January 30, 2015 | 1847 users online

Concealers - MAC - Pro Longwear Concealer



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.1(986 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 77% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 1/30/2015 9:08:00 PM More reviews by freeziesyum

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love this concealer! I would even dare to call it my holy grail! I have severely dry skin, although I am also acne prone. I have very red cheeks, and need a high coverage concealer. This concealer is AMAZING. It doesn't flake off or give me dry patches, and it covers my cheeks and acne. I like to put one pump on a beauty blender and blend it all over my face, then go back over with a little more concealer on any problem areas. I've never had any issues with creasing or transferring. At least on my skin, it's very long wearing, but I've found primer and powder help make it last even longer.
My only real issue is the packaging. Although I love the idea of a pump, which is much more hygienic than something you're dipping your finger or brush in, the pump itself is problematic. It is almost impossible to get less than a full pump, it's pretty much all or nothing. I'm fine with this since I always use a full pump, but if you wanted to only use this as a spot concealer, there would be a lot of unused product wasted each time.
I have the pro longwear concealer in NW20 and it's a perfect match. I got matched in the store, and I haven't had any issues. I bought it for around $30, which I think is reasonable. It's a great quality concealer, and has already lasted me three months, even while I'm using it as a foundation.
Final thoughts: Great on dry skin, medium buildable coverage, packaging needs some work.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/30/2015 3:26:00 PM More reviews by lizzehkim1231

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

this is amazingggg. full, full coverage, ridiculously matte. doesn't feel cakey, and it does not crease. it does not BUDGE. but... if you're dry, it can somewhat accentuate dry patches if you go a bit too heavy handed. a few cons are that it's very easy to drop and break into a million pieces, and it's sort of pricey for how little product there is actually in the bottle.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/30/2015 8:35:00 AM More reviews by bochlo

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have this in the shade NC20 and it cost me a whopping $32 instead of the $16 my american friend bought it for. I only use this for special occasions, but thanks a lot Australia, you're ripping me off so badly. However, this concealer only disappoints me a little bit.

It covers very well and as the title insists, it lasts on me for about 6 hours (could've gone more but it was late and I was tired by then). Application dries extremely quick so you do have to blend super fast to get it to go on your face evenly. There's also a problem with the dispensing pump, it does a full flush and no pee option. What I mean is that when I just want a small amount to cover a pimple on my chin, it gives me enough to cover two faces and still have a concealer stain on my finger.

Being a newbie with concealers, I do not recommend these for people who are just popping into the beauty world.
I also wouldn't recommend mixing this with your moisturiser and/or talcum powder and/or applying it with oily fingers as it does tend to flake instantaneously when you do so. I'm not joking :( I went to school with a flaky concealer nose. I still struggle trying to put concealer on because it just doesn't want to apply evenly on my face, does anybody else have this problem?

All in all I would have rather spent my $32 on a better, even though less branded concealer that I can trust for a good non flaky face :)

Read more of my reviews at http://bochlo.blogspot.com I hope they answer all your questions!
xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/29/2015 1:39:00 PM More reviews by annaa7

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I like this concealer a lot but the pump pisses me off. Half of the product that comes out I need to wipe off my hand, so I waste a lot of it. But it is an amazing concealer, so I guess I'll have to live with it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/29/2015 1:24:00 PM More reviews by StinaBaby

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have this in 4 shades
Nc42 is my skin shade 9 months of the year, but I also use this mixed with nc35 for a natural under eye highlight
Nc35 for when I want a super highlighted effect
Nc44 for when I'm super tan
Nw25 because some idiot told me I could use that for dark circles

I love this concealer. As a combo/oily skin type, with little to no fine lines I love this for everything. My preferred methods of blending are my ring fingers or Beauty Blender. When I apply this to my under eyes, I do make sure to blend immediately Before starting the other eye. And to highlight I don't do swipes, I dot this on the areas to be highlighted.

In the hot summer months, I mix the concealer with my oil free sunscreen/moisturizer and it makes my perfect tinted moisturizer with the perfect amount of coverage for me. I get extended wear when I set with translucent powder and I love how minimal my routine is in the hot summer months.

I do not recommend for people with really dry under eyes, unless the skin is prepped and primed properly. And to prevent creasing, if that's a problem for you, when blending with a sponge as soon as I get the blend I want I immediately set with powder using the same sponge. It seems strange but the dampness of the sponge and the loose powder make the perfect texture for the under eye area.

This is also my preferred eyelid primer for eye shadows. It doesn't fade or crease on me. I don't necessarily like a light base for shadows. Most of my eyeshadows are higher end and the pigmentation is fine without a white underneath. But for my drugstore shadows a lighter base can be used.

Also the scent of the product when first dispensed is very strong. Just like the Prolongwear Foundation, it smells like paint to me. I don't recommend for anyone with sensitive skin as this is so heavy duty, a breakout or hives just seems inevitable.

Now the Pump: initially it does dispense a lot of product. But, now this may seem gross, after some use the pump gets a bit clogged and that's when I find I can control how much I get. Even if I couldn't control it I would still say that this is worth the money. A full pump is enough for my whole face. And this small glass jar last my more than have the year. My exact skin shades are the only ones I buy about every 6-9 months if I'm in a no foundation rut.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/26/2015 5:46:00 PM More reviews by SianLouise

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

This concealer is honestly the best concealer i've ever had, I use half a pump for all the blemishes and dark circles under my eyes and they're gone. The price is extremely expensive for 17 considering the foundation alone is 21 and it comes in a much smaller bottle and clearly won't last that long (obviously paying for the name). It is easy to apply to much to the face to where it looks a bit cakey but just needs to be blended in a bit better. Overall I would buy this again and it does the job, although it's a lot to ask for a small bottle of concealer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/24/2015 12:12:00 PM More reviews by Chloeluckin

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine Eyes: Blue

Love this concealer! I use it to cover my dark circles under my eyes and it works amazingly! I used to use the benefit boiing concealer but because it was so creamy, it just used to slide off after a few hours and would crease, plus I didn't like the fact you had to dunk in your finger as it was quite unhygienic.
I put this on everyday, and when I go to the gym after work, all of my face is completely red and my BBCream has melted off, my whole undereye area is completely pale! It's so amazing!

I only have it 4 stars because it's quite expensive and I can't use it on my blemishes and acne because it breakse out like crazy if I do (I experienced the same thing with the foundations from mac too). I have amazing foundations which cover up my acne so I'm not too bothered about that.





Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/19/2015 2:19:00 PM More reviews by Kaaareeen55

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I really like this product but it definitely becomes cakes and creases, going to try nars radiant creamy concealer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/18/2015 9:40:00 PM More reviews by lalalovee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is an okay concealer. Theres better out there though

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/18/2015 9:11:00 PM More reviews by christinem2005

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This was just ok for me. It covers ok and if you use a setting powder it will last through the day but I feel like there are much better concealers out there so I wouldn't repurchase it. Doesn't do anything that a 5$ drugstore concealer wouldn't do.

Is this review helpful? Yes No