B.liv by Cellniq Off With Those Heads Pro Sebum Gel

3.6

16 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Purified Water (Aqua), Aloe Vera (Aloe barbadensis) Extract, Witch Hazel (Hamamelis virginiana) Extract, Carbomer, Propylene Glycol, Menthol, Tea Tree (Melaleuca alternifolia) Oil, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Sodium Hydroxide, Perppermint (Metha piperita)Oil, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 3/9/2015 2:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

TOO many positive reviews on this product and I have zero idea why. Blackhead is the biggest problem on my face and it's so obvious and ugly, people call it strawberry nose. Especially when my face have minimum whiteheads or pimple most of the time, my strawberry nose is even more obvious on my face.
I bought this product with high hope due to the amount of positive reviews. I started using it 3 months ago and that's when my horror begins. It started off by giving me pimples on my nose, but I still continue to use it since their website said it's gonna take 2 weeks to see the results. It stopped giving me pimples but neither the amount of blackheads on my nose decreased. I found a few comments here saying that pore strips works well with it because OWTH kinda "melt down" their blackheads, so I tried and I REGRETTED so bad. The amount of blackheads on my nose have been increasing since then. And I am still using OWTH now because I'm still praying for miracle to happen and this thing is expensive.
GOSH I just don't understand what's with this huge amount of positive reviews.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/30/2015 8:03:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've had a severe problem with blackheads ever since I was about 12 years old and it was ruining my life. Even though I'm asian my nose is very pointy alas we cannot have everything good in the world and my extremely prominent pointy nose was riddled with dark, black holes.

I tried concealer, poking it out with my fingers, pressing, prodding, steaming, extracting, pore packs, mud masks. Nothing worked until this year, I met b.liv. To be honest, I was extremely skeptical about the idea. A serum that could get rid of my blackheads? HAHA NO WAY.

Desperate for a solution that had been praised by beauty gurus galore, I bought a 30mL bottle as part of a 'Fantastic 5 b.day' promotional gift. This wonderful pack came about 3 days after I ordered it and let me tell you I was a very very happy girl.
Normally a 30mL bottle would cost me $49.00 but the promotional pack was $65 and contained 5 amazing b.liv face masks, OWTH and a limited edition b.liv bag. (plus free shipping over $50!!!)
It was such a good deal I couldn't resist.

My daily morning routine consists of The Body Shop 'Tea Tree Skin Clearing Foaming Cleanser', St Ives Apricot 'Blemish and Blackhead Control Scrub' and Nivea 'Aqua Sensation Invigorating Face Day Cream'. This has kept my skin clean and blemish free for a year and a half, but unfortunately it had done nothing at all for the really obvious blackheads on my nose.

After I cleanse my face, I use OWTH and pump one pea sized bulb on the back of my hand and apply it to the areas around and on my nose. It's a very smooth and has a gel like consistency that stays cool and tingly on your nose. It smells strongly of peppermint but the scent only lingers for 30 seconds, give or take.
One of my favourite things about OWTH is it's fast absorption rate. Once I apply and spread the serum around my nose, it dries in a matter of 10 seconds and it's so convenient that I can just walk out of the house straight away and nobody would realise I have a layer of serum slathered on my face.

There are only a few cons I've found with OWTH and the first being mainly the price. It's a bit steep, especially for a student girl on a low budget. I mean if you're going to have a miracle cure for blackheads, something that is a huge self derogatory issue to people, at least make it a little cheaper and available in stores? But being a smaller lesser known beauty company, b.liv has strived and has done amazingly well in the industry.

The other issue I find is that OWTH is a lot like roaccutane the miracle acne medicine. Roaccutane pushes out all the acne you would ever have in one go (aka you get worse before you get better) and you're left with beautiful flawless skin after a few months or so. What I thought OWTH does is that it completely removes and clears the blackhead populated skin, but that isn't the case. The blackheads become more prominent with use of the serum because the serum is doing it's work on your blackheads and you NEED manual extraction, but with OWTH manual extraction is the easiest thing in the world.

After applying OWTH for the whole day I then boil some water that I put into a bowl, grab my towel and drape it behind my head to begin my steaming session. (I did this after 2-3 days of having OWTH on my nose in the morning and at night) Steaming really opens up the tightly closed pores that blackheads are trapped behind. This allows for easier access to extraction of the blackheads without having to break any skin. After I steam my face for about 5-10 minutes (in which i listen to the enthralling podcast Serial) and then I begin the extraction process.

I start with a Biore Pore Cleansing strip, and I never had much faith in these before as they have bruised and dented my nose leaving me in pain and shamefully hiding behind concealer. I make sure to thoroughly wet my nose and then apply the pore strip, aiming for the danger zones where most of the blackheads are. After 15 minutes, I very carefully and very slowly peel the strip off, leaving me a smooth, blackhead free nose and a haven of little blackhead cactuses(?) mapped on the strip.

What OWTH does it that it dissolves the clogged materials that are contained within the blackheads, making it softer and more mellow. For me, it made the blackheads very prominent and they seemed to 'poke out', but it was all worth it in the end!

Now I'm left with a clean, beautifully blackhead free nose :)

I've never been happier with my nose and all I have is b.liv to praise! Thank you so much to the b.liv team who have discovered a miracle cure for my now wonderfully blackhead free nose. I'm definitely recommending 'Off With Those Heads' to everyone that comes to me with blackhead dilemmas.
I hope I get to review more products of b.liv in the near feature as I'm sure they'll be just as effective and as brilliant as OWTH. Now to start saving up money..

Read the full extensive review with pictures at http://bochlo.blogspot.com I hope my review has helped you for the better! xxx

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2013 1:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

Used this more than a year ago and then the blackheads on my nose were almost totally gone just after finishing a 30ml bottle and using pore strips! LIKE MAGIC! Decided to stop using it cos I thought it was ok and the price was a bit steep for such a small bottle.
Sadly the blackheads started forming again..
Just got a 45ml bottle today cos I couldn't stand the sight of my bumpy strawberry nose ;p
Cannot wait for my nose to be smoothly smooth again ^^

Highly recommended for strawberry noses!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2013 2:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This (and the original Cellnique Skin Action Sebum Gel, which I prefer as this version is slightly watered down) has been a staple in my skincare routine for the last 7 years as it is the ONLY thing that eliminates/prevents the little bumps (whiteheads?) I get all over my face. I tried Differin in the past, but that dried my skin out. This is gentle enough for everyday use and is non-irritating. An additional bonus for me is that it also minimizes the size of the pores on my cheeks and nips pimples in the bud.

However it is expensive, has no effect on blackheads, causes my skin to become incredibly oily (which I hate but a small price to pay for clear smooth skin) and contains the formaldehyde releasing preservative Diazolidinyl Urea.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2013 11:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I have to give some love to this underrated product. It's the only thing that works for my stubborn blackheads.

I used it 3 years ago or so, and my nose which looked like a strawberry, almost completely cleared up (maybe 15% remaining blackheads). It was a miracle... and my nose remained clear for the 1 year or so I was using it. I went through 2 bottles.

However, I guess I got a bit conceited and somehow thought that the product wasn't really that effective anymore, since I was not seeing any further reduction in my blackheads. So I stopped.

3 years later. Now my nose is so rough and dull, and looks really bad again. I couldn't for my life figure out what I needed to do. I even went for a chemical peel at the aesthetic clinic which helped only a little (yes my blackheads are that stubborn).

Then I somehow came across this product while I was surfing the net, and had an OHHHHHH moment.

I'm ordering it again right away and this time I will be faithful!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2013 4:37:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't have a huge problem with black heads, only around my nose, and I can get rid of those easily with a deep cleanse mask, I got this product mainly to try it out, without expecting much from it.

I've been using this product for nearly a month, for the first week I've noticed that my skin was oilier than usual, but since this was mentioned in the packaging I kept on using it.

On the second week I've noticed some serious clogged pores that I was unable to squeeze out, and I was ready to toss it, but since these clogged pores didn't turn into acnes, I've started to deep cleanse my skin more frequently (about 3 times per week), and that seems to diminish the problems.

I'm on the fourth week now, and I'm still having issues with clog pores, but the problem seems to be less dramatic than before, I'll try to finish off my tube but I don't think it did much for my skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/12/2013 4:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've used this for 2 months now, only to help with eliminating blackheads on my nose. No effect seen so was a definite waste of money for this purpose :( It does control the amount of blackheads appearing now I use it after I use SCINIC blackhead removing masks and seems like there are no new ones forming...yet. It's also good with helping whiteheads.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this sebum gel as it had received many good reviews.
However I do not see any improvement in my skin or that my blackheads have disappeared. I was really hoping this would work, as I have had blackheads since I was a teenager and have yet to find any miracle cure!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2013 3:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

use it for a week, nothing happen but new blackheads pump up on my nose!! don't buy it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2013 10:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I loveeeee this product. This is the first time I used a skincare product and actually like it so much that I wanna repurchase it. FYI, I am a skincare flirt, I hop from brands to brands and hardly finish any products. So for me to finish it and wanna re-purchase it, it's really says something about the effectiveness of it.

I've been using it for 1 year and it has been really effective in reducing blackhead and clogged pores on my face. The bottle is a clean and sleek design, with a snap on cap. The pump disperse just enough gel to cover my entire face.
The consistency of the gel is neither too watery nor gluey. It smells and feels like mint on your face and it absorb really quickly.
After just using it consistently for 2 weeks (mostly during the evening after cleansing and toning), i noticed my blackheads were diminished and the clogged pores on my chins are lesser. My nose used to be really clogged due to the tropical weather in Singapore, but now there are hardly any visible blackheads.

I am really icky about those raised bumps of sebums on my face so I like to do this home facial: first, I steam my face, and then i apply pore pack or peel off mask which helps to remove a lot of blackheads. after which, I will rinse my face clean and apply this gel. It has really helped a lot for my acne-prone skin. I only wish it was cheaper!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
525 Reviews
Lemon Juice
396 Reviews
Nerium AD
66 Reviews
Back to Top