August 30, 2014 | 1695 users online

Cleansers - La Roche Posay - Effaclar Purifying Gel Cleanser



image 0image 1

rated 3.7(201 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/25/2014 4:06:00 PM More reviews by hippolyte93

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

this thing is absolutely one of my fave products of all time...very suitable for my very oily AND sensitive skin....my face feels very clean and pure of all oils and makeup without hurting it or causing redness ...just apply in circular motion and enjoy the magic ;)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/24/2014 6:10:00 PM More reviews by Katy2404

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

This was so awful for me! My face is oily so I wanted something to help with this. Even on my oily skin this completely stripped my skin! It stinks so bad and is really harsh! My face was so tight and sore after using it, how anyone with sensitive skin could use this is beyond me!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/12/2014 6:01:00 PM More reviews by debaser94

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I hated using this. It make my skin feel so stripped of all moisture, and after a while it started to make skin feel so hot after using it. Didn't help with breakouts. It's a harsh product, I would advise against it if you're sensitive but otherwise get a sample first. It's probably okay if you've got extremely oily skin and it's in no way dehydrated.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/3/2014 5:07:00 PM More reviews by staywithjohanna

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

This is probably the best cosmetic product I have ever used- it has literally saved my skin that used to be blemishy and pimply. I have been using this and the Effaclar Duo+ moisturiser for about four weeks now and my skin has never looked or felt better. I am so happy I decided to try this product. It is kind of on the pricy side but considering how much it has improved my skin, I will most definitely buy it over and over again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/2/2014 12:26:00 PM More reviews by bettyspaceage

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this because I thought it would help my acne prone skin but I was so very wrong! after one use it broke me out even more! I'm returning this as soon as I find the receipt.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/24/2014 5:48:00 PM More reviews by sebas2314

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This cleanser is amazing!! I've only used it for about a week but I can say that it has really helped my acne. I have moderate to severe acne and decided to try this out. It is pretty expensive costing 30 bucks were I live but the bottle is pretty big. So far, it has cleared out ALL my cystic acne on my cheeks except for one and has really evened out my skin tone!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/25/2014 9:47:00 PM More reviews by BGutwein

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I found this at a local CVS. I was walking around looking for Garnier's new Charcoal face wash/mask and stumbled across the La Roche Posay line. I have literally never heard of it before. Before buying, I came to Makeup Alley to check out fellow posters reviews of the product. The majority loved it, with a few whom did not. Majority won me over and I figured, I not only had a coupon, but our local CVS has a 100% return policy, so I figured, return it if is sucks. Used it the afternoon I purchased it and loved it. Have used it for over 3 weeks now and it is really the only cleanser I am using. Acne has cleared up, no new flare ups, lessing of red spots (cheeks and post acne marks) and the overall clarity of my skin improved. I tried using the Effaclar K and Effaclar Duo with this and hated those two products. I simply use this cleanser and am out the door. Mascara and lip balm only...perhaps a little blush or bronzer. No more full face makeup - foundation or concealer.

I have been trying to go minimalist for YEARS, but my skin was just not where I wanted it to be without makeup. I now feel I can leave the house with bare minimum and feel awesome.

Give it a try and see what happens. I simply love this product. Simplicity in a bottle. Price is a little high, but with the larget bottle and the great lather, this easily lasts 3-5 months. Worth the money.

I know some people said this cleanser was "breaking them out", but if you are using this in conjunction with another product, it could be a reaction from the other product. This product can be a little drying if over used, but adding another product on top of it, could be overkill. I no longer find I need to use additional serums or spot treatments with this. I gave it a week without using any additional products and noticed clarity improve drastically. Sometimes using more products than needed can highly affect skin. Certain ingredients do not "play" nicely with each other.

I am impressed with this product and would recommend it to my friends. would repurchase in a heartbeat.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/22/2014 2:51:00 PM More reviews by Blssflsea

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

My husband has been using this for over a year and has had fabulous luck keeping his skin clear of blemishes. When I ran out of my Korres foaming milk cleanser I used at night, I switched to this. I am absolutely thrilled with it. My skin looks wonderful. It doesn't dry my skin out, even though I would say my skin is normal/dry. And, best of all, it has cleared the blackheads off of my nose. No other cleanser has successfully done that. I use it only in the evening. In the morning, I use Sunday Riley Ceramic Cleanser which is milder. I think the price point is quite fair for the amount of product I receive. Plus, we use so little with each wash, it lasts a long time.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/1/2014 8:52:00 PM More reviews by Dej

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

This is the KEY to clear skin for blemish prone people! It is great for sensitive skin as well and gently cleanses while purifying the skin preventing future breakouts as well as shrinking existing ones. THROW out your clean and clear and proactive solution people, it is WAY too harsh and I wouldn't even use it on the thickest acneic skins! I am a BA and sell this constantly and it changes peoples skin; pore size, break outs, brightness ect. Dermatologist recommended and highly effective. Also great value for $25 in the HUGE blue pump! Only buy that format if you're sensitive!! Do not use on eyes and make sure you hydrate adequately after use! Your skin will produce more oil to compensate for dehydration if you don't hydrate it!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/29/2014 11:06:00 AM More reviews by intanina

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Been using this for almost a year. Pretty satisfied. It's a little expensive but it lasts me for months.

Is this review helpful? Yes No