December 19, 2014 | 1477 users online

Mascara - Revlon - PhotoReady 3D Volume Waterproof

rated 2.9(21 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.9
  • 38% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.2
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/25/2014 2:13:00 PM More reviews by newyork00

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am on the fence about this mascara. It is much better than any of the Revlon mascaras out there, but I find Revlon to have some the most disappointing mascaras in the drug store. I bought tihs because, like many that do, I love Benefit They're Real and dont want to pay 24 dollars a tube. The wands are definitely similar, but I don't think it performs close to Benefit. I put this as a no for purchase, but would reconsider if it was on sale for 40 or 50 percent off, or as part of a BOGO deal.

Tl; dr version: Sadly, NOT a dupe for Benefit They're Real even though the brushes are very siimilar.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 9/24/2014 1:29:00 AM More reviews by spearmintstars

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This mascara is extremely clumpy, doesn't provide much length whatsoever, isn't very waterproof, doesn't last all day at all. I literally threw it in the trash.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/22/2014 2:54:00 PM More reviews by redmomma

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I really like Revlon PhotoReady 3D Volume mascara - just not the waterproof version, apparently.

I didn't pay enough attention when I was re-purchasing mascara, and came home with the waterproof formula. Short on time, and in need of mascara, I opted to just go with the flow. The product is denser and drier than the non-waterproof counterpart, and it dried in the tube after only a couple of weeks. While it was still useable, it was OK - not the worst mascara I've ever used, but nothing to get excited about, either.

It was just a big 'ole tube of "meh"

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/10/2014 6:21:00 PM More reviews by Staaarlit

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I wasted my money on this crappy mascara.
How can this be rated as "best" on beautypedia...what are you thinking Paula?
I needed a new mascara and was very excited to try this one after reading some positive reviews AND seeing that it was rated as "best" on Beautypedia. The packaging was also really sleek and expensive-looking, I figured much work was put into the quality, too. Boy was I wrong.

There is definitely no clumping or flaking, but there is NO VOLUME, NO LENGTH, NO CURL. How frustrating that I spent about $8 for this piece of junk. The wand is great at covering my lashes, but as soon as it coats, my curled lashes wilt. Every single time I used this, my lashes ended up looking sparse and droopy --not a good look for anyone.

I tried really hard to make this mascara work (because I didn't want to waste my money), but to no avail. It's now set aside, untouched...I can't get myself to toss it because that's 8 bucks right there. Anyways, I needed a new mascara desperately, so I went out and picked up one of the bunch that I'd always been curious about: Covergirl Professional all-in-one waterproof mascara (it's blue). It was a really random pick, and luckily, it turned out awesome! Anyways, I will rave about it on its own review page.

I do not recommend this 3D mascara to anyone....unless.....you're someone with an extremely thick set of beautiful and luscious lashes and you like to take risks >_>
Otherwise, don't buy it. It is garbage.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/14/2014 6:57:00 PM More reviews by paperdoll66

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is a good mascara, but it isn't right for me. It lengthened my lashes a lot, but it is a little bit of a struggle to curl them. It's very waterproof, but I didn't have a problem removing it with my No. 7 Beautiful Skin wipes. It feels really light on my lashes. The brush is huge, but it does do a good job of separating my lashes and doesn't leave any clumps.

Unfortunately, it does a lot more to lengthen my lashes instead of adding volume. My lashes are already long enough for me, so I'm not going to be using this in the future.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/18/2013 12:28:00 PM More reviews by popnote

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Green

WORST. MASCARA. EVER. It's ridiculously wet and clumpy. It makes my lashes stubby, no matter what I try. Total waste of $8.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/14/2013 7:44:00 PM More reviews by shanx

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Most mascaras smudge on me. So I usually rate primarily based on this.
This mascara stays put all day so in this respect it is a clear winner. It also separated and lengthens well, looks “natural”. Only issue I have is the wand/application. I often find myself flinching as the wand seems to scratch my eyeballs. Odd I know and very annoying.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/26/2013 11:43:00 PM More reviews by elixmia

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Applying this mascara was a nightmare. It was so wet that it straightened out my curled lashes, it was clumpy when I first opened the tube, and it stuck my lashes together in bunches. It was messy and the result was stubby looking lashes with no added volume. Part of the mess I can attribute to the wand, which was stiff and probably too big even for my large eyes. Within an hour of application, the mascara was flaking off. There was a slight chemical smell, which bothered me. Removal was also very difficult. It would not come off with just makeup remover. I got most of it off with hot water and then the rest with makeup remover. I do not intend to buy this again and I would not recommend it for others.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/20/2013 9:05:00 PM More reviews by Lossea

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

Revlon has become my go-to makeup line, so when I wanted to step up from waterproof wet'n'wild, I had to try out Revlon's mascara shop before "straying" to other makeup lines. Since Lash Potion seems to not be quite impressive here on MUA, I decided to give 3D Volume a try. I have been using it for about a week now, and feel like I am still test driving. Overall, I find that this is a high quality every day mascara, but I am not completely sold.

I love the most the creamy consistency of this mascara - I have never felt mascara come on so smoothly. Brush design is spectacular - hugs and coats every lash, so the lashes get nicely separated. (I posted a pic of how mine look with two coats.) I also appreciate the tiny brush strokes at the tip, which helps to get to those hard-to-get corner lashes. There isn't too much mascara at the end of the tip and the amount of product on the actual brush is perfect.

The tube says 3D Volume, and this product gives pleasant volume, with lashes still natural looking, but no outstanding thickening, at least for me. I find that I am missing the length with this product, but it does not claim to provide much length, so it's not a valid complaint.

The staying power of 3D Volume is strong, as many have noted; I have never had any transfer even on my lower eye lashes, which other waterproof mascaras have successfully managed to do. It never clumps or flakes, and leaves lashes quite soft. Despite this mascara being very waterproof, it does comes off with some rubbing and Dr. Bronner's soap (this soap is a killer). First night, I used some oil to "pre-remove" this mascara, thinking just the soap will not work, but the next night got lazy and used just Dr. Bronner's. Tough mascara comes off with implicit obedience.

Overall, 3D Volume is a great every day mascara for soft, naturally full-looking lashes. It does not provide falsies effect, but rather enhances the natural beauty. I find that I often wish for thicker and longer lashes, so when this tube is done, I will most likely try a different mascara. I will file this in the 'great every day mascaras' section the back of my mind, though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/1/2013 8:34:00 AM More reviews by OSusieQ

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

I have short thin eyelashes and I have always tried to find something to lengthen and thicken my lashes. I have had "okay" results that included a thick clumpy, flakey mess by the end of the day.
So after years of trying different mascaras I just accepted thats what I had to deal with or learn how to put on false lashes (which I love! I just can't apply them correctly....that's truly an art form for the gals that can do it correctly)

So fast forward a few years....I needed some as a new mascara so I started looking around for good reviews and decided to give this Revlon 3D Photo-ready Waterproof mascara a try and I must say I'm actually impressed.

Pros: Goes on easy, light weight, did not clump, super black color, waterproof, stays put all day, extended my short lashes nicely (it looked like it had those individual lashes put on, but not as full and beautiful as a full set of glue on false lashes) but hey that was a great improvement over my short thin lashes! I'm happy getting these results out of a bottle!

Cons: it did seem a little hard to remove using Revlon Eye-make-up remover (in the blue bottle)
I think a "oil-based" remover would work better

**Don't forget to add a little smear of Vaseline or any type vitamin E to your lashes before bedtime. (Conditions and helps your lashes grow)

Thanks for reading !
Q

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No