August 30, 2014 | 1813 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Lustre in Syrup

rated 4.4(292 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 82% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 2/22/2012 12:37:00 AM More reviews by luna2012

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

kinda too "mauve-y" for my taste.. i expected it to be more pink..
wont buy it again..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/12/2012 12:06:00 AM More reviews by katrinaviolet

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I bought this when I was looking for a very neutral lipstick that would just enhance the natural pink of my lips (I am fair skinned- NC20- with fairly light colored lips). I kind of like the lack of strong pigmentation in this because that's what I was going for. I wanted my lips to look richer and pinker so that one might think I just have really beautiful lips but not that I was necessarily wearing makeup. May sound like a silly reason to buy a lipstick, but works for me! Very moisturizing and easy to apply without a mirror. Wears off kind of quickly, but it wears off well (not uneven/chunky/striated) which is worth it for me. I imagine this would be very nice on ladies with darker skin/lips as well and would probably show up quite nicely.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/30/2012 12:30:00 PM More reviews by surf222

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Green

This is a cool tone pinky purple sheer lipstick. Therefore I can only put this on lightly so it doesn't look too purple. This is not a long wearing lipstick as it wears off quickly. The color looks great and goes on smoothly. I would definitely repurchase this lipstick!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/27/2012 8:50:00 PM More reviews by leslieb

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Love the color but hate the formula. MAC lipsticks dry out my lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/7/2012 3:15:00 PM More reviews by misstye

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Surprisingly this suited me very well. I am slightly yellow toned using Mac - NC25 so I was expecting a more peachy coloured lipstick to suit me more. It looks great, i've got quite pigmented lips to start with so this colour enhances them and brings out a little more pink sheen. This and my slighty warmer mademoiselle coco rouge are my fave lipsticks right now. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/20/2011 1:04:00 AM More reviews by angelixia07

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is a really nice everyday shade and I'm surprised that it doesn't get more love. It's a medium mauve pink/plum shade in the lustre finish. It goes on really beautifully, more like a very tinted balm than a lipstick and doesn't impart too much color. Although the lustre formula doesn't last very long, I still really like it since it goes on so easily and is sort of moisturizing. This is one of my favorites from all my Mac l/s just because it is very versatile and easy to wear. If it lasted a tad longer, I would give it a five.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/1/2011 8:22:00 PM More reviews by Melis356

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Perfect, so soft, shiny, pretty! It's like lipgloss in lipstick form. I found the pigment to be just fine. Shiny sheer-but-opaque light muavey color. Not really much staying power, but easy to reapply without a mirror.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 11/1/2011 6:06:00 PM More reviews by XxPRINCESSAxX

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Other

The MAC website describes Syrup as "cloudy pink"
On me and my sister it's a very sheer mauve-pink shade. It's basically like a lipgloss in stick form. In my opinion, I don't think the price is justified based on the lack of pigmentation. When I bought it years ago, I swatched it on my hand and loved the color and was extremely disappointed when I tried it on and it was like shiny/clear. It can be used on top of other lipsticks, or used in addition to a lipliner, but I cannot use it on its own simply because it doesn't show up.

If you like the idea of this color but want something more pigmented, I would highly recommend NYX in Heather. It's creamier and more opaque. I would not repurchase Syrup because if I want super sheer lipgloss I'd buy that and it would be a lot cheaper. However, I can see why this would work well for those with pigmented lips.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/1/2011 9:49:00 PM More reviews by alyssa18o6

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I had some things to B2Mac and honestly i'm not a huge lipstick person. I have quite a few in my collection and from time to time do reach for them but not as much as I should. I had a list of a few lipsticks I wanted to try and decided on Syrup. I was showing a friend and when I had taken it out of the box I was kinda put off by the color in the tube and decided i'd just pass it along to my Mom. I was waiting for a job interview, and decided to try it out and fell in love. I was worried it was to "berry" for me, but it complimented my lips/skin tone very well. When I got home I was looking at it and it reminded me of something similar I already had in my collection from Revlon. I pulled out the Revlon lipstick in Lilac and matched it up and colors are very similar. Revlon's pulls a little more purple toned, then Syrup but still close enough to be a dupe. So if your looking for a cheaper alternative to MACs Syrup then i'd definitely try out Revlon's Lilac. Of course the thing that constantly sells me on MAC lipsticks is the yummy vanilla scent!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/31/2011 4:48:00 PM More reviews by QueenSharon

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

One of favorite lipsticks of all time. I love the way this looks on my NW45 complexion but I think everyone could benefit from this beautiful shade of pink/lavender/peach. At the MAC counter, I asked the MUA to pick something for me and when she reached for syrup I was hesistant because I though it would be too light but when she lined my lips with current and put this on top, I was amazed. Usually I find MAC's lustres to be too sheer and no staying power but this was an exception. In my opinion the staying power is more of a matte but the smooth soft texture reminds me of a lustre. Looks great alone, with lip pencil or a gloss. I highly recommend this versatile shade.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No