July 28, 2014 | 1105 users online

Lips - Laura Mercier - Lip Stain in Shy Pink



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.8(31 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 67% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 1/29/2013 9:37:00 PM More reviews by alise1968

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Pretty color but very, very drying once on the lips. It is a matte, light pink (not glossy at all) which gives a natural look, which I like, but it is just too drying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/1/2013 6:37:00 PM More reviews by lunalove

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I like this, it is a warm pink that I like as a neutral lip (MLBB?) to some smoky eyes or an everyday work look.
It is like a mostly matte lipstick, and it does come in a glass pot that you have to already have a lipstick brush for as it doesnt come with one.
I dont have the same drying problems that others seem to have with this. I line my lips and fill them in with LM plumberry lip liner and then top it off with this stain in shy pink, using a lip brush. This combination lasts me half the day, after which I just swipe on a non sticky, non slippery lip balm and then top off again with shy pink.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/26/2011 10:51:00 AM More reviews by underage

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

As others have said, this is more of a lipstick in a pot. The color is similar to my natural color but still looks nice. The formula is very drying. Even with a balm underneath it's very dry. Doesn't sink into my fine lines but I'm only 21 so there isn't many. It tends to get on my teeth a lot, which is weird for a "stain". Probably wouldn't purchase again due to price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/20/2011 11:29:00 PM More reviews by STACEYFFF

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

This is a good neutral, warm-ish pink. It's too similar in color and finish to my natural lips to really keep this, though. I didn't observe this product to stain my lips either. It was a near-matte lipstick in a jar.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/24/2011 1:24:00 PM More reviews by misscurlylocks

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Looks great when you see it online as single colours but is far from how it looks. It is very sheap looking adn is very unatural and shimmery. I have both the sugar violet and the mulberry which have shimmmer in them and it looks like marketstall stuff. The typical Laura Mercier pacaking plain and simple in a pot which is a nice size it really just doesnt have the texture of the balm that I was expecting. I was unimpressed and didnt find it moisturising. I am an avid lip balm fan and love colourful tints but I expect them to be moisturising and too look natural and minimal and this did nothing that I wanted. It left a stain behind on my lips which was glittery and cheap. I really dilike this stuff and it is overpriced. I do like other products ni this range and find them to be quality but on this occasion this is not like the quality of this brand and I definately expect a lto better for the price I am paying for this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/31/2010 3:37:00 PM More reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

PROS: Color was very similar on the lips as it was in the package. Just a hint of frost to it. Natural on me, and I'm a N15, leaning toward NC. Felt good on the lips for a stain; didn't dry me out.


CONS: Some people won't like that it's in a pot. Doesn't come with a brush.



2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 10/29/2010 9:33:00 PM More reviews by emodel

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

So I loved the color on me, really nice toned down pink. BUT the product is soooo drying, it sits in all the lines on your lip, it is terrible! I tried to use a lipbalm under it (Burts B. and also the expensive Dr.Hauschka!) but nothing helped. I think I just stick to my Estee L.lipsticks, those I really like, they are creamy and moisturizing, never dry, not like this one. I thought I had a perfect product, I didn`t mind the jar and the application, but it is so drying, shows all the lines on your lip! :-(

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/26/2010 9:17:00 AM More reviews by sherbyham

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

I've tried quite a few soft pink coloured lipsticks and somehow they don't quite work for me. Either they washed me out or somehow made me look rather dull or turned out too 'baby-doll. This is one of those rare finds which brighten up my face with understated chic. Add a tiny blob of gloss and you are done. Even my usually reticent hubby commented it looked nice. The tub doesn't bother me at all, I find it quite fun dabbing my lipbrush in it and painting my lips in such wearable pink. The price ah..... this LM baby costs almost $32 here in Singapore. But because I love it so much and probably use every bit of it, the price is something I'll take it in my stride.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/15/2010 4:02:00 PM More reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

PROS: Color was very similar on the lips as it was in the package. Just a hint of frost to it. Natural on me, and I'm a N15, leaning toward NC. Felt good on the lips for a stain; didn't dry me out.


CONS: Some people won't like that it's in a pot. Doesn't come with a brush.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/21/2010 4:30:00 PM More reviews by jackontherocks

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

Really like this for an everyday alternative to lipstick. I'm not a fan of applying lipstick and fussing with it or retouching, so this is nice... it goes on as a lipstick but leaves a nice stain afterwards. I find it more moisturizing than most lipsticks.

I think you def have to use a brush with this, so that's sort of annoying for a stain... I'm used to the markers or gels that you just glide on!

I'm NC25 and it works well in winter... can see it also working in summer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No