November 26, 2014 | 1788 users online

Conditioner - Silk Elements - Luxury Moisturizing Conditioner

no image

rated 4.1(7 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/24/2013 12:31:00 AM More reviews by 3110hello

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am reviewing Silk Elements Leave In Conditioner that I recently purchased at Sally's Beauty Supply. There is no product on Makeup Alley that seems to exactly BE this item but because I am crazy about it I am determined to write a review. I am caucasian with extremely curly hair. Without product I have a ball of fuzz the likes of which you could not believe. For years I used rollers and blow dryers and hot irons to straighten and / or create wavy hair but now I believe I have found the best and EASIEST way to work with my curly hair and this product is an essential part of that.

First, you should know that I have purchased every product, both HE and LE, to try to get a "wearable" curl pattern for my hair. I have been impressed with very few of them. This inexpensive leave in conditioner has been the best product for me of any I can remember. I do have quite fine hair and as I have aged it has become more thin than it used to be. Therefore I don't want anything that weighs it down too much and straightening it, in my opinion, while fashionable, makes it look too thin.

When I get out of the shower I wrap a microfiber towel around my head with my hair still very wet. I do whatever moisturizing I am going to do to my body and face and then I pull the towel off and use a large tooth comb to detangle it. I then put in this conditioner, scrunching up the curl as I go. I use about two quarters' worth of the product. I then use some type of mouse or lightweight gel and scrunch it in.

Recently I saw a video that recommended lifting the hair up in certain places and clipping it to get root lifting. I do this in about three areas and then put a hair net ( YES, a hair net!) over my head. I thus proceed to sit under an over the head hair dryer to let it dry - which it does quickly (about 8 min)- but I think a diffuser with the netted hair would work fine.

When I take the net off and pull the clips out - voila! my hair has great spiral curls and no frizz at all! I often then pull it into an updo ( to get it off of my neck) but have also worn it down and loved it.

I cannot tell you how wonderful it has been to find a method that WORKS for my hair. I do know that everyone's curly hair is different but I would highly recommend that those of you with a similar hair type give this product and technique a try! It has literally changed my life!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/14/2013 8:17:00 PM More reviews by morenitaxoxo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

My holy grail conditioner. There's a shampoo that goes with it and the pair really moisturize and make my hair silky soft and smelling good. Since I have been using this, I refuse to use any other brand. A must have for relaxed hair because it will keep your hair from being dry, which is something all relaxed heads suffer from.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/15/2011 4:59:00 PM More reviews by PlusPlush22

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love the product! i mostly use Olive Oil products after I relax my hair, however my hair often feels dry afterwards :( but when I use Silk Elements my hair goes back to its great shine, light bounce, and silky smoothness. Even when I change products I can always go back and it fixes my hair quick and perfectly. I just hate the price and that I can only find it at Sally's!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/28/2011 2:56:00 PM More reviews by lalani11

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I am relaxed, hair past APL and I use this in conjunction with the Shampoo. I started using it for about the past month and I absolutely love this product. After I shampoo, I apply this to my hair and ends and leave it on for about 5 minutes in the shower. When I rinse, my hair is so soft and detangled. The price is hard to beat at $6 for 32oz. This product makes my hair look like I went to the salon after I apply my leave in and flat iron. Love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/5/2009 6:39:00 PM More reviews by jediprincess13

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

I absolutely love Silk Elements, especially the Luxury Moisturizing Shampoo and Conditioner. I have thick, curly, coarse hair, and this does amazing wonders for me :-) It's been the only shampoo/conditioner mix that's kept my hair soft and smooth, without the frizzies!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/29/2009 7:53:00 PM More reviews by pshhdeex3

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

i dont know if this brand is more for ethnic hair becuase in a lot of their products, the picture is someone with ethnic hair, but i just have regular european hair i guess and this product worked horribly on me! me and my mom both used and and it made our hair feel not soft at all, more like rubber.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/8/2009 5:53:00 PM More reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I purchased this based on the great reviews at Sallybeauty.com. This did not really work for my fine, dry hair. The first time I used it, my hair did feel silky soft and smooth. But repeated use created a buildup on my hair. Contains aloe vera gel, glycerin, b5, silk amino acids and dimethicone. Also contains mineral oil which I have never used in a hair care product before.

Is this review helpful? Yes No