August 29, 2014 | 996 users online

Misc Beauty Tools - Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman - Miracle Complexion Sponge



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.1(82 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 74% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/22/2014 2:55:00 PM More reviews by KBaylie

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

The shape of this works very well for my face. The sponge is very soft and easy to work with. Many reviewers are right that it does soak up too much product, but if you are a concealer junkie like me, you'll know that this works very well with concealers. I tend to over conceal, but this product picks up the excess while leaving just the right amount of concealer under my eyes. I use this sponge for my concealer and the Studio Basics Expert Complexion Sponge for my foundation and my makeup looks flawless! Who needs the BeautyBlender when I've got these two babies for half the price?

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/21/2014 2:40:00 PM More reviews by NikkiBri88

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I REALLY wanted to love this, I did. But, unfortunately, I can't jump on the band wagon.

I feel like this sponge soaks up more product than the beauty blender which means it doesn't give the full, even coverage I want. I don't really like the shape of the sponge either.. Maybe it's about personal preference and what I'm comfortable using, but, either way, I'd much rather pay the $23 for TWO beauty blenders on Amazon that invest in a dupe for the beauty blender. The beauty blender is so effortless, and soft against your skin.. and this one is not. No more dupes.. I'm sticking with my beloved beauty blender.

It may work really well for someone else, but it just wasn't my cup of tea.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/17/2014 5:22:00 PM More reviews by Xnaomi96x

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I first bought this product roughly 4-5 weeks ago and fell in love, I got a flawless face after every use and the different sides of the sponge are very useful so I was so shocked when my sponge completely ripped in half after washing it for about the 8th time. Last week I purchased another one however this time washing the sponge feels a bit different and I don't know why, I still get the same results but feel like I cant really squeeze all of the water out after dampening it and sometimes it goes odd shaped before it dries out. So I would definitely recommend this product but I don't think they last very long which isn't too bad because they're only cheap but I don't want to have to buy a new one every other week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/16/2014 7:30:00 PM More reviews by bellavee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

Although I think you get what you pay for in most cases, I believe there a lot of great cheap beauty finds, and this is one of them. I really wanted to try the BB but didn't want to dish out the cash so I'm really happy I found this. I figured if RT brushes are so great, their complexion sponge would be too. It makes my foundation look very light and natural, no streaks, patches, or lines. For reference I use Revlon Colorstay for oily skin and It's a full coverage foundation so this sponge makes it come out much lighter on my skin as it's a pretty thick formula. I wash it after every use, and i find it very easy to do. I'm very gentle while rubbing soap into it and continuously adding water and squeezing it out. So basically I have no complaints, it's an all around great product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/16/2014 12:46:00 PM More reviews by xxxmascara

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Lately Ive been pretty interested in makeup and I wanted a new applicator for my foundation/bb cream as the flat top brush i was previously using gave an unnatural cakes finish and I wanted a flawless natural but covered finish. And thus is the best thing i have ever bought! My face looks flawless everyday now and it blends beautifully! I also love the fact you use it damp so it encourages you to clean it everyday so its hygienic and good for your face. Love it and won't change for a long long time i think

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/12/2014 7:46:00 AM More reviews by Rosezxz

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Best blending sponge ever. Great for hurries. Doesn't soaked too much products. Only cons is it will be moldy if not stored in a air-dried environment.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/9/2014 2:37:00 PM More reviews by chinadoll13

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

Simply the best!!
Even better that the beauty blender...I love it!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/9/2014 2:20:00 PM More reviews by CandiceLee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I hate spending a ton of time on my foundation. I have better things to do, like strategically place my winged liner and lashes. I'm also cheap and had no intention on spending $25 on a beauty blender. I know, they're absolutely amazing, I have no doubt, but I'd rather search for a dupe. Especially since I know sponges don't last forever and I'll eventually need to buy more. The real techniques sponge completely changed my foundation game. It's all I need for foundation and concealer. No need to dirty up multiple brushes when you can do it all with this. Run it under water first and keep squeezing it until it doubles in size. You can even use a clean rag or paper towel to get out the excess moisture if you feel compelled. For liquid foundations I just squeeze it on my hand, dip the side of the sponge in it, and go to town. I'm done in no time. If you need more coverage, use the flat side, you'll look flawless. If I'm using a cream or whipped foundation I use my fingers to smear it all over, then go in with the sponge to perfect it. The thing just does miracles. Same goes for concealer, tap it all over underneath your eyes, where you're highlighting and what have you, then run the sponge over. No ones gonna know you got beauty blender results for a fraction of the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/8/2014 12:55:00 AM More reviews by selenakay

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It took me so long to find one that I eventually gave up and just bought it online and I was SO EXCITED when it came in!! I've heard so many good things and they are true!!! This is so soft and it doubles in size when you wet it. It bounces off your face so nicely and it's not like you're punching yourself in the face haha (like the Target brand one that I regret buying so much). It made my Revlon Colorstay foundation look so amazing and flawless! I have never tried the Beauty Blender but I probably never will now that I have found a dupe for a much better price!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/30/2014 10:41:00 AM More reviews by OMGURTEEF

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Okay, I'm having some serious trouble understanding why anyone would spend $25 on a Beauty Blender sponge when this little blob of orange wonder is on the market.
This sponge is fantastic. Beyond fantastic. This thing is out of this world.
I'd been wanting to replace using my makeup brushes to apply concealer and foundation for a while, but didn't want to drop the cash on a BB sponge. When this came out, I was hesitant to order it because I generally hate paying shipping on what could be a crap shoot for me. So when it finally became available at a local brick-and-mortar shop, I snagged it immediately.
The first thing I noticed was how much the size increased when the sponge was dampened. This made me happy, as it meant I'd be able to do my whole face quickly rather than having to spend loads of time buffing and stippling tiny areas.
The pointed tip remains pointy when the sponge is wet too, so it's great for spot concealing.
The finish this sponge delivers is absolutely stunning. Never has any foundation looked so natural on my skin. This thing helped blur out my pores and really allowed me an extraordinary amount of control over how much product I wanted on my face.
And spot concealing? This thing is wonderful for that. I don't wear foundation every day, especially in the Summer, but I do conceal any spots that may pop up and it is fantastic at blending the concealer out without removing it entirely (a problem I've had with brushes since I started using makeup). And since it doesn't just glob on tons of product, I find that my concealer wears longer rather than sliding or fading off. (Less is more, kids.)
For $6, this is a steal.
The packaging it comes in is a little cheapo, but it's going to get thrown out anyway so who cares? I do wish it came with some kind of tray or container to put it in, but whatever. That's what they made makeup cases for.
Definitely pick this up if you're in the market for a great sponge at a fraction of the cost of its competitor!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No