October 24, 2014 | 1841 users online

Lipstick - Bourjois - Rouge Edition Velvet

rated 4.8(16 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.8
  • 93% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.6
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/21/2014 1:52:00 PM More reviews by meglovesbeauty

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Best red lip product I have ever used!

I'm not lying when I say I put this on at around 8/9pm before a night out and it is still just as bright and neat on my lips when I wake up as it was when I applied it!

This stuff survives dinners, drinks and lots of pouting!

My only reservation is that these are matte finish and I jumped off the matte band wagon a while, although I've still rated these a 5 as I've applied a clear gloss over the top and it has lasted just as well as it does without a gloss!

Oh, and I have a the bright red shade, I can't remember the number!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/19/2014 6:25:00 AM More reviews by Misssspiggy

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Purchased this on the weekend and it's wonderful. Got the very dark red and it's a prefect vintage colour. Shea butter makes the lips feel smooth and not drying. Stays on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/24/2014 12:31:00 PM More reviews by innese

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I own this lip product (can't really call it a lipstick, right?) in the shade pink pong and I've been wearing and loving it the whole summer! It glides on very smoothly and velvety and dries matte without drying out the lips like many other matte lip products. It lasts very long and though the shade is dark, and dark shades tend to be high maintenance, I only have to reapply it after eating. I also don't feel too aware of it during the day since it wears pretty comfortably. The shade is an absolutely gorgeous electric bluish-pink and I constantly receive compliments for it. Every time I switch up my lipstick my colleagues ask me where is my pretty pink lipstick! Love love love it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/24/2014 9:55:00 PM More reviews by NinatalieJane

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love this lippie!

It feels so soft on my lips and is easy to apply, I put on a deep moisture lip balm about 5-10 minutes before applying it, (2 coats) it stays on almost all day, even if I eat & drink & kiss!

Definitely recommended! My favourite (as in, I wear it every day at work!) is 04 Peach Club it looks luscious ! xxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/15/2014 8:18:00 PM More reviews by Shabba123

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Brown

I brought these in 3 colours, 04, 07 and (can't remember the last one!) I think it was 06.. But I have to say I LOVE these so far. Pros: They're beautiful colours, they apply nicely and are affordable.. (I got mines 3 for 2 at Boots for around £8.99 each). Okay so the only con I have really is that they bleed out of my lips slightly, nothing a lip liner can't fix. But they're overall a great lip product, I. Just wish there was more than 6 colours!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/8/2014 4:06:00 AM More reviews by nadooda

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really loved the texture and the color matched my skin tone. The packaging is cute and fits right into my everyday makeup bag or even pockets. As for staying power it lasts really long but when it goes it leaves a stained line like I lined my lips with it. I definitely love it and I can't wait to try out more shades.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/19/2014 9:27:00 AM More reviews by lippiereviews

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have it in 07 nude-ist, and I love the colour. It's a rose-pink toned nude with a slight brownish hue, which I like.

The packaging is sleek, pretty and very sophisticated. It seems pretty sturdy. The applicator is a doe foot applicator and makes applying the product easy.

The product is like a lip cream with a matte finish. It smells like silly string, that artificial, pungent chemical scent which is a drawback. It takes up a bit too much product for my liking, so I wipe a bit off, as it gathers around the lip line when applying. It has almost opaque in one coat pigmentation, but I prefer to apply two thin layers. It feels like a slippery gloss at the start, but as it dries, it turns sticky every time you smack your lips together.

It transfers a bit of colour when drinking or eating, and I found that after eight hours of wear, eating and drinking, I ended up with the colour all around the outside of my lips, and my inner lips my natural colour. The matte formula is a bit drying to my taste, but I'm a lip balm kind of girl anyway.

The price. Bourjois is an expensive brand in itself, and in Australia, $25 is hefty for a 'drugstore' lip product. I know that in america, for $25 you can basically get two mac lipsticks. Overpriced, yeah? That's Australia for you. Thank goodness I got it for $10 on a sale, which is still like $5 away from a mac lipstick in US, but Australia's Mac lipsticks are 36 0.o Anyway, that is overpriced for a lip product.

Overall, depending on what you like, or prefer, it will depend on whether you like this product or not.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/8/2014 4:25:00 AM More reviews by Cosmiina

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I first bough shade "Pink pong" which is a hot pink/fuchsia. I really lovelovelovelove that shade, it looks so feminine but still "something different". And oh boy it lasts! Once I apply it 10am and drank, eat, smoke several times and 16pm it was faded away but still looked nice. This lipstick (or lipstain?) fades really nicely, and bright shades are safe to use. Normally I would love to use bright lipstick more often, but I m too lazy to apply it often enough. This product is totally a lifesaver to bright lipstick-lovers like me!

I was so excited and bough a different colour few days after - Personne de rouge, which is very classic red. Unfortunately I was quite disappointed, because this shade didnt have that much pigment and it didnt last as long as the shade Pink pong. I would give 3 stars to red shade and 5 stars to pink shade.

Price in low, but unfortunately u cannot find brand Bourjois from Finland - altought it is the same problem with many brands.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/18/2014 2:43:00 AM More reviews by katmint

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I really love this lipstick. I'm a bit of a lipstick junkie- I'm always looking for the perfect product that has staying power, doesn't dry the lips too much (a little is to be expected) and gives a nice matte finish, rather than a cakey, or shiny 'layer'. I find that most of my favourite lipsticks fail in one of these categories. This lipstick is amazing- especially considering the price. The colour is nice and strong, easy to apply and lasts forever. The finish looks like a beautiful tinted lip. I highly recommend it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/10/2014 10:02:00 AM More reviews by vtomboy

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Great staying power, no staining, no drying our lips, high pigmentation and in a competiive price.
Isn't that all we want from a lipstick? Yes! And no.

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet has all the above. It stays for hours. And hours. It won't feather, it won't stain your glass of wine. Will it dry your lips? No, it really feels like velvet, I guess it has something like silicon in it, because you feel it like Benefit's Porefessional feels on your skin. And it's super pigmented. And for an average of 12 euros (lower than a MAC)? For all these, a huge yes.
But, would I buy it again? Probably not. And the reason is its smell.

I an really amazed how no-one mentioned it before, this product has a distinct industrial smell, almost metallic. I am almost never irritated by strong smells, but this one really needs improvement. It lingers for hours and you notice it immediately after removing the lid. Apart from that, the product is indeed amazing (hence the three stars).

But, unless I'm under the flu and can't smell anything, this is a no for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No