October 31, 2014 | 929 users online

BB Cream - Rachel K - CC Cream Blemish Balm: Mineral Color Control



image 0

rated 3.3(19 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 47% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 3/26/2014 2:05:00 PM More reviews by kaylayaki

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Other

There is no review for the new Rachel K CC Renew so I guess I'll start.
I bought the product a few months ago and let's say, the product is made for people with ideal skin.
If you have poreless, unscarred, even skin, this makes your compexion look radiant and glowy. I have the exact opposite of the abovementioned qualities and it makes my face look like a shiny mess. I then gave it to my mom to try (my mom has dry skin) and even though it doesn't show glossiness like it did on mine, she said she didn't like that it felt oily on her skin after some time. I think this product would work great for the right people though.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/4/2013 12:22:00 AM More reviews by lindalindyhop

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Lovely, lovely product. CC Cream really isn't a product with a fancy name, it has made my life a lot easier - I love that it has SPF 35 - and costs the same as a sunscreen - no brainer really. It has also made my morning routine much simple- - cleanse, tone, CC Cream, a loose powder (MUFE), and a NARS blush for me. Now, I used to religiously apply primer and a highlighter to achieve the coveted luminous look - think JLO... this does it in a simple step. I am seriously impressed.

My only wish is that they could have a wider range of products.. promising brand and I would like to see what else they have to offer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/31/2013 11:47:00 PM More reviews by floraworld

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Disclaimer: This review is for the Mineral CC Pressed Powder. It's by the same brand buyt I couldn't find a review page for that.

Thoughts: GREAT product! I recently wanted to stop wearing foundation because I just felt like my skin couldn't even "breath", especially with the weather being crazy. I was using LRP tinted sunscreen with loose powder but somehow that started clogging my pores, because I had to use a significant amount of the sunscreen for decent coverage. I chanced upon this product online and was surprised to know there's a CC product in powder version! WIth this CC Mineral pressed powder, the redness and inflammation of my blemishes are reduced significantly - and I feel like it even helped shrink them. The coverage is great, almost as good as a foundation, but it doesn't feel heavy or caked on either. I am happy with this product except maybe I would prefer if there was a refill option as I prefer more mature looking compact cases.

Looking at the reviews below, it appears that the CC Cream is their main product that is getting raves. I will give it a shot in the winter months, hope it works just as well.

So basically, if you are looking for a summer product that provides coverage, cares for your skin and doesn't feel or look heavy, this is it. Recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/19/2013 4:17:00 AM More reviews by sputnikcooper

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Ok I am no makeup guru and I have never even tried a BB Cream - I usually just use anything from MAC and that works fine. My friend recently went to Asia for a month ( I'm so jealous! ) and she hauled a whole bunch of beauty products. Luckily for me, the shade was too dark on her and she passed this to me. It took her a long time trying to explain to me what on earth CC Cream was and I was still lost... but anyway I found their website and here's what they have to say:

"CC Cream is a much more refined and improved BB cream which combines various benefits all in one - color control, oil control, whitening, brightening, moisturizing and UV protection with SPF 35 PA ++.

The Neutral shade is a natural beige color for medium to olive skin tone with yellow and neutral undertones."

So I have been using this for 2 weeks now. My verdict is that.. this is GOOD STUFF. I wish I had found this earlier. I basically apply it in patting motions ( if you have time, click on the video on their website ) like advised and there are absolutely no streaks. It gives me a very subtle, barely there glow on my cheekbones, and I find that pretty flattering! To keep that sort of dewy skin look, I just brush VERY LIGHTLY some of the Mac Powder ( the white one, can't remember the name ) or Mac Fix+.I look like I have no makeup on! Well but for a long night out, I still prefer to use foundation for heavy coverage ( MAC Face + Body ).

Verdict: An ideal product for everyday usage. Natural looking makeup.


Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/19/2013 12:33:00 AM More reviews by denisiel

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Out of the Asian BB and CC creams, this is the best color match for my NC25 skin with yellow undertones. Does not leave a gray cast and oxidizes nicely to match my skin. I like that it has zinc oxide for sunscreen and use it mainly as additional protection as a primer/sunscreen. The problem is that I have very dry skin and this CC Cream dries my cheeks out and I get flaking after a few hours. I do like the thick texture and it doesn't settle in my pores.

I do not see any effects from the beneficial skin ingredients but that is OK as I wear plenty of layers of serums and moisturizers underneath. I watched Lisalisad1 apply this as a primer by rubbing it in and then applying mineral powder over it but this method looks horrible on me - cakey and too obvious. I pat it in with my fingers and then sheer it out with a Beauty Blender. I also like to use the Enprani Face Pat device - this makes the CC Cream seamlessly blend into my skin. Never found a brush that works with this CC Cream.

Bought in HK for HKD160 (about USD21). Already repurchased once but won't do so again. I am over these multi-purpose creams and prefer to use proper skincare and just mix some foundation into a moisturizer if I want a sheer finish.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/15/2013 4:40:00 AM More reviews by champagnestars74

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I bought last year but never used it because I found it a little too dark on me. I have the one in pink tube. However, I got a tan this summer and none of my foundations were a good match so I dug this out from my stash... incredible. This looks so natural on me and goes on really creamy. Oil control is excellent - perfect for summer and even for a beach vacation. The only downside is the scent, which I am not a big fan of, but it does fade away really quickly so I still give this a perfect score. Will repurchase due to effective product and affordable price point.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/24/2013 2:05:00 AM More reviews by jasminetx

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

PROS:
- not cakey
- medium buildable coverage
- no irritations
- mineral ingredients
- travel and purse friendly
- hygienic squeeze tube
- long lasting, non greasy

CONS:
- on the pricey side
- can be difficult to find

For a reference I am NC25 Mac, Chanel 30, Revlon Sand Biege and I use the pink tube for Rachel K CC.

WILL I REPURCHASE:
Yes. I finished one tube and went on to try the highly raved Missha BB Cream, but the color was too unnatural for my Caucasian skin. I have now returned to using Rachel K and will continue to use it until I find a better BB or CC Cream .

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 6/21/2013 12:48:00 AM More reviews by Matillyrose

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This would have to be THE worst CC cream I have ever tried.

I paid $39 and received a 30g tube which felt very light. I squeezed the whole lot out into a measuring cup and there was just over 15g of product in the tube. That equates to $13 a teaspoon.

On application it was cakey and gave me no coverage at all and I mean absolutely none. In fact my skin looked worse than when it was bare. The next morning I discovered I had broken out in spots and three days later I was still waiting for them to go away.

I NEVER break out in spots this is the first time I have reacted negatively to a skin product.

There are some great Asian creams out there, please don't waste your time or money on this one.

Thankfully I could return it and get my money back.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/18/2013 4:53:00 AM More reviews by Jenys

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am an Asian with oily skin, living in a four seasons country. I decided to try it because of the hoo-ha it had created in Asia and USA. I bought the black tube. The packaging is very nice. The words on the tube is even nicer! It says, 'colour control, oil control, whitening, brightening, moisturizing and UV protection with SPF 35. AND waterproof, smudge-proof!!' That's exactly what I need!

But it's very wrong after three tries. Why?

(1) It's NOT smudge-proof nor waterproof;

(2) After an hour, my face turned very oily. Oily enough to deep fried 15 pieces of chicken wing. No, I am not kidding.

(3) It made me breakout.

(4) After an hour, my face was so full of oil that I had to use a soft tissue to gently tab away the oil. After tabbing, my face (especially my T-zone) had patches, cakey. Even I tabbed it in such a gentle way and I did not even fold the tissue. So only used the very thin part to tab my face.

I guess maybe this product is not meant for oily skin. I strongly DO NOT recommend this to people who have oily skin.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/2/2013 1:15:00 PM More reviews by lindsayeileen

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

I have to disagree with the review below. I've been using the Rachel K CC Cream for about a year and while some of what the reviewer below stated is true, I think it's to be expected. For example, the paleness and gray cast is common in a lot of Asian BB and CC creams. I use it either mixed in with my foundation or as a primer and it works fine that way. I love the fact that it has SPF in it and does not look cakey so I can easily layer foundation on top. I do tend to get oily when using this cream but that's because I have oily skin to begin with. The product starts out matte for me and oil does eventually break through but that happens with every face product I've ever used. I think some people simply want some sort of unrealistic miracle product that doesn't exist. I don't dispute the fact that the reviewer below doesn't like the product, however, it may just not work for their particular skin type and they should not start throwing accusations around about fake reviews (though it would be really disappointing if it turns out to be true). While this is not some be all/end all product for me, I do think it has great qualities that many people would appreciate. Best of all, it does not break me out!

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No