December 20, 2014 | 1474 users online

Shampoo - Palmer's - Olive Oil Formula Smoothing Shampoo



image 0

rated 4.0(23 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 69% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 10/24/2014 7:52:00 PM More reviews by claudia1702

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Ugh this is one of the worst shampoos that I have ever had the misfortune of using on my dry, frizzy hair. This stuff did not moisturize my hair at all and it left my hair a tangly mess that even following up with the matching conditioner was hard to detangle after shower. And the frizz. My gawd, the frizz was terrible! It was the worst frizz I've ever experienced in my life. So long story short, this stuff is murder to my hair. Also, this shampoo is not cheap in my country. 15 dollars per bottle. That's 15 bucks down the drain, both literally and figuratively speaking. I don't know why this works wonders on other people's hair. Mine is the sulphate-free version.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/24/2014 3:17:00 PM More reviews by HeartofanElephant

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I was recommended by a friend to try olive oil shampoo because she found that it worked really well for her hair and highly recommended it. So, I decided to try it and hoped for the best. I was, however, quite disappointed. This shampoo wasn't anything particularly special and really didn't do anything to my hair.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/4/2014 6:55:00 AM More reviews by egilsdottir

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Palmer's Olive Oil shampoo and conditioner are both on my list of top drugstore beauty products.

I'm growing my hair out, and am very picky about the products I use on it. My hair is naturally straight, fine and is color-treated every 8 weeks.

I tried this shampoo and the matching conditioner on a whim, and was very impressed with the results. My hair was soft, bouncy and shiny.

This is not a shampoo that I would use every day, because of buildup. I have a whole arsenal of shampoos and conditioners that I alternate to avoid buildup/product fatigue. I use this shampoo whenever it looks like my hair is getting too dry and/or frizzy. I'd absolutely recommend this shampoo and the matching conditioner to anyone - I think it would work on just about any hair type.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/27/2014 8:36:00 PM More reviews by GMJAG

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Neutral Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I was quite skeptical about buying this shampoo to be honest. I recently had a new hairdresser cutting my hair and she recommended this shampoo to me. It was under $5 at Wal-Mart and OMG . Its amazing. Let me just add, I have fine hair, but a lot of it. It's very easily damaged and I am not ethnic. Surprisingly, this didn't weigh my hair down, it lathers well, the smell isn't the best but it makes my hair look nice so I have no complaints. Out of dozens of shampoos ranging from the cheapest of the cheap to super expensive ones, this is my favorite and I will continue to buy it. I have long hair and normally, I have an unbearable amount of split ends despite the fact that I rarely use heat on my hair. I think this product has had a part in keeping my hair moisturized and in better condition during these dry cold winter months. I will continue using this product and when pool season comes around I hope this product will continue to save my hair! Totally recommend

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/14/2014 10:55:00 AM More reviews by alovelispell

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite shampoo of all time. I have naturally curly hair and this shampoo and conditioner softens abs defrizzes it like no other. It's definitely a holy grail for this curly girl.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/14/2014 8:48:00 AM More reviews by gxnxsissss

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

It's a lovely olive scent, a gel like formula but not jello like. It's green too which I find adorable lol & so is the cabellina shampoo I mention.

LOL NEXT

I've done everything too my hair. Bleach. Heat. Dye. Bad haircuts & I'm nourishing it back to health. My hair IS relaxed, but I'm Puerto Rican/Dominican. Naturally silky. Fried now. This is crucial! First I wash my hair with my cabellina rosemary chili shampoo, then this. This leaves my hair smooth, soft, silky, just amazing (all still in the shower). I honestly do recommend this, it leaves your hair light, bouncy, clean & silky. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 11/14/2013 2:50:00 AM More reviews by NicoleTMY

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got this as it said to remove product build up and I hoped it would cleanse my scalp. It was just okay and my scalp felt itchy sometimes after use. I would not buy this again

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/16/2013 6:21:00 PM More reviews by lilshaxter

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've been using this shampoo and conditioner for about a year now.
I'll give you a brief history on what I did to my hair. You can skip this if you want, but if you have the same symptoms that I describe then you may want to keep reading. I am of Middle Eastern descent and so I have wavy black hair that can sometimes get frizzy. I had bleached a good portion of my hair and so my ends were dry and frizzled even though I used treatments. I had then dyed my hair black twice to get my original hair colour. My hair did not like this at all. My ends were super dry even with product and my hair was breaking. A lot of it fell out. I then tried an organic shampoo because I figured my hair had enough of the chemicals. Bad idea. I tried the organix shampoo and I think my scalp had an allergic reaction to it. It was so itchy. So on top of all the other things, my scalp felt like it had fire ants in it whenever I washed it.
Then my friend recommended the nourishing properties of olive oil.
I purchased the Palmers brand at first (thank God because I tried the Organix olive oil conditioner later on and I found it lacking).
I didn't notice much of a change initially except that my scalp didn't burn, which was probably because I stopped using the other shampoo. I got a hair cut and using this shampoo over time made my hair look so much better than it did before I bleached it. It was light, shiny, and a little more voluminous. I don't have thin hair but it didn't weigh it down nor make it poofy. Of course I used this in conjunction with the conditioner, but I also deep conditioned my hair about 1x every 1-2 weeks.
I love this shampoo. It makes my hair look healthy, lathers well, and actually cleans my hair. I wash my hair about every 3 or 4 days. I've tried other shampoos wherein I've had to wash my hair the next day - such a bother.
Because I don't wash my hair that often, the shampoo ended up lasting me quite a while. Even so, at $10 a bottle, I wouldn't say it's the cheapest. Also, a note for Canadian guys and gals is that I can only find this at Walmart and haven't seen it on sale or else I'd stock up. I've checked Shoppers, grocery stores, beauty supply outlet, Rexall and none of them carry this brand.
The packaging is green and although it's not the cutest, it doesn't really matter to me as long as I'm not wasting product.
One thing that people might consider a con is the smell. I personally don't mind it. It smells like a clean plant. However, when my sister smells my hair she can't stand it. My advice is to open the lid and take a whiff before you purchase it, in case it's something that really bothers you.
Overall, I'm super happy with this product and will continue repurchasing because it hasn't failed me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/20/2013 12:08:00 PM More reviews by elfriede

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I was looking for a shampoo that was gentle, had some good oil in it (my discontinued favorite had avocado oil), and was free of sulfates and silicones. I have Caucasian hair that is wavy and very frizzy. Sulfates = poofy-fried-witchy-poo hair. Silicones = greasy hair and scalp zits. This is working out well. The first day I noticed some improvement, and my hair is softer, shinier, and stronger than it was a month ago. At first I thought it left my scalp too oily, but so far, no zits--my scalp feels healthy. Not loving the scent, but it is light and clean, and doesn't linger much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/29/2013 12:12:00 AM More reviews by ChloeYoung

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Pretty decent shampoo for dry hair. Foams very well and the scent is not so chemical. Not sure if it is organic or not, I am almost through a bottle and my hair seems to like it. But I won't repurchase for a while because the olive oil formula may be too oily for higher temperature

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No