September 17, 2014 | 852 users online

Styling Products - Garnier - Curl Construct Mousse



image 0

rated 3.5(68 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 60% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 5/25/2014 3:59:00 PM More reviews by miamiamay

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have very thick, long, wavy hair that takes FOREVER to dry and gets pretty frizzy. I bought this mousse on a whim not really knowing much about it- it cost $3 so why not? I washed my hair and then kept it in a towel for like 10 minutes. Then I flipped my hair upside down and applied a golf-ball sized amount of mousse- scrunching it in with some beach spray. It took about 2 hours to dry.
I had such pretty, defined, bouncy waves! It really brought out my natural curls. A little frizz, but I got great volume (not poofy!) and it smells good! Kinda citrus-y.
Just a warning- do NOT touch your hair though while drying otherwise it WILL look poofy and frizzy.
Overall I probably will repurchase!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/12/2014 7:20:00 PM More reviews by lalalalila

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I have thick, wavy hair and I use this mousse when I want my waves to be more defined. It gives me nice loose curls and as long as I use hairspray, it lasts all day. It does make my hair somewhat "crunchy" but I don't mind this at all. My hair has so much volume when I use this mousse! This is the only product of this kind that I have ever used so I have nothing that I can compare it to. Smells wonderful, works great. I've repurchased a few times already and each canister lasts me a good while.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/13/2013 1:16:00 AM More reviews by Dannibee123

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Overall works pretty well...holds curls all day and smells great! It can make your hair look a bit greasy also if you put too much starts to crunch...but I guess you get what you pay for!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/16/2013 11:33:00 PM More reviews by livinggreality

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've bought bottles and bottles and countless bottles of this mousse.
I absolutely love it and it's the only mousse I will ever use on my naturally curly (but extremely frizzy and hard to manage) hair.
It has a nice, citrus scent and it's more of a thin foam mousse when you shake up the bottle a lot.
the only thing you really have to keep in mind with this mousse is if you apply too much, you will without a doubt have that crunchy stiff hair that no one likes.
I don't know how this would work on straight hair, but the way I use it is as follows ----
Out of the shower, I wrap my hair in a 100% cotton t-shirt (reduces frizz, much better for your hair than a normal towel)
apply my leave in conditioner after leaving my hair in that 'towel' for 10-15 mins
then I apply about 5 golf ball sized amounts of mousse spread all over my hair, scrunching it in lightly. my hair is very thick and long, past bra-strap, so I use quite a bit.
then I separate my hair into two and french braid.
I like braiding because it helps manage the frizz, and I sleep on the braids overnight.
if in the morning my hair is not dry, I check to see by squeezing the braids, if they feel damp, I'll run a blowdryer on 'warm' heat setting down the braids a couple of times.
when I open my hair, I'm left with beautiful waves that last throughout my whole day with light application of hairspray.

I've tried doing this method with other mousses but none really compare.
I love this mousse and will always repurchase it as long as it's made!

UPDATE: I feel as though the formula has changed. I've bought 4 different bottles from 4 different places so I know I didn't just get a "bad batch". Before it was a light, foamy consistency whereas now it's more of a thick, cream lotion type. So disappointed; the new formula does nothing but weigh my curls down and make them crunchy.
Docking down my rating from 5 to 2 :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/4/2013 2:04:00 PM More reviews by fennecfox

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have naturally straight hair and use this when my hair is damp to set my hair when I use heat-less rollers. It's the only mousse I've ever used and it does the trick. This creates really nice defined curls. I do find that I have to use hairspray on my curls to keep them from falling by midday though. Great product for the price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/27/2012 10:12:00 PM More reviews by chavelasaurus

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have a love hate relationship with this. I like it when I use it when my hair is wet and air dries, I just hate it when I use it when my hair is straightened, usually you put in mousse and your hair stays in that place, with this my hair gets very voluminous and mt hair is very voluminous itself so it's a mess after a couple hours. I would probably by this again just for my natural hair but would buy another product to make my hair less "nappy" looking

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 7/13/2012 11:06:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

This mousse is just average. There's nothing about it that would make me run out and buy it again. It has decent hold, smells nice and does what mousse is supposed. Like some of the previous reviews stated if you use too much this will make your hair crunchy so a little goes a long way. It's a little on the heavy side for a mousse. I don't think I'd buy it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/1/2012 1:39:00 AM More reviews by gracymacy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

if you apply too much of this it will make your hair crunchy and wet-looking. however, it does define curls and will make your hair shiny and hold down that frizz. and if you apply too much , just add a bit of leave-in conditioner. this is good for curly hair (think shakira) looks that i will use this for. definitely worth a try for girls with frizzy curly hair like mine.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/26/2012 1:17:00 AM More reviews by Faith18

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This stuff works great for me I have naturally curly hair like Taylor swift curly hair I use it when I get out of the shower and it helps my hair curl better just to hold it all in place so it does work for me! I am definantly repurchasing when I run out!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/1/2012 8:48:00 PM More reviews by dtormon

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other Eyes: Black

I've used many different curling mousses (i.e. Herbal Essence, Dove, Tresemme) over the years, but I always come back to this one. It holds my curls really well and helps keep frizz at bay. It does have a tendency to get a little crunchy but after two or three minutes of heat from a blow dryer, it softens right up.

Is this review helpful? Yes No