4.1

Created with Sketch.
16 reviews
75%
would repurchase
2.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

WOW! I own a few NYX lipsticks and they have been pretty much hit or miss but this line is AMAZING. I bought Lavender and Rose. When I first ordered these they came in the mail to my office and swatched them on my hands and I literally gasped out loud at work because I could not believe how gorgeous the swatches are. SO OPAQUE IN ONE SWIPE. They look more like Mac or Lime Crime (Great Pink Planet and D'lilah are very comparable to Lavender and Rose but twice the price of NYX). This stuff is almost like costume makeup since the colors are so different but I've always wanted to rock a crazy lipstick and I think there's a color for everyone here who wants to find their perfect bold shade. Rose is a really awesome pale pink shade. It has a subtle purple undertone. It is VERY different. Even though I'm not a bright lipstick type of girl since I'm pale this one is the perfect undertone for me and I cannot wait to rock this. Lavender is also amazing. It is very pale and cool toned and actually seems to border on blue rather than purple. I'm a bit more nervous to try this one than Rose since it's REALLY out there but I'm still excited to try something that's so different!! Cannot recommend these more. 5/5 lippies!

About reviewer (170 reviews)

Age

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this lippie in Chambord (black) and I love it! I bought a black lip liner from NYX in alien to wear with it. I always use liner with dark lippies, so I can't attest as to how this works without a liner. This product is completely opaque after 3 swipes over my lips. It's not transfer proof, but it does set nicely after about 10 mins. Not matte, but not glossy either; a nice satin finish. Happy with my purchase and I recommend it.

About reviewer (82 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

((Before I actually review this product, I want to mention: I did a click and collect in Boots - in my country NYX isn't actually in stores yet as far as I know - for the shade Pistachio and when I picked it up and brought it home, the packaging was completely smudged with product and the actual lippie itself was broken - despoite me being very careful with it and not opening it until I got home. I've never had this happen to me before so I brought it back, got refunded and ordered a new one. This doesn't deduct the points I gave to the actual product itself, just the packaging. I also feel like the container feels very cheap - which probably contributed to the ruined product inside.)) Anyway, the product itself is a nice, pigmented shade of greeny-blue which glides onto the lips smoothly (best if your lips are lined or primed first, obviously) and can be a little streaky or sheer if not blended well. I also ordered Grey Earl, more of a cool-toned light blue, which should be arriving soon. It's a nice product for how cheap it is, and I'm glad to have some bright-coloured lipsticks in my slowly-expanding collection (I usually hate the feel of lip products and therefore own nearly none). The texture of the lipstick is supposed to be satin matte, and the "satin" part of that is definitely true. It feels like it never really dries on the lips and can take a bit of getting used to if you prefer more of a matte finish (I know I do). But the product is colourful, fun and although you may earn some strange looks from jaded middle-aged ladies and their children if you wear it out in public, it just shows them how creative you can be with makeup.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

These go on a bit patchy as they are sheer, but I find that they build well over a concealer base and wear magnificently. I love the funky colors and how my lipstick just stayed put through quite a lot of conversation and food. They are pretty moisturizing for a matte lipstick and I went back and bought two more shades for my wild days. These are perfect for those days when you just want to flaunt a blue or green lipstick and have it look amazing. I will admit that my application consists of concealer and then about 3 layers with blotting, but once you get full opacity, it's just amazing. Even with 3 layers, I forgot I was wearing that bright blue until I looked in the mirror and if that isn't a sell, I don't know what is.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I randomly became sort of obsessed with finding the perfect pale orange lip color and unfortunately NYX Orange Blossom wasn't it. The formula was very drying and just too, too vibrant orange. The swatches online looked so pretty and pastel but mine comes up sort of neon orange. If I mix it with MAC Myth I can achieve around the look I want, but that's sort of annoying.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Wish it went on better

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I have the lavender lippie and I love it. I have been looking for a nicki 2 dupe forever. So I use this and add a little of revlon nude and get the EXACT same color. I will purchase again because I love this color on me:)

About reviewer (60 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Tan, Cool

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I actually ordered Lavender and Earl Grey online, but I went ahead and got Orange Blossom at the store. It's this really lovely pale peachy-neon-pastel orange. It toes the line between completely normal/wearable and avant garde, which I like a lot. The only thing is that I currently have bright red hair and I have a feeling the two together may look a little overdone, but I still enjoyed wearing it none the less! Also, it seemed to change colors in the light. Indoors it was a rather regular-but-pretty peach color. In the actual sun, it was peach with almost yolk yellow undertones. The finish is a bit opaque and slick (and a little weirdly grainy). That being said, it isn't unpleasant and it's long-lasting, so yay! It WILL settle into your lips and that part kinda sucked, but for $6, it's a whole lot cheaper than Lime Crime! My biggest complaint was that the packaging is cheeeap. Think e.l.f. $1 lipstick packaging cheap. Also, the base of my lipstick is quite discolored. It's the bright orange it's supposed to be and then yellow towards the tube. This, however, does not affect the color so much.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Ok I love the texture on the macaron lippies so soft yet with good pigmentation and yes I also got a couple of mattes but fell in love with one matte so have to share. It's Street Cred matte! It's not as dry as some other mattes such as Make Up For Ever & Kat Von D matte lipstick. Sweet cred (cherry pink) is like bam! Look at these hot lips :) Ok back to the macaron lippies. Lavender is very different it shows up as a pastel. Normal lady's would not choose this color day to day. I most likely will use at night and want to do a ombré look with it. As for macaron lippie Violet it is so beautifully bright. I'm loving this color it sure stands out compared to other purple lipsticks I own. These run about 6$U.S Can't go wrong with that price! I got these online through NYX website http://www.nyxcosmetics.com They offer free shipping with in the states when you pay over 25$ plus they sent me a free lip liner. Check out this link below to see my pics! http://img.makeupalley.com/2/5/0/2/2646408.JPG

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairOther

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I was only able to purchase Orange Blossom in this line, even though I wanted/want others. They have literally sold out of them repeatedly at my local Ultas so I took what I could get. I definitely got a bum container. The lipstick does not lock when it is turned for use and just sinks back into the bullet as I use it. That is annoying, but luckily the lipstick is pretty solid so it hasn't ruined the listick. Honestly the color is pretty, but it is not opaque enough. I had to use my Mac Prep and Prime to make it even sort of usable/workable. The lipstick is very dry on its own so it gets patchy very easily. My lips are decently pigmented so this can be a problem, but I wasn't really expecting it from an orange lipstick, which usually looks great on me. Oh well. My lipstick also has a weird oxidation of sorts on the outer layer. It has taken on a sort of yellow color, which rubs off to reveal the original orange color underneath. It doesn't smell weird and isn't off, but it is just something I noticed. Overall I am not wowed by this product, but I think I will give some of the other colors a chance and hopefully there will be a few gems that work for me. Otherwise this was a fun way to try something new and see if it worked for me. I think if you don't have super pigmented lips or can mute the color of your lips better than I can this might work for you. Just make sure you get a well constructed bullet or you might have to deal with a limp tube. Blah!

About reviewer (299 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen