lot better with my oily skin than using foundations.

I used to get the full medium pack sent out regularly but now I simply get sent 2 x mineral powder in the colour Latte, as I find this is the perfect colour for my skin. You are able to customize your order so I would suggest doing this once you've found the colour/products that you like, rather than pay the full amount for products that you might not be using all of the time.

Now that my skin has cleared up I've branched out and used more liquid foundations and I tend to use sheer cover more as a setting powder. It is, and will probably continue to be, a staple in my everyday make up routine.


on 6/24/2014 2:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is definitely my must have product.
I have been using it for around 7 years now and although I try lots of other different products, this is definitely my absolute favorite!
I generally use the bisque which suits my pale and sometime red complexion, although if I am having a good skin day I use golden as this seems to have a lighter coverage.

I have used Bare Minerals, Loreal, Jane Iredale, Nude and a whole host of other mineral powders but they don't come close to Sheer cover.
I used to use the concealer but have gone off it a bit now. I think it might be because I am getting older and find that the concealer sits in my lines a bit.

I get the best results from sheer cover when I use clarins beauty flash balm underneath or sometimes I use Maybelline 8 in 1 BB cream.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top