Avon Soft Musk

3.5

43 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 6/22/2014 12:37:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used to love this years ago and was disappointed when it was discontinued. However, I've found that Yakshi makes a roll on perfume oil called Body Musk that to my nose, smells like a dead ringer for Avon's Soft Musk! So happy! Yakshi oils are packaged to look very similar to Auric Blends perfume oils. I got mine at our local Wegmans. Love the cheap fragrance thrill that doesn't SMELL like a cheap fragrance thrill!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I own two bottles of Soft Musk, an original from the 1980's and a newer one from the 1990's. The original from the 1980's is without a doubt the stronger formulation and has clearer notes in it. I get a sprinkling of all of the notes, a layering of florals, a hint of spices with a swoosh of warm vanilla enveloping it all in my original. They all blend easily enough to make a comforting scent that's not overbearing and gentle enough to wear for daytime use. The later rendition seems to be diluted and less strong in the florals and spices and more powdery to me, which is still a nice, comforting scent. Lasts surprisingly long, a few hours, and the sillage is good with two sprays of the older bottle. A nice winter or cooler night air scent for any gender.
If you go for it, look for a vintage bottle from the '80's.
Fragrance Notes: Musk, Jasmine, Rose, Spices, Vanilla.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/12/2012 9:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a true skin musk scent, less soapy than Jovan and more powdery and less chemical/metallic than the Body Shops white musk. A great lay round the house/active weekend scent or when all other fragrances are causing you a headache or just not sitting right. This is unoffensive but clean and fresh and always works. Lasting power isn't amazing but it is a cologne and cheap as chips. Layer with the powder/lotions/sprays as they are dirt cheap and just as lovely while adding some stability to the fragrance.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2012 11:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

WHY was this discontinued? I didn't even know it was discontinued until a year ago... I have always kept some inventory of this my second favorite Avon fragrance and second favorite musk. I ran out last year (my little girls and I share it) and wanted to reorder. It's GONE! Too bad. Avon used to sell a full range of body products and they were lovely. Avon Soft Musk, Alyssa Ashley Musk, Jovan Musk For Women are all pretty much the same type of musk. However, on my skin, Avon Soft Musk works the best magic. I'm so sad it's gone. :(
UPDATE: October 2012 - Avon brought it back for Christmas in 50mL star splash decanters. The best part, this formulation is even better than the last atomizer I finished from a couple years ago. Happy! continued >>

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/2/2011 5:08:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I heard many good comments on this perfume from a friend. Was really excited to try it out. But before buying it, i asked my friend to bring her perfume for me. Let me tell u that i was VERY VERY VERY disappointed after smelling it. It smells like incense, sth which i dnt like to smell! Also smell like a baby cologne. No lasting power at all, it smells like powder after 5 minutes! I do NOT recommend it if u are looking for a good quality perfume which has long lasting power.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Such an underrated perfume. It so soft and pretty. I think it suits young women perfectly. I used and loved it when I was younger. The sweetness level of this is perfect. It does not smell like burned sugar or syrup but it still surrounds you like a sweet pink cloud. The price is very reasonable for the quality too.

I recommend it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2011 12:15:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

A soft powdery smell that isn't too bad but it is just not for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2011 9:44:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Avon has been selling this forever, so it obviously must sell well. I am not a fan of it, though. I find it to smell predominantly powdery, and I don't find it pleasant at all. It's a lighter fragrance, but I can't get past the powder smell.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/22/2010 12:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A beautiful, aromatic scent but lacks individuality. Bottle is femminine but too simple, good value for money, a soft and light fragrance perfect for everyday use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/4/2010 10:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a great daytime perfume that lasts all day long without ever being overpowering. The first spray does have a sharpness to it but the fragrance mellows out over time and stays close to the skin. It's a very appropriate office fragrance in my opinion. Avon has sales on this that make it easy to find a bottle for under $10. I want to note as well that I am not a musk fan at all and cannot wear any of the Jovan or the Skin musk. I'm not sure if it's a true musk or not, but it's got a warm floral feel to it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1357 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
338 Reviews
Light Blue
1405 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1878 Reviews
No.5
939 Reviews


Back to Top