September 18, 2014 | 1021 users online

Treatments (Face) - Skin effects by Dr. Jeffrey Dover - Glycolic Peel Kit

no image

rated 4.8(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.8
  • 100% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 1/4/2014 1:31:00 PM More reviews by Georgia13

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Wow I am completely surprised by what I've read about this product. I picked it up at TJ Maxx for about $10. I was looking for a mask for my skin following my at home dermaplaning routine. I have melasma (age spots) & my skin can be sensitive with occasional cystic acne. I was pleasantly surprised with this product.
The glycolic pads felt soothing at first, then (as mentioned by other reviewers) I felt a slight warmth. Once my skin felt dry, the soothing pads felt very good on my skin. I followed with my Rx Aczone & Cerve moisturizer.
So far I am pleased, I will continue this weekly & update my review.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/1/2013 11:14:00 AM More reviews by writergenevieve

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product has Changed my skin dramatically! First, I want to say I got it on sale at CVS a couple weeks ago for 50% off (there were NO advertisements or tags to show the reduced price). So you may want to scan it at the coupon printer/price checker. I've used this 4 times now in a couple weeks. My skin is incredibly soft and bright now - where it was dull before - with lots of blackheads, whiteheads and oily and dry skin. I also have some sun spots/damage above my upper lip. I also have milia - small bumps of skin underneath my eyes. I'm sure I notice it more than others might see it on me - but it bothers me. You are NOT supposed to use this under your eyes. But, a couple days ago I read that you can go into a doc and he'll use a pin to prick the milia and then extract them. I tried this a couple days ago - disinfected a needle and carefully pricked a bunch of these in their center. But nothing came out and no extractions were possible. One day later I did the glycolic pad/peel and I carefully used the glycolic pads on the milia under the eyes - just patting it on and not going too crazy with it. Guess what??? TODAY my skin was flaking in a few spots - my nose and under my eyes. I have long nails and used my nails to try to wipe the little flakiness away from the milia area under the eyes - and guess what the flakes were - the MILIA!!!! They flaked right off with the gentle brushing with my nails...right off!!!! The skin there is still slightly uneven or a little bumpish - but hardly compared to how it was! Not all of it is gone..but I think it will take more treatments. I would just not do this too often unless you don't mind your skin getting flaky...it's a peel - but SUPER mild so you won't see dramatic skin peeling but if you keep using it - you will see changes and results. I noticed also that the whiteheads on my chin - after the 4th treatment - started to surface as the yucky skin that was holding them in - is gone thanks to the peel. So, I am moisturizing and keeping the face clean and carefully washing/exfol. to remove or extract those things....GOOD LUCK everyone. This product was the best investment I've ever made. I am not up for doing a big peel that is 20-30 perc. or more...this is idea - nice and easy results - some instant and some ongoing! I am recommending this to everyone....i bought out the store of the few items they had left....:)))))

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/26/2013 11:39:00 AM More reviews by Mysticmme

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I switched to this after running out of PTR Unwrinkle Pads (see my review on that product). I had a CVS coupon, so it cost me around $17.

Because it's only 8% Glycolic, I've been using it every night. I cleanse, blot dry, then rub the pad around. The texture of the pad isn't great; it's not as thick as PTR pads, and it's a little smaller. Once I've rubbed enough product in, I let it dry. This can take up to 10 minutes. When dry, my skin feels a little tacky/sticky. Then I swipe the toning pad (neutralizes the Glycolic) across my skin, and let that dry.

I have not been following up with moisturizer; I wanted to see the effects of only using this product. So far, I'm pleased. I haven't needed to manually exfoliate, my skin feels noticeably smoother, I have a glow that PTR Unwrinkle Pads never gave me, and an emerging cystic outbreak is now quickly retreating into oblivion.

I'm going to continue to use this. My only concern is mature-skin-related: this does not contain peptides, and there are less antioxidants. But for the effects so far, I'm pleased and satisfied.

BTW .... Dr Dover is a Boston based dermatologist. CVS headquarters is in Woonsocket RI, close to the MA border, and CVS aggressively recruits private label partnerships. I've dealt with the CVS corporate team a couple times while they were 'shopping' for packaging inspiration and getting the inside skinny on new and emerging trends. I respect their work and their passion for producing high quality private label/house brands. Dr Dover is another partnership with CVS, and I'm confident in the quality. I work for a competing company (well respected, etc) but I'm not loyal to any skin care brand.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/12/2011 10:44:00 AM More reviews by isavella

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Loving this so far. I am off retinol due to pregnancy (cue panic attacks) and my skin LOVES constant exfoliation of the chemical variety, so I got this as a replacement. I haven't been breaking out during the pregnancy, but the texture of my skin was suffering a bit from the lack of retinol and salicylic acid that I usually plaster my mug in. I tried the Ole Hendriken AHA night gel but I can't really tell if it's working. Anyway, this peel kit isn't really that cost-effective for me, because I have been using it almost every other night (without any irritation whatsoever) (I also usually skip the soothing pads, too, so those are pretty much wasted). So one pack should last me about a month or two if I don't watch it. I guess my skin is really hardy, or this treatment has great formulation. You choose! But, overall, this product really improved the general clarity and texture of my skin in just one use. If I forget to use it for a few days and my skin gets little plugs and bumps, I use it for one time and again, the situation is pretty much dealt with. I would totally recommend it if you like chemical exfoliation and have texture issues. It's really not that expensive for what it is and in my opinion, isn't that harsh if you figure out the best way to use it for YOUR skin. I plan on checking out the glycolic moisturizer and cream cleanser from this brand this week (ALERT: CVS buy 1 get 1 half coupon in this week's circular!).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/11/2011 10:05:00 AM More reviews by PRhinestone

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I am always looking for skincare products to use on my fussy 56 year old skin. I stumbled upon the Skin Effects line at my local CVS by accident. I've used many different kinds of high end products and have always been kind of a snob when it comes to buying skin care at my local drugstore. At first, the price kind of scared me, but with my $5 coupon, I thought I'd give it a try. I use the glycolic pads once (sometimes twice) a week. My skin has never looked better! My skin does not feel dry after using the product. I follow the directions and moisturize after I use it. The acne scars and sunspots are fading and I hardly wear any foundation or concealer except on spots that need to be covered. I've had more compliments on my skin than I've had in years! My skin feels smooth and soft. I've also coupled this product with the Brightening Day Cream from Skin Effects. I plan to keep using the products (and not paying department store prices) for a long time. Great find!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/14/2011 2:12:00 PM More reviews by teggenspiller

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I bought this at CVS. took it home, and realized the package had been opened and tampered with. The contents was gone. Weird, luckily, I exchanged it for a new (unopened) one. Makes my skin feel tingly, and very warm. I wouldnt want to go near the sun after using. I think I will use it before bed next time. But my skin already looks awesome, shinier, and younger. wow. great product i will definitely repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/5/2011 9:01:00 AM More reviews by fivestar

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I stumbled across this product while seaching product reviews for at home glycolic peels.
The 2 reviews had great things to say about it being easy, gentle and effective, so I went to CVS to buy it.
It is a great home glycolic peel. After just one use, my skin looked brighter, felt smoother, freckles and dark spots looked lighter and with no irritation.
It comes with 30 pads which I'm using once a week so really it's fantastic value.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/2/2011 9:58:00 PM More reviews by sallysellsseashells

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This peel is low dose at 8% and perfect for newbies and us sensititve skin types. I'm really impressed with the results. I've used physical exfoliation products that caused breakouts or rashes (a lot of these put oils and butters in them and the shells irritate my skin). I switched over to chemical using this and I'm happy to report that my skin is soft and smooth. Right away, you can notice a difference after the first application. After the peel, you will feel slight warmth to the face with some pinkness but vanishes after a half hour. The process is so easy too. Step one is to swipe the Glycolic Acid pad over the face until the pad is dry. Wait one minute to dry. Step two is to swipe the Soothing pad over the face until the pad is dry. That is it! So simple and so affordable! In this kit, you get 30 pads each and it is recommended that you use once a week. For just under $30.00, this is such a good buy! This brand is found exclusively at CVS.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No