August 1, 2014 | 1256 users online

Styling Products - Nick Chavez - Plump 'n Thick Leave-In Thickening Cream



image 0

rated 3.6(25 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 72% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/6/2013 4:22:00 AM More reviews by aizen

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I love this thicking cream.
sometime I mix with redken thickeing lotion.
make my hair volume sometime too big hair.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 12/18/2012 7:50:00 PM More reviews by pinknika

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Yeah I agree with a lot of the reviews, the shampoo works great, your hair is full and thick, once you put this stuff on, your hair gets flat, really smooth and yes shiny, but the oomph and volume is lost. Really strange, why make a product to do the exact opposite of what its supposed to do? Whatever, I will plan on trying other products from Nick but yeah, this stuff isn't good at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/11/2012 11:16:00 PM More reviews by victoriaemilyf

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Meh. This product didn't do anything for my hair. No frizz control, no texture difference. I love many other Nick Chavez products, but I can live without this conditioner.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/13/2012 9:10:00 AM More reviews by Catherine19

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This product is great if you want limp, lifeless hair that won't hold curl AT ALL!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/20/2010 9:24:00 AM More reviews by Artbum

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I'm on my 2nd bottle of this product and I LOVE it--This is finally the product I've been looking for and I've found it. I have long wavy brown hair with long layers in it. I love to air-dry my hair but without product my hair is a poofy mess. With this creme, I add a dime size dallop to gently towel-dried hair, comb through, twist into a loose chignon and let dry; later I let my hair down and it is shiny, soft, healthy and tangle free. I have fine long hair and L/I cond. does not weigh it down. Usage has made my hair very soft and healthy. I buy the travel size bottles at Ulta so I can take them with me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/2/2010 7:19:00 PM More reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I adore this. Gives my medium thick hair a little extra volume and gives bounce to my curls. It doesn't have a obnoxious scent and isn't greasy. I only need a little bit too. It hydrates without weighing my hair down. You can buy a small bottle of this at Ulta to try it out without breaking the bank. Will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/10/2009 12:45:00 PM More reviews by toothfairy72

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This stuff works. I have thinning hair, the temporal sides are almost see-through, but after using this stuff, I actually have body and volume. My hair feels and looks fuller and it holds a style a lot better. The only downside is, that the next day my roots are quite oily, so I have to use a dry shampoo in order to skip another wash.
Use only a little, dime size is completely enough, otherwise your hair might look a little grimy.
If you use it for the night, you will wake up to bouncy hair, no doubt.
All in all a really good product, keeps its promise.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/10/2009 11:54:00 PM More reviews by san1275

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

One word: AWESOME! I have thick curly hair that is quite delicate. Most products leave it heavy and flatten it out....but not this leave in conditioner. My hair is thicker, fuller, shinier, softer to the touch, and bouncier than it has been for 20 years. I have "happy" curls again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/9/2009 11:51:00 AM More reviews by jd-jd

Age: Unknown Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I got this as part of a TSV set on QVC . The set comes with the matching plumping shampoo, a setting spray, hairspray and gloss spray.


This is a leave-in conditioner. Normally, I do not like leave-in conditioners. I feel they tend to weigh the hair down. But this one works well. You use a DIME-SIZE (no more) for longish hair (mine is shoulder-length or a bit more.) I start at the ends and scrunch it in. Immediately you see some waving and volume. It combs out well.


After blowdrying, my hair is smooth, not so fly-away but not heavily weighted or greasy. I did notice however that the glossing spray did not work as well on the hair after the conditioner AND the hairspray.


Of leave-in conditioners I've tried, this one is the best so far.


Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/21/2008 12:41:00 AM More reviews by LindseyZ

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I've been using this product for a month and I love it. I condition the ends of my hair with my normal Nioxin conditioner in the shower and I apply a dime-sized amount of this product at the root when I'm done. It helps control fly-aways (although it hasn't eliminated them completely). What I like most is that it gives my fine hair body and fullness. I also love the light strawberry scent. I plan to repurchase, but I expect the bottle to last a long time, since I only use a small amount each day.

If you're shopping in the Twin Cities, I saw this at the QVC store at the Mall of America for about $6 less than I paid at Ulta.

Edit: I've noticed that when I use this product on wet hair without blow drying afterward, it makes my normally straight hair a little bit wavy. I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No