3.9

Created with Sketch.
120 reviews
73%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I forgot I had this and just rediscovered it! I have olive skin with dark features and very pigmented lips, so nudes are tough. Belle du Jour is a sheer honey beige with a milky quality that is 100% neutral to my eye, but if I had to pick I’d say it is more warm than cool. The elegant formula is balmy and easy to apply, with nice slip. It’s sheer enough to not wash me out, and opaque enough to actually show up on my lips. It’s never patchy (!!!) (though it can emphasize flaws when my lips are dry), there’s no taste or smell, it’s not drying, and lasting power is medium, which is decent for a sheer. Reapplying is super easy, I just treat it like a tinted lip balm. There are a couple of caveats: I need blush and eye makeup to balance out the pale lip (but this is true for many nude shades) or I’ll look hella washed out. Also, it is truly BEIGE, so don’t expect it to give life to your complexion. Honestly it doesn’t do much except for lighten up your lips, but it is a perfect product for that function when you need it! The best best bestttt thing about this lipstick is that is requires absolutely minimal babysitting, which in and of itself is worth the $$$ to me. Sometimes I wear it with another more opaque nude as a base for longevity’s sake, but on its own is how I like it best—Belle du Jour, for some reason, doesn’t give me any issues with that discrepancy between lip and skin colors with pale shades. And it looks especially good when I’m slightly tan. I do recommend this lipstick. I haven’t found anything else exactly like it with the same quality 

About reviewer (542 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Belle is a great color for my lips. Comparing it to Bambi which was just yellow-orange horridness on my lips, Belle is much softer, less chalky looking and natural. It provides a neutral lip color that looks like your lips themselves rather than looking like you caked concealer on them.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is a very wearable paler nude shade that, being semi-sheer, will not wash out certain skintones that might not be able to work something super opaque like MAC Myth. This shade is somewhere between a true peach shade and light tan. It has a slightly milky, glossy finish, but because of this it does tend to "gather" in my lip lines. This isn't obvious and the lipstick still looks good, but when I'm spending >$20 on a product, I am picky as all get out, hence the 4 lippies. This is a nice semi-opaque option for someone wanting to try out nude lipsticks without diving into the deep end. It is subtle and youthful. The staying power is around what you'd expect for a non-matte lipstick, that is to say it is fine, but definitely have it on hand for touch-ups.

About reviewer (274 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

The thing I like best with this soft, peachy nude is that it has a sheer quality. You know how some nude lipsticks are thick and matte and make you look like you have concealer on your lips? Not so with this one. It's delicate but sexy. I like to wear it with MAC's Stripdown liner. May wash out fair skin.

About reviewer (26 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Belle de Jour is an easy to wear, slap-on-and-go kind of nude. It's a neutral beige with slight peach undertones and a semi-opaque, glossy finish. I have NC30 Asian skin and pigmented reddish-pink lips, and Belle de Jour lightens my lip color but doesn't cover fully, resulting in a pinkish nude color that's very flattering and can be worn with simple eye looks, not just dramatic eye makeup. The satin formula wears around 2 hours if you don't mess with it, but it definitely requires reapplication after a meal or multiple drinks. It's not particularly moisturizing, but it's not drying either. I haven't been able to find a complete dupe for Belle de Jour--MAC Freckletone is slightly darker and warmer, and Revlon Lip Butter in Creme Brulee is sheerer and greyer compared to Belle de Jour. I wish the wear time was better, but I don't think that would be possible with this type of glossy, semi-opaque formula. Overall, Belle de Jour is a lovely, delicate nude that would suit lots of skintones due to its sheerness and relatively neutral undertones. Definitely worth it if you like a no-fuss, easy nude.

About reviewer (53 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Coarse

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Reference point: NARS Barcelona or MAC NC 30-35. I have very pigmented lips and it's difficult for me to find a nude that is opaque enough to truly cover the pigmentation. MAC Myth is probably the best nude I found, however it is a rather fickle product to use (you need a light hand, a good lip moisturizer, and a dab of lipgloss to make it wearable). I also tried NARS Honolulu Honey, and while it is more opaque/pigmented than Belle du Jour - it appears yellowish on me - making my skin look awful and my very white teeth look yellow. Belle du Jour is less opaque than Honolulu Honey, but it has a slightly more pink or peach undertone to it, which works much better on my skin tone. It is not drying like MAC Myth, and the slight sheen to the finish makes it easily wearable. I wish it was slightly more opaque, but I do love that it is extremely easy to wear. Because of its sheerness, I don't have to worry about over applying and having the dreaded concelear lips. Re-application is really fuss free with Belle du Jour - its really impossible to over apply. I would re purchase. While Myth or NARS Madere are my go to nudes, Belle du Jour is fantastic for when I want to slightly lighten my natural pigmentation.

About reviewer (128 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

Since, I'm always looking for the best deals, I googled a dupe for this lipstick. Although it was quite hard to find one, I was able to match a lipstick perfectly. I went to my local shopping mall where we have a Sephora. I tried on the NARS Belle De Jour lipstick and ran across the mall to the MAC cosmetics store to compare it to MAC's Freckletone. With NARS Belle De Jour on my lips, I wiped off my bottom lip, leaving Belle De Jour on my top lip. I applied MAC's Freckletone on the bottom lip and it matched perfectly!! It is the same color, I just feel that NARS has more of a hype because Kim Kardashian uses that exact same lipstick. MACs Freckletone is a dupe for NARS Belle De Jour and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a less expensive nude look. (Even though MAC retails at $14 but compared to NARS $24, its a deal. Also, I would like to add that you can also get this lipstick for free, or any MAC lipstick they carry, after returning 6 empty containers to them.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

The only nude I can wear. I have tried so many nudes and they just don't work for me. They make me look sick/pale and my lips look smaller than they are. It's just not pretty at all on me, but this lipstick, with my NC30 skin, looks absolutely beautiful. It is the only nude lipstick I will ever wear and if you are on the hunt for a semi-sheer peachy beige-y nude then this is it!

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I finally found the lipstick shade I have been looking for! I wanted a nude lip color & after buying 7 different shades from several different brands I am so happy to have found belle de jour. I really wanted that perfect nude lip without having the concealer lip look happening. This shade is perfect if you're looking for a truely nude shade.It works great with my olive coloring. It's not a beige, white or pink undertone which i kept running into. Love the consistency too!

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I am fair-skinned with pink undertones, and this lipstick looks orange on me. If you have my type of skin, consider other lipsticks for a nude lip. If you are dark skinned, you should also consider another lipstick. That said, I was pleased with the consistency-- all NARS lipsticks have a wonderful consistency. Not too dry, not too wet or oily. The stay-power is about medium to long. No smell or taste. Would repurchase, just not for myself.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us