October 25, 2014 | 879 users online

Powder - Tikei Mineral Foundation



image 0

rated 4.1(17 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/31/2014 11:11:00 AM More reviews by MariKontrari

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Grey

I first chose this product because I was sick of spending tons of money on foundations that all turned out to be to dark, to pink or to yellow. Tikei offers a range of cheap samples, so that I could order 8 different shades and find the one that perfectly matches my skin.

I have very light skin, but with a slightly yellow/peach undertone, and peach 1 matches my skin perfectly.

My skin is sensitive and acne prone, but I have not gotten any breakouts caused by this foundation. With a primer underneath, my pores seam to disappear, leaving my skin looking flawless. It can get a bit dry, but with a good moisturiser it still looks good on me.

I will most likely stick to this foundation as my go to mineral foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/16/2013 3:02:00 PM More reviews by linkd

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I do like Tikei. The price and service is excellent. More importantly, I think the foundations give a natural coverage and it does not seem harm my skin in any way. I do not have to use much product so that it last for a long time. Of other mineral foundations, I have only tried bare minerals and la minerals, and Tikei is by far the number one option for me.

I have heard that one should be a bit careful with putting the foundation on dry spots.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/19/2013 10:10:00 PM More reviews by paneradfisk

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

UPDATE 2014-04-12:
I use Meow Cosmetics nowadays because I can find an even better shade match with them and I think Meow keeps my skin matte for longer and makes my pores look smaller than Tikei.

Tikei is a small Swedish brand with mineral makeup. They sell foundations, primer, veil, blush, bronzers, concealers, eyeshadows, lipgloss and their own synthetic brushes. Their products are not tested on animals, vegan and they don't have Bismuth Oxychloride (ingredient that can cause itch, irritation and redness) in them like Bare Minerals do.


INGREDIENTS:
Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Boron Nitride, Zinc Oxide, Iron Oxides


MY SHADE and MY SKIN:
My skin is pale (NC05-NC10) and at the moment my skin is in the best condition it has ever been (occasional whiteheads, very little discoloration) - I have used this foundation for years - even when I had acne. Read on.


This is the only foundation EVER that had my shade, and I have been looking everywhere. I can get away with MAC's new shade NW10 in Studio Fix Fluid, Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet+ in 15 and all Shiseido foundations in O00 or I00. In this foundation I use P1, which is the next lightest (!) shade.


Obviously I'm paler than most, AND I have warm undertones, and since almost all brands that cater pale skin make too pink shades (BEHOLD, Bobbi Brown, one must not be pink only because they're pale!) it's very hard for me to find foundations that both match my skin tone and work well. I have found it!


COVERAGE:
4,5/5
Whatever you want it to be - sheer to full. When I had acne, every foundation made the acne worse - except this one. The acne even cleared up a little when I used this. Also, this alone covered it all. Of course I had to use more than I would of a full coverage concealer, but it DID cover it all AND made the acne better.


Now I use a lot less of this foundation than I did before, and it covers everything I want it to cover (redness) and still let the good things show through (freckles, birthmarks).


FINISH:
5/5
So, I would NEVER hope that a foundation would ACTUALLY look like skin - that's just too much to hope for, I thought. Both when I had acne and now when my skin is good, nothing really looks like skin - you can always tell it's there, no matter how much/little I use... EXCEPT this foundation. No one would ever suspect I had makeup on, and the ONLY time someone, during my acne period, told me my skin looked good was when I had this on. I smiled for the rest of the day.


This is certainly not matte in itself, but you can make it matte with a mattifying powder. A dewy/natural finish, I would say.


LONGEVITY:
4/5
Most foundations look shiny and flaky and cakey on me after a few hours, and I usually have to blot after 3 hours. The only thing that actually lasts and looks the same on me all day is MAC Pro Longwear concealer. This one doesn't last all day and all night like the MAC PL concealer, but it still lasts longer than most (liquid) foundations and looks great and natural even after several hours. The oil control is not the best when used alone, but with their primer and some powder on top, this lasts better than most other foundations I have tried (even with primer and powder).


SHADE RANGE:
This foundation has 40 different shades, yes you heard me right 40 shades. The shades are divided in 8 different shades (light to dark) and 5 different undetones. Here is the list of undertones, from the coolest to the warmest:


ROSE (R): Cool/pink undertone
COOL (C): Cool/pink undertone, but more neutral than R
PEACH (P): Neutral, slight cool/pink undertone
NEUTRAL (N): Neutral, slight warm/yellow undertone
WARM (W): Warm/yellow undertone


I have not seen their darkest shades, but I'm paler than almost ALL brands foundations and I'm the second lightest here, so that says alot about how light their shades go.


PRICE:
19 dollars, which is cheap here in Sweden. We have the same unholy prices as Australia, and a foundation that costs 8 dollars in the US costs 25 dollars here. So, yeah.


CONCLUSION:
This is what I always come back to, year after year, acne or not. I love that this is so fast and easy to use, has the best finish that never accentuates dry flakes. This saved my DRY skin that all foundations would eff up, this saved my ACNE and my wallet. This makes the angels cry and is worth it's own weight in gold and fairy tears.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/3/2013 5:44:00 PM More reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Old review written 2010;

"Wow! This is nice stuff! I ordered samples of this Swedish brand in may this year, but had no time to try it properly. Now I have gave it a real chance, AND I like it!

This loose foundation is thin, covers softly and has a sheer, slightly radiant look. I DON'T want shine cause I already do have oily skin - this gives a "healthy radiant look" without becoming shiny! And it's not often you find this combination in powder foundation...

Compared to my ordinary favourite EM Matte Foundation, this is a little less covering (buildable) but still very natural and nice looking. Reminds a little of Alima in the thin formula, but this is a little more radiant! Really worth trying!

Another thing: Does not enlarge pores! This is really important when you have acne-prone skin and scars/enlarged pores... :)"


Update 2013-01-03:

Today, a few years later, I've tried a few more mineral makeup brands. This foundation contains small, small sparkling particles that can give "life" to really normal or dry skin. But my skin is really extremely oily with enlarged pores and these sparkles only makes it look oilier than for example Alima pure or Everyday minerals matte foundation does

I like the shade range and that it has a quite nice coverage,but it just doesn't help me with my problems...the shine and the oil control..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/3/2012 9:27:00 AM More reviews by LovelyNo5

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I've been using mineral makeup since 2004. I've used and liked many brands, but Alima and Bare Escentuals have been my staples. I decided to try out some samples from Tikei, since I live in Sweden and this brand is very reasonably priced, plus the fact that shipping is incredibly fast (1 day). I ordered samples in Cool, Neutral, Peach and Warm, level 1 and 2 of each color. It turns out the Peach shades of Tikei are perfect, and I really mean perfect. I could never quite figure out what was missing from my regular foundation shades until I realized a year ago that I actually have a light peach skin tone. Most other foundations are either too yellow, too pink or too orange, but Tikei's Peach shades are just right! I mix Peach 1 and 2 for winter and wear Peach 2 by itself when I have a little more color. (I'm NC15-20 for reference.)
This foundation covers everything I need to cover but it doesn't look caked on. It's less opaque than Alima, more matte than BE, is wonderfully pigmented which means a little goes a long way. It's also bismuth free, which is a plus for my sensitive skin. With the right moisturizer underneath (at the moment Dr. Hauschka's Rose Cream and a bit of the Quince Cream on top) the foundation stays on all day. I get oily around my T-zone with all foundations and this is no exception, but it's still there after blotting, which is great. So far it hasn't broken me out or caused any redness or dryness (I've used it off and on since June). I'd say this is a great product for anyone who wants the staying power of Alima with a little more of a dewy finish. Tikei foundation looks like skin, not makeup. You can buy samples to find your perfect colors for foundation, blush, e/s, bronzer as well. A great find! ETA Dec. 4, 2012: After having used this foundation for a couple of months I decided to wear my old staple Alima N2 today. I was shocked at how dull and opaque it looked! The shade was still good yet I looked muddy at the same time in certain lights. Then I thought about Boron Nitride, which Tikei contains. It's a white natural pigment that gives your skin a slight luminescence. This must be the ingredient that makes the difference between Tikei and Alima. Also, after one day with Alima my skin felt a lot drier than with Tikei. So that settles it: I've found my HG foundation in Tikei!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/24/2012 4:54:00 AM More reviews by eiyela

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I just ordered this and I've been using it for... a week, maybe? I think I may be in love. Shipped fast, very reasonable shipping cost. The samples are great, generous enough for a few applications, and the colour range is incredibly diverse. I've tried mineral foundations before (I.D, bareminerals, everyday minerals) and with this stuff I can really tell the difference between shades. Plus the lightest one is actually too light for me, which is absolutely unheard of. It should suit my winter skin tone perfectly.


Pros:


Does not break me out! Or make me red, or turn my face into a scaly, barren land of pain. OK seriously, I react to almost everything foundationwise. This and my BB cream are fine, but this is unscented.

Love the finish, most mineral foundations are either a little sparkly or too matte for me, but this just looks sorta dewy.

Does not dry my skin out. It actually doesn't feel like a powder to me, more like a cream. My partner pointed out the same thing with their eyeshadows.

Mix it with a bit of water and it applies like a liquid. Quite nice, gives me extra coverage without looking cakey. Although this actually layers surprisingly well.


Cons:


Well, like all mineral makeup, it's a bit messy. And I wish the jars had turning lids to cover the sifter (though I hear they're working on this). I've dumped mine in an empty EVM jar for now.

The neutral really doesn't look like a neutral to me, n1 actually reminds me a bit of loreal true match w1 in hue, though it is a bit lighter. Just something to keep in mind when sampling, I guess.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/27/2012 4:57:00 AM More reviews by pjoopi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

This mineral foundation is very pure and has great coverage. HOWEVER, it does NOT last on your skin for a longer period of time if you have combination to oily skin or in humid climate. So beware of that.

Great price though!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/26/2012 8:19:00 AM More reviews by isabellaz

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

Best mineral foundation out there. You don't need a lot of it since it covers really well, but it also very buildable.

I like this since it comes in really light (pale) colours, and with yellow undertones (warm 0). Everything, and I mean everything, is usually way too dark for me, or too pink. The best part is that it doesn't emphasize your pores, but actually makes them invisible.

It's cheap and the shipping is the fastest ever. Within Sweden it just takes one day.

EDIT Dec 28 -12
Like with every other foundation I've tried this too started to look very cakey. Doesn't really have to do with this product in itself - it happens with every foundation I try on.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/6/2011 1:15:00 PM More reviews by Hstahl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have tried almost every mineral foundation on the market, and this is my HG <3 Looks natural, stays on all day. And the kabuki brush is FANTASTIC! I also have the green concealer and "lovely" blush. I wear it every day. Love it!!
It can be hard to find the perfect shade, but its possible to buy small test-jars. And they are very helpful if you write them a mail =)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/5/2011 10:05:00 AM More reviews by Closer

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

Bought this product after reading several good reviews. Ordered a lighter color for the winter and a darker for the summer. They have a large range of colours, but most of them are very yellow-ish. Medium coverage, made my skin look a bit "cakey".
I've been using this for several months, but lately i've been breaking out BADLY! I've always had small zits appearing while I was using this, but didn't really thought so much about it. Would not recommend it to anyone..

Is this review helpful? Yes No