4.8

Created with Sketch.
24 reviews
95%
would repurchase
4.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I went into Target with all intents of buying the former Synthetic all Purpose Flat Brush, as mine got so much wear from it. The sales clerk informed me that this brush was the new replacement brush for the flat top. I was hesitant at first to purchase this, but I brought it home and tried and I was sold!! This is a very soft, dense brush that applies liquid or creme foundation flawlessly. It's just as nice as the previous brush, but you can actually cover more skin with this one since it's slightly bigger. I am a huge fan of this brush and so glad I purchased it! Highly recommend. The store clerk said that she's been using this brush for a while and loves it to this day.

About reviewer (179 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesGreen



4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Wish I could give this brush 4.5 stars. It's awesome, I love it and I'm so glad I found it by searching online and then reading these reviews. I have been looking for a brush like this for quite some time, but I really wanted to buy one "in person" instead of one of the dozens of online makeup shops. I wanted a vegan/synthetic buffing brush for mineral makeup (mineral foundation and mineral blush). This brush is so lovely! It's very dense and soft, the price is right, and it is sold at Target. My only small complaint so far is that is had shed a tiny bit (two bristles), and also the "handle" portion of the brush is quite light. It's hollow (I think) and the brush end is very thick and heavy, the ferrule is heavy too (which is great). But the weight balance is a bit off. Overall, for the price, quality, effectiveness, and accessibility of this brush is excellent. I'm so happy I didn't pay $25 (or more) for a brush like this. Love my mineral makeup and this brush makes it very enjoyable to apply. This is much more dense that the Real Techniques Buffing Brush, which I also have and enjoy. But the weight balance on that brush is more even. Perhaps this brush isn't "ideal" for mineral makeup, people using it for liquid foundation seem to be very pleased. I will try it that way for sure too, but don't wear cream foundation quite as often. Definitely purchase this brush, it's awesome, just feel like saving a 5-star review for things that are truly spectacular.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I really like this, I bought it because my Holy Grail buffing brush by real techniques is not sold individually but this one is. It's bigger, less dense than the Real Techniques one, super soft and I have come to love it. It makes the powder or liquid or cream foundation look very natural and as it's bigger it allows me to get the job done in half the time. If you like a denser brush maybe this one is not the best for you, but for me it's great! So yes I recommend this!

About reviewer (91 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

I bought this brush for $13 at Target. I prefer using a brush to apply my liquid foundations. Previously my favorites were the Elf flat top powder brush, the new Elf buffing brush, and MAC 187. Then I purchased this one, and I find myself reaching for it most often. This brush has a slightly rounded top, and synthetic bristles that are slightly longer and less densely packed. If you are used to using the Sigma F80 or F82, or the Elf powder brush, you may think this will not work for foundation, but it is very similar in design to the Sephora #55 Airbrush brush. It also gives a nearly identical result. I use the brush to stipple on & then blend out my liquid foundation. I find that it gives a very natural, airbrushed finish with no streaks. I have used this brush with a variety of foundations: Urban Decay Naked Skin, L'ancome Teint Visionnaire, L'ancome Teint Miracle, UD Naked Skin Beauty Balm, Laura Mercier Oil-free Tinted Moisturizer, Sonia Kashuk Perfecting Luminous, Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua, and Kiehl's BB cream. It has worked beautifully with each of them. This brush is also considerably easier to clean than the more densely-packed Sigma or Elf brushes. I would definitely recommend this brush for liquid foundation, and I would definitely repurchase.

About reviewer (512 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I bought this brush awhile back and after trying to use it a few times set it aside. I just didn't have a good use for it. Too dense. But lately I've been using it for powder foundation. It works great for that. I was never a powder foundation girl. Always just preferred a liquid foundation. But lately I've been applying a very thin layer of liquid foundation and concealer and then using this brush to apply my Bare Minerals over it. The brush is soft and a pleasure to use. It buffs the powder into the skin quite nicely. The finish is very natural looking. Also if I have a blush that doesn't have the best pigmentation I'll use this brush and it really works to get the blush to show up better. It washes up nicely and have not noticed any shedding. Now one of my most used brushes.

About reviewer (143 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairGrey, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I use this as an alternative to a flat top brush when applying foundation or blending out powders. The handle is comfortable enough to hold and I also like the look of the white. The brush itself is softer than the other "cheap" Sonia Kashuk brushes, and it is very dense. I use this brush with Maybelline Fit Me foundation and Revlon ColourStay. Both products go on seamlessly with this brush. They are more liquidy than other foundations so I think that is part of the reason this brush works. Since this brush is so dense it can hold onto excess product. I have to wash it more often than other brushes because I don't want dried product from my last application going onto my fresh makeup.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I don't know why, but for some reason my pores are large and when I put on foundation, whether it be liquid or powder, my pores look huge and both types of makeup get trapped in pores and magnify them. I've never had this problem before so I am puzzled and upset that my makeup is not looking good. I have only used this brush once, as I bought it yesterday, but this brush really seemed to buff the foundation into my pores and they were much less visible today. I used my magnifying side of the mirror while I applied liquid foundation (Becca Matte Skin Foundation) and then I used the same brush to apply Too Faced Cocoa Powder. As I said, my makeup looked better than it had in a week or so (when my pores mysteriously enlarged). I need to get a second brush, so I can have one for liquid and one for powder. If anyone here has experience with their pores getting large, please advise me! I'm 48 and I have great skin usually. The pores on my forehead, chin and apples of my cheeks have gone haywire. I can't imagine how good this brush works and makes makeup look when skin is not having a meltdown!

About reviewer (100 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

This brush is fantastic for applying powder foundation. It gives a smooth, buffed, natural finish with every powder I have used it with. It's very soft and comfortable on my face. I got this at Target for around $10. I want to buy a backup because I like it so much, but my Target is usually out of this one.

About reviewer (339 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I think I bought it for like 9 bucks at target. Amazing brush. I love it for powder and liquid foundation. The brush is synthetic so doesn't hold onto much product which is amazing. It's very soft and blends beautifully and this is just proof to me that you don't need to spend a ton a brushes! I've given away so many of my higher end brushes because I end up using brushes like these just so much more often. I already bought a back up. Absolute favorite brush.

About reviewer (69 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I FINALLY got a Target in my province and was so excited to go have a look at the Sonia Kashuk line I've been seeing all over the internet. I guess the rest of my province didn't get the memo about how amazing the brushes were because the shelves were stocked full of every brush I had my eye on (reading the reviews here they always seems to be sold out in other Targets)!! My #1 brush to buy was the Synthetic Buffing Brush for blending out my foundation and it was everything I imagined it to be! I was using a flat top Crown brush for about a year now and it started to shed badly during daily use and washing. It was time to retire my Crown and get something else. This brush blends out my foundation perfectly and gives me the most amazing "airbrushed" finish I've ever seen (and I even own an airbrush system, for comparison). I love the sleek white handle and how soft it feels on my skin during application! I wasn't sure how the rounded top would blend compared to a flat top but it really does the job! This brush doesn't soak up the liquid product like my flat top Crown brush does and is a breeze to clean! It cleans very easily with a little baby shampoo and water, and dries pretty quickly (I wash it in the evening and it's dry by morning so I can use it to apply my morning makeup). I've washed it a few times now and it hasn't shed a single hair and is keeping its shape pretty nicely. I think I paid something like $12-$15 and to me it was worth every single penny! On my next trip to Target to get a few more brushes on my list, I am going to pick up an extra one of these to have on hand because I love this brush so much and I'm afraid word will get out about it and I'll never find it again. I highly recommend purchasing this brush!!

About reviewer (349 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us