December 19, 2014 | 1138 users online

Lipstick - Bourjois - Rouge Edition Velvet

rated 4.7(20 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.7
  • 90% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.5
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 12/15/2014 7:11:00 AM More reviews by fairplaytoyou

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this product! I gave it four stars because I've tried it out (I bought it specifically for an event which I'm yet to attend) but I can't comment on how long-lasting it is. I've tried other red lipsticks before and always been put off wearing the colour red because those feel so dry and look horrible. Also, for some reason I find others harder to apply, not sure why.

The packaging on this is so classy, it's really compact - really useful for touch ups and the brush applicator isn't too big which means it's great for those with thinner lips too. I bought the shade 'hot pepper', a really red stand out colour and loved it! It's great even if you're a first time red lippie wearer, because it just looks so good. It goes on wet/glossy as expected, but it does dry to a really nice matte finish. I assume with blotting it'll last at least an hour if not more, but I can't wait to try it out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/2/2014 2:15:00 PM More reviews by jessicalaw97

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

It does feel like velvet on your lips. I bought the colour grand cru. It's a really deep dark red, and I was really disappointed because it goes on and looks incredibly grainy and weird when you swipe it on your lips. I tried exfoliating my lips and moisturising them and put it on again, exact same result. I honestly think I must have got a bad batch because everyone's reviews are so good. Luckily I got another shade which I can't remember the name of but it doesn't have the same grainy weird look, and it dries matte and looks really nice. I don't know much about longetivity because I haven't worn it out often but I did once and it was basically all gone when I got home but I was wiping my mouth a lot ha ha

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/16/2014 3:30:00 AM More reviews by galsunday

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is a liquid lipstick. It applies glossy but dries up to a matte finish. I purchased No 01 Personne ne rouge, a red hue with bluish undertone. Its a beautiful deep crimson red.

It did not last on me after meals and feels just like any ordinary matte lipstick. i had to re-apply. I didnt like the smell, like turpentine/thinner or something but it wears off. It doesnt feather for a matte lipstick which i find amazing considering it's a drug store brand!

I bought this in a 'Kiss and Wish" contest at a mall where you kiss a card with the purchased lipstick, write your wish and hang it on a xmas tree and there's a lucky draw in mid December. It was on discount plus the sales person gave me a lip make- over and some skincare samples, so no complaints there.

The color on the tube denotes the color inside. The lip gloss tube packaging and doe- foot applicator is typical for all liquid lipstick, which is the fad nowadays. Nothing fancy.

The pricing is ok for a drug store brand. I wouldnt re- purchase tho'. It was a spur of the moment feel-good splurge plus i hope to be the winner of the lucky draw contest and get my wish on the card, come true. Hehe!!

I would recommend this if ur on a budget.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/29/2014 7:45:00 AM More reviews by daphneegreengrass

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

I bought two of those, in 03 and 04. 03 is a bright orange-y red and 04 is a deep coral. I adore these.
They apply very easily and if you make a mistake, you can smudge the product off with your fingers if you're not too slow about it. The texture is velvet-y smooth and does not dry out your lips. The colors are really versatile and it lasts AGES. If you eat, you will need to touch up but most of it will still be there, in my experience.
These are just really good, long lasting and non-drying lipstick products. If you are looking for something discreet or like a tinted balm, or a MLBB, there won't be much for you here. The Rouge Velvet Edition lipsticks are all about statement colours made even deeper by the matte finish. If you're wearing it, you're committing to it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/21/2014 1:52:00 PM More reviews by meglovesbeauty

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Best red lip product I have ever used!

I'm not lying when I say I put this on at around 8/9pm before a night out and it is still just as bright and neat on my lips when I wake up as it was when I applied it!

This stuff survives dinners, drinks and lots of pouting!

My only reservation is that these are matte finish and I jumped off the matte band wagon a while, although I've still rated these a 5 as I've applied a clear gloss over the top and it has lasted just as well as it does without a gloss!

Oh, and I have a the bright red shade, I can't remember the number!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/19/2014 6:25:00 AM More reviews by Misssspiggy

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Purchased this on the weekend and it's wonderful. Got the very dark red and it's a prefect vintage colour. Shea butter makes the lips feel smooth and not drying. Stays on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/24/2014 12:31:00 PM More reviews by innese

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I own this lip product (can't really call it a lipstick, right?) in the shade pink pong and I've been wearing and loving it the whole summer! It glides on very smoothly and velvety and dries matte without drying out the lips like many other matte lip products. It lasts very long and though the shade is dark, and dark shades tend to be high maintenance, I only have to reapply it after eating. I also don't feel too aware of it during the day since it wears pretty comfortably. The shade is an absolutely gorgeous electric bluish-pink and I constantly receive compliments for it. Every time I switch up my lipstick my colleagues ask me where is my pretty pink lipstick! Love love love it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/24/2014 9:55:00 PM More reviews by NinatalieJane

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love this lippie!

It feels so soft on my lips and is easy to apply, I put on a deep moisture lip balm about 5-10 minutes before applying it, (2 coats) it stays on almost all day, even if I eat & drink & kiss!

Definitely recommended! My favourite (as in, I wear it every day at work!) is 04 Peach Club it looks luscious ! xxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/15/2014 8:18:00 PM More reviews by Shabba123

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Brown

I brought these in 3 colours, 04, 07 and (can't remember the last one!) I think it was 06.. But I have to say I LOVE these so far. Pros: They're beautiful colours, they apply nicely and are affordable.. (I got mines 3 for 2 at Boots for around £8.99 each). Okay so the only con I have really is that they bleed out of my lips slightly, nothing a lip liner can't fix. But they're overall a great lip product, I. Just wish there was more than 6 colours!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/8/2014 4:06:00 AM More reviews by nadooda

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really loved the texture and the color matched my skin tone. The packaging is cute and fits right into my everyday makeup bag or even pockets. As for staying power it lasts really long but when it goes it leaves a stained line like I lined my lips with it. I definitely love it and I can't wait to try out more shades.

Is this review helpful? Yes No