July 31, 2014 | 1278 users online

BB Cream - Mentholatum - Sun Play Skin Aqua BB Cream SPF 25 PA++



image 0image 1

rated 4.2(10 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/29/2013 12:55:00 PM More reviews by lisa7788

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

So far, this is my favorite BB Cream. The coverage is just right, and the shade is perfect for my skin. It goes on smoothly & I don't look "made up" when I wear it! It lasts all day and looks very natural. I will definitely repurchase!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/18/2013 3:00:00 PM More reviews by Caramel_Apples

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I've been experiencing a bout of dry skin recently (see my review of Tretinoin Cream 0.025%) and the "moisture" version of this BB has saved me this past month. I suffered peeling skin, and makeup would only make that more visible. Any foundation/BB cream except this one, which leaves my skin smooth and hydrated for the full work day. It has great coverage for any red marks, dullness, or discoloration. SPF27 is a bonus, but I wouldn't go out for a day in the sun with this alone.

edit 7/20/2013: I just repurchased this, and the formula has changed. They upgraded from SPF27 to SPF35, which seems to have given the BB a sort of vaguely floral, sunscreen smell. I'm not a fan of this smell, but added SPF is nice.

Trying a few other foundations has really shown me how great this is, which led me to almost consider it my HG foundation. But unfortunately, the color of this has been altered. It used to match me perfectly, but now it's noticeably too dark. I'm still giving it 5/5 because I think it's a fantastic product, but I don't think I'll buy again unless I tan.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/10/2011 12:39:00 AM More reviews by original

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this BB cream but does NOT work for NC30 skin. :(
I even tried to put powder over this but makes my skin look like the color of death...a dead dull grey undertone when I am in the sun. I am stuck with about less than half package left and mix it with another colored foundation I currently use (Covergirl Natureluxe). Even with mixing this, i have to be careful not to put too much b/c the grey tone somehow takes over the Covergirl. I'd say less than 1:3 ratio.
Overall, it is a good bb cream tough if you are the 'right' shade. It is light, not greasy at all even in FL weather. smell is like baby powder and not overwhelming as some BB creams out there. This BB cream doesnt seem to oxidize properly for me.
For color, would give a one star. I give it a sympathetic 3 stars b/c it's a good product if you have correct skin color for it and nice texture.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/9/2011 9:11:00 PM More reviews by DrZoidberg

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have tried a few BB Creams and this one is by far my favourite. I have the "Silky" one for oily skin and I just love this so much. After being dissatisfied with recent liquid foundation purchases lately, I rediscovered this in my stash and now I am wondering why I strayed.


I love:
== the shade match. Perfect on my NC20 skin tone.
== the consistency. It's easy to blend and it is neither too thick nor too thin.
== the coverage. I don't like heavy coverage in my foundation. I like something between light and medium. I'd classify this as medium but you can make it lighter in coverage if you use lotion on your skin first.
== good oil control and staying power. As a reviewer mentioned below, this lasts very well. Probably because it's designed for an Asian market (think warm, humid climates). Yes I still get some shine after a good 4-5 hours, but I don't get that horrible patchiness when a foundation breaks down. It's awesome!
== SPF 25 protection. I don't wear this all over my face - I wear a separate sunscreen everywhere except my t-zone but then apply this BB Cream to the t-zone. It protects sufficiently but if I were out in the sun, I'd be sure to wear a hat as well. :)
== practical, elegant packaging. Nice white plastic squeezy tube with silver lid. Ideal for travel.
== a little goes a long way! A tube lasts forever.



I hate
== um... nothing really. Maybe the fact that I have to get this online. It's not available in Australia.



If you have problem skin like mine - oily, a bit sensitive sometimes, acne prone, dermatitis prone - and you're fair, you MUST try this. It's just fantastic. Just be sure to choose the Silky version, not the other one. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/24/2011 6:59:00 PM More reviews by Missingpieces

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm pretty new with bb creams. Just started learning about them last month. I've read so many review about all types of bb cream. But I've decided to get started with this one. What can I say about this product? Do I love it or hate it?

It might be too early to say this, but I didn't break out from this after 4 times of use. I have dry, sensitive skin and it didnt made my skin cakey. The scent is almost like baby powder. Very light scent. Packaging is alright. Nothing too fancy. Oil control good for 4 hours. I forgot to mention that I have oily T zone too.

My only disappointment is that it's too light for me. I can't wear this alone. I have to put blush and probably a darker shade of setting powder so this bb cream will make sense on my face! haha! Does that even make sense? What I mean is that like other bb cream review, it's the white cast, I look look like a walking zombie if it wasnt for a little lipstick on my lips. Im new to describing skin shades so I don't know if Im a N300 or 400 :) But for compact, I usually pick natural beige. And since summer is on it's merry way, I will be even darker.

But all in all, I like this bb cream, maybe will wait for winter since it's very moisturizing as well. I got the silky version of this btw. I will try other bb cream. A lot of people gave up on bb cream because it's hard to find a perfect match. But, it's too early for me to give up. My curiosity for this bb cream ends here.......

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/16/2011 8:48:00 AM More reviews by bennodalove

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse Eyes: Green

For reference I am an NC20 with yellow undertones with normal-combo sensitive skin.


PACKAGING: Simple, practical and hygienic. It comes in a plain white tube with no pump dispenser, you have to squeeze it out. You get 40g.


FEATURES: The MOISTURE version (designed for normal/dry skin) contains spf 27 whereas the SILKY version (designed for combo/oily skin) contains spf 25. This BB cream claims to be a moisturizer, concealer, foundation, skin whitening and anti-aging product, plus provide oil control.


COLOUR MATCH: BB creams are notoriously difficult to find a perfect colour match with. Some BB creams I've tried have made me look grey, pink, orange...this one has a *slight* grey cast but it's not that noticeable. Pretty neutral-beige in colour without obvious yellow or pink tones. It cancels out the yellow undertone in my skin well. I'd only recommend for NC15-25 at a push.


APPLICATION AND COVERAGE: It blends very easily on my skin, although it can emphasize dry flakes if you don't moisturize beforehand. I apply 2 layers for optimum coverage as I have freckles on my nose that I hate and some blemishes on my chin and cheek area. 1 layer gives light coverage, 2 gives medium. Doesn't look thick or cakey at all. Evens out my skintone, diminishes redness. The BB cream is neither thick nor liquid in texture and does not feel heavy on my skin. It makes my skin look brighter and whiter (not geisha white though).


LASTING POWER: As with all BB creams I've tried, the lasting power is great. It doesn't budge throughout the day (I don't even set with powder) and I don't have to touch-up. Even once the oil does start breaking through (about 6 hours later, only on my nose area), the BB cream itself does not budge. I have combo skin but find the moisture version still controls oil too. I opted for the moisture version as I think the silky version contains a bit of alcohol, which usually irritates my skin.


BREAKOUTS/IRRITATION: I have very sensitive and breakout-prone skin but this BB cream doesn't break me out or irritate my skin.

So overall I do like it and would probably repurchase. Great for everyday wear.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/9/2010 2:30:00 PM More reviews by bobbob616

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought the Silky one for my oily skin.


PROS
- it doesn't break me out
- offers a light coverage but can be built up
- blends in easily
- claims to be a magical cream that offers whitening, UV protection, oil control, hydrating and functions of a foundation.
- a little goes a long way
- evens out skin tone
- tiny nozzle to prevent too much from being squeezed out



CONS
- comes in one shade
- the shade can be too light if applied a little too much
- it cab get heavy if applied too much (as opposed to Esthemed's BB cream)
- doesn't control oil as well as it claims


COMMENTS
- use a stippling brush to stipple (NOT in a circular motion) to get that airbrush effect
- set it with loose/transluscent powder if your skin is oily
- I've been using this almost everyday for the past 2 months and I haven't seen any whitening effects yet (although my mom swears by Esthemed's BB cream and says it's lightened her dark spots)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/8/2010 9:24:00 PM More reviews by stargazer_lily

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Mentholatum is one of my favourite Japanese sunscreen brands so I was very excited to see them release a BB Cream. It comes in 2 versions: Silky and Moisture. Moisture is geared towards normal/dry skintypes while Silky is designed for oily skin. My skin gets quite oily so this review is for the Silky one.



BB Creams are not new but they are not as popular outside Asia. They were developed initially in Korea for post laser-surgery patients. They aim to provide healing skincare benefits, sun protection and foundation coverage. Some also have whitening properties. Most come in only 1-2 shades and are supposed to blend into your skintone. From my experience though, they best suit fair skintypes from about NC15 to NC25.


The 2 big advantages of using Mentholatum Silky BB Cream is that, (1) it is a great all-in-one product which saves you time (and possibly money as well), and (2) it means you apply fewer skincare products which is a positive thing for oily, acne-prone skin types.



Mentholatum's Silky BB Cream is a nice shade match for my fair, NC20 skin. It has a creamy texture and blends in readily. I actually like to combine this with my Avene Cleanance Antishine Regulating Lotion which sheers it out slightly. (I prefer light coverage on my oily skin). But if you use it alone, expect good, medium coverage from this.



This contains SPF25 PA++ - not the most amazing sun protection but decent. I wouldn't rely on this for protection while spending time outdoors but it is quite acceptable for me to wear most days to the office.



The greatest thing about this BB Cream is its oil control properties and its amazing staying power. Many foundations fail me because my skin gets oily and this wrecks the finish - but not Silky BB Cream. Once I set this with powder, I can get about 5-6 hours out of it before I do need to blot. But once I blot, the finish remains perfect - no patchiness, no foundation breakdown!



Fragrance is kept to an absolute minimum in this product which is great. I bought this on eBay for just under USD$20 and you get a reasonable quantity of 40g. Packaging is an attractive, practical white tube with silver lid. I will definitely repurchase as this is very close to being HG status. Easy 5 lippies from me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/28/2010 8:48:00 PM More reviews by azraelle

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Well... as far as I know, this BB cream is avaiable in two editions. Donīt know about the colour shades, but there are definitely two versions of this BB cream. One is called "silky" and is recommended for oily skin and the other one is "moisture" which is for normal to dry skin.

This BB cream contains arbutin which is very popular among the japanese/korean cosmetics as itīs a skin whitening ingredient and it protects the skin from free radiacals. So this BB cream is anti-aging, oil-controling and skin-whitening.
I bought the "silky"-version, as I have very oily to acne-prone skin, on ebay for something around 20$ for 40 g to give it a try as I like to change BB creams daily so my skin doesnīt get used to it. Everytime my skin gets used to something it somehow starts to reject it, so I use like 3 or 4 types BB creams and I pick anotherone every day. This comes it a simple white squeezetube with a sliver cap. Pity that itīs not with a pump, but I can live without it.
As I squeezed the cream out, I thought itīs way too dark, but as I applied it, it somehow addapted to my skintone (which is something about NC10) and looked really good in the end. The coverage is about medium and it doesnīt look cakey. On hot days I set this with powder. Also you shouldnīt overdo it, cause a small amount is enough to cover the whole face. The oil control of this BB cream rocks! We had a really humid weather these days so it was a good chance to test this product and even at 31°C and sick air humidity this didnīt run down my face or looked cakey and my face didnīt have that ugly oily shining so this is really good stuff. I only wished the SPF was higher than 25 but well... I have enough sunscreens in my stash.
Also, my skin looks flawless with this and it didnīt break me out or caused irritations. I noticed that asian (speaking about korean and japanese stuff I tried so far) products in general never caused irritations on my skin. Anyway, this is a really good oil-controlling BB cream for an affordable price and I would repurchase this again, but itīll take while as this is going to serve me for a while.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/29/2010 12:27:00 AM More reviews by Inuki

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a new BB Cream from Mentholatum's Sun Play line. If you are in Hong Kong they are giving samples away with a 60HKD+ purchase of Mentholatum sunscreen products at any Watson's. I have used two Missha BB Creams prior to this product: Shiny and the one in the dark red tube in No. 21.

The Sun Play BB Cream only comes in one color, it looked pretty dark and slightly ashy when dispensed but seems to match my complexion quite well. I am an EDM Medium-Light/NC 33. The texture is fairly lightweight and has not dried out my skin. Coverage is not as good as Missha but I find Missha to be very sticky in the humid summers in Asia. Fairly good for business trips as it cuts down primping time in the morning. One huge plus is that the Sun Play BB Cream does not transfer or rub-off as Missha's BB Creams do. Nothing more embarrassing than blotting your nose and getting BB Cream all over the tissue.

Very reasonably priced, cheaper than Missha at 130HKD

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No