September 22, 2014 | 959 users online

Fragrance - Chanel - Antaeus For Men



image 0

rated 4.3(12 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 83% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 9/17/2014 1:42:00 PM More reviews by kearro

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

I bought the Antaeus 100ml Eau de Toilette for my Husband as I wanted a fragrance for him that wouldn't clash with the Coco Chanel that I wear. It's very nice on him, warm and spicy with a "traditional" masculine scent which I think suits a man in his 40s. At $92 it seems like a good value but we shall see how long the EDT lasts on his skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/7/2014 11:06:00 AM More reviews by nero77

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Very Masculine scent...

This is probably the best Chanel masculine, and one of the best masculines ever made. It's warm, woody, deep, rich, dark, smokey, animalic and sensual all at the same time!

Blends really well with the skin to give off an incredible manly, musky, testostorone-filled vibe. I wouldn't call it dirty. It's incredibly well refined and very classy. A dangerous fragrance. This may be the fragrance for the big, strong, man with the muscles... but he's wearing a tux.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/14/2013 6:27:00 PM More reviews by Kellergirl

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

Someone gifted this to my husband few weeks ago. Ugh. WAYYYYY too strong. I literally had a headache a few minutes after he put it on. Not a big Chanel fan, but this really stinks.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/30/2010 6:39:00 PM More reviews by melivore

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is one of my favourite scents for men. I think its because i have memories of my dad wearing it when he went out on a weekend all dressed up. Every time I see it in a department store, I have to spray it, just to be able to smell it. And by god can you smell it, but saying that, its not overly strong, it just lingers on the skin all day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/20/2009 6:01:00 PM More reviews by elaborate

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

People says that lavender makes women smells like men, I guess it does. Antaeus has lavender and it sure does show. I think wish it had a bit less lavender in it because then I will be able to wear it!! OK, I still wear it, but only in the comfort of my home. So, on to the fragrance, according to Chanel's website says it has citrusy notes, lavender, clary sage, patchouli, sandalwood, rockrose (labdanum), leather, and spices.

It starts with a citrusy smell - citrusy but impossible to pinpoint which fruit it is, if it's anything it's a bit like tonic water (the one for making G&T). This last just a moment and then it moves to a sandalwood/rosy phrase, it's really a sandalwood with a rose tint there is actually no real rose there. The whole bundle of spices: clary sage, patchouli, lavender are all there if you sniff close enough. The leather appears as a tar birch note here (I am guessing here, leather is still new to me) but it is unmistakably leather.

If it weren't so masculine I think it would be up the street of many perfume fans as patchouli and leather are two of the hottest notes right now given what I've read. Iris and Vetiver are popular too but I'm digressing... Anyway, to round up, go on ladies give it a spritze when you next go pass Chanel (just one it's strong)!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/14/2008 6:34:00 PM More reviews by Nixe

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Oh, how gorgeous! I want Antaeus so very badly! I wear it every time I go by the men's section of the only department store I know that still carries it.


Antaeus begins as a very dry, slightly bitter, green mossy fragrance that smells remarkably like the intoxicating Spanish moss that hangs off the branches of huge old twisted oaks in Marin county. It then develops into a *glorious* deep, warm, and dry tobacco kissed with myrrh. This is the fragrance that lingers, warm and glowing mahogany red, for days. I sprayed a blotter strip with Antaeus, and it was two weeks before the fragrance faded. It's dangerous and hypnotizing, and lures you into a calm trance before you realize you've been enslaved. It can slip, incognito, into the most conservative of situations, but it will leave a curiously strong impression. This is subtle, but very, very potent.


As soon as I can afford to buy it, I'll be spraying my closets with Antaeus. And as soon as I meet the brooding, Southern European, darkly romantic man who wears this, I'll throw all my principals (and clothes) to the wind and marry the beast.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/8/2008 9:41:00 AM More reviews by Miamore

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Ahhhh...Antaeus...the scent that makes me swoon and makes my heart ache. The first time I smelled it was when I met the man I fell in love with and should have married (and still love passionately to this day). I remember calling one of my girlfriends after being introduced to him and describing him, and emphasizing how incredibly delicious he smelled. It was heady, intoxicating, sexy but blended with his natural body chemistry perfectly-- when we were together I would close my eyes and just breathe his wonderful scent. How I loved having it rub off on my own clothes and skin so I could smell him on me when we were apart...I tried spraying it on me alone but it wasn't the same-- melding with his skin made it even more glorious.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/9/2005 1:35:00 AM More reviews by cstg

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been thinking of a clean, crisp fragrance for my BF. Thought of this because my dad used to wear it a long time ago. It is a really sexy fragrance for men. However, not quite sure it's right for my BF since he's British educated and not exactly the same personality as my dad, who had a sex appeal - smart - and suave. Not that BF isn't some of those things, it's just it's not the same. Anyhow, this is a wonderful fragrance for men, recommend it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/25/2004 5:43:00 PM More reviews by Alicina

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My boyfriend wears this and he is literally the first person who has ever stumped me with his fragrance. I think that you definitely have to have the body chemistry to pull this one off--he's of Italian descent, with dark hair and eyes, and tan skin--it could easily overwhelm someone with the wrong chemistry. However, on him it dries down to a soft, powdery but manly scent that's very confident and extremely appealing. This is now by far my favorite men's fragrance out there; from time to time I'll spray some on and it does something entirely different on me. A real Chanel masterpiece; it's complex, passionate and refined. Just like my man! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/17/2004 6:00:00 AM More reviews by LaFif

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

OK-I'm a Chanel-aholic for fragrance. However, my DH wears this-the only fragrance he wears that I can't stand. I'm not quite sure why, but it turns my stomach. So surprising for me, since I love all things Chanel.

Is this review helpful? Yes No