Essence Longlasting Lipstick (All)

4.4

46 reviews

91% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/21/2015 1:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have the colors Coral Calling and Natural Beauty and I'm enjoy the colors and the finish. It is matte and can dry out the lips but I have come up with a way to make it work.
I find that applying a light layer of lip balm then blott off the excess with a tissue paper, apply the lip stick and then seal with lip balm again. The color is more vibrant, lasts longer and doesn't look flakey.
When I used the lipstick alone, it looked dry and flakey. But given the price, the nice packing it is quite nice and I would like to purchase more shades :)



on 5/16/2015 8:44:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have this in three shades: natural beauty, love me, and coral calling. My favourite one is natural beauty. Coral calling simply did not look good on me and I don't prefer the way love me looks either (though I get many compliments when I wear it) However, natural beauty is one of my favourite lipsticks. It is such an easy shade to wear on an every-day basis. I think the packaging of these lipsticks are quite sleek (especially for the price). I will most likely be buying more shades in the future.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this at Shoppers Drug Mart in Toronto - I was looking for a dupe for MAC's Up the Amp, which is my signature shade. I found Essence "Wear Berries" lipstick and it's just gorgeous. Not a 100 percent dupe for my MAC but gorgeous all the same and wearable for all occasions - work, gym, night out - you name it. Plus it was on sale at $2.50 Cdn or some ridiculous price like that - I bought all five that were available in the store. I have never purchased Essence before but for this price, this quality - well, hello HG makeup line!


on 4/25/2015 1:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have initially done a review for this raving the lipstick but i decide to delete off all that review and retype a new one here again because i seriously dislike it now. I don't know what happen but now i know why after reading the bad review, i thought there are still quality in lower end cosmetic product but obviously this is not!

This lipstick dries my lip out like no other even when i put on my lip balm first and then apply the lipstick and it cause peeling and flaking the very next day and i need to use alot of lip balm to finally recover my lip to good condition. No more Essence lipstick for me. I've used better quality at a slightly expensive price tag and would rather pay more than end up having drying and peeling lip all around. What is the ingredient that causes this? Even when NYX lipstick was just 0.99 back then when i use them, it doesn't even do this to my lip. Essence, it's time to improve your lipstick formulation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2015 5:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

- Super cheap, 2.50 euro (can't really go wrong with that)
- The shades are great, more natural rather than too bold.
- They won't last you all day, but if you don't eat/drink/bite your lips they will last for quite a few hours without the need to re-apply.
- They have a nice creamy,moisturising feeling without being too heavy on the lips.

I currently own
- Barely There which I usually match with the Satin Mauve lip liner.
- Dare to be Nude which I pair with in the Nude and could add the XXXL nude lipgloss in 06 Soft Almond.
-Nude Love, but i find it too pink for my tastes, it doesn't look good on me at all so that was a miss.

I absolutely love Dare to be Nude, since I prefer nude colours but both lipsticks are nice. I would also like to purchase Coral Calling.

I find that the lipsticks look much better and last longer with the lipliners unerneath but I guess that goes for any lipstick.

Overall, I am really fond of Essence's lipsticks/lipliners/lipglosses and would definitely repurchase as their price is also amazing.


on 4/16/2015 8:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So far I've "Barely There" & "Oh So Matt!". I've light-med brown skin depending on the time of yr. At 1st I was a bit apprehensive about "Oh So Matt" looking like foundation-lips, however it actually looks fine on its own. I do however use it over my Bobbi Brown no. 4, MAC Taupe or sometimes I mix the Barely There & Oh So Matt together & get a lovely color result. At 1st the Oh So Matt made my lips peel like crazy if I wore it alone... After about a wk or so & especially as a little top coat to others that stopped. As for the Barely There, I find that moisturizing. It's such a lovely almost nude yet very slight purple (my lips naturally almost have a purple undertone). Reminds me of the way my Revlon "Mauvy Night" looks but not as dark or pronounced a purple. They're also opaque & not patchy. Barely There is creamy too. I'm shocked that such a decent quality product is only $3.40 CAD on sale at Shoppers Drug Mart. They don't really last more then 3 hours, but almost pleasant enough & quick to re-apply anyways. I really like that I can mix them both with other lip products I have as well. I now want to try more in the series & hope they do NOT discontinue anytime soon! I was not really fond of their other line (the ones where the color of the tube was the color you'd get) but this line I adore :)


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've got this lipstick in 5 colors. Barely There and Natural Beauty (my favs), Nude Love, Dare to Wear, and On The Catwalk. Overall, these are great lipsticks that are very moisturizing, creamy, extremely pigmented, true-to-color, non-smelly (has absolutely no smell. A+!), and wallet friendly ($2.99!). I can't find anything wrong with theses little beauties. When you find a product that performs like this for the price it is, you hoard it before everyone realizes how great it is! I am a huge fan of this product by Essence, and I look forward to exploring other products in their line. Very nicely done, Essence. :)

UPDATE: I ordered 4 from Ulta.com which is the only place aside from eBay (asking @ $9+!) I could find them. I managed to snag 4 online at Ulta before they are almost completely sold out. They are going fast, so if you aren't near an Ulta like me, and you want a color or 2, I suggest you hurry! Let's hope they restock!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/8/2015 3:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just adore these lipstick! They are my favorite ones above all lipsticks that I have (and I have some very expensive too :)

They are long lasting but no drying at all. They are moisturizing on the lips. Price is very aforadable for everyone.

I have a couple shades. Matte are: 14 Adorable matt! (raspberry red), 18 Matt wanted! (wine red)-These are matte but very comfortable on the lips.

Also I have: 02 All you need is red (great bright neutral red), 03 Dare to wear (medium cool red). This lipsticks you can bild up on the lips and they are so mousturizing.

My favorite shade is 04 On the catwalk which is perfect MLBB (reddish berry with brownish undertone). I just adore this shade and wear it almost every day!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2015 2:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I don't like these lipsticks. They're not expensive but they're also very cheap in terms of quality. They make my lips dry and peel. They have a synthetic smell/taste and despite their name, they are NOT long wearing at all. They aren't very pigmented either.
The only positive note is they have pretty colors. I think they could be great for a beginner or someone on a budget but for anyone that likes a good quality lipstick, they will not be happy with these.
It's a huge no for me. I gave the ones I bought to my sister.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2015 2:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has quickly become one of my favorite lipsticks. I took a chance on the shades "Oh So Matt" and "Nude Love" I thought they'd be too light & possibly make me look dead but they are really nice nudes. I prefer Nude Love because it's creamier & somewhat sheer. On my pigmented lips, it's similar to Blankety by Mac. Oh So Matt is more of a satin finish, not overly drying. I also have "Barely There" which is a darker nude-reminds me of Mac's Twig. I layer Nude Love over it for a perfect mauve lip. Natural Beauty is a little too pink for my tastes. On the Catwalk is the perfect natural looking red on me. The packaging is sleek & sturdy. The caps are flat so they can be stored upside down. For $3 I'm totally in love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
191 Reviews
Provocalips
73 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated Essence Products

image

Lip Liner

53 reviews
image

Brow Designer

50 reviews
Back to Top