3.4

Created with Sketch.
36 reviews
53%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

This is without a doubt one of my favourite toners from Paula's Choice. I use the Moisture Boost Hydrating toner primarily in the winter months since I possess a combination to oily skin. The rest of the year I alternate between my Skin Balancing Pore Reducing Toner, the toner used by Queen Paula Begoun herself, and the Resist Toner for Normal to Dry skin for its cumulative anti-aging benefits. The packaging is plain and simple to use, though the whole line has recently had a packaging overhaul. I use this either with my fingertips or on a cotton pad if I want to use it sparingly. The toner is water light and sinks in readily after using my gentle water-soluble cleanser. It is filled with excellent, time-proven anti-aging ingredients that are skin-identical and nourish the skin perfectly. I am never without this toner and suggest all those who are keen to try it, please do! You will not be disappointed. The formula is perfect for all skin types but is targeted more specifically to Normal to Dry skin. This does wonders to soothe irritation from Tretinoin or Vitamin A Retinol. Highly recommend!

About reviewer (78 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlack

EyesGreen



2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Made my skin itchy and slightly red. I do not think it really helped to clean the skin anymore than my washing did. It did seem to add some moisture which is good. Even though this did not work for me I think normal and dry skin may like to try it out. I think it would be best in a spritz bottle instead of swiping it on.

About reviewer (1078 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I initially tried a few samples of this product in conjunction with the Paula's Choice Moisture Boost cleanser and moisturiser. While I loved the cleanser and moisturiser, this toner was not for me. Immediately after applying, I felt a stinging sensation and my entire face went red. It lasted about 15 minutes like this before the redness subsided. Foolishly, I tried it three times on consecutive days just to ensure it was this particular product, but I had the same reaction each time. I've never thought of my skin as sensitive, but obviously something about this toner disagreed with with skin. In reading other reviews, I've realised a number of other people have had a similar reaction. While I will be certainly repurchasing the Paula's Choice Moisture Boost cleanser and moisturiser, I will be finding a different toner. If you're interested in this product, I highly recommend trying a sample first to ensure it does not irritate your skin.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

I experienced immediate irritation with this product: a burning sensation and redness. I checked the website (stupidly only after I bought this) and 1/4 of the customers had the same reaction. Paula's team advised them to use the Skin Recovery or the Resist toner instead. A lot of products are rated poor on Beautypedia, because they contain one ingredient, which might irritate some people, but this one is OK according to them, although it irritates several of the costumers. Just because some scientific research said it. Products like this question the whole philosophy that stands behind this brand.

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This is neither hydrating nor a toner. It is pure evil in liquid form. The first time I applied this, I got an immediate burning sensation all over my face, that within a minute turned completely red. I had never before had an immediate allergy-like reaction to anything I've put on my face, and I've done some really bad stuff to my skin in the past. Since I live in Europe I ordered it from Paula's choice's EU website, and hadn't read all the negative reviews on the US site. I found that on the US website, most reviewers have had the same reaction as me. Stupidly, I gave this toner a second chance, to eliminate the possibility of my cleanser being the culprit, but I had the same reaction again. I don't think this should be sold at all. It's hard to pinpoint what ingredient that could've caused burning for so many people, as most of them are anti-irritants and antioxidants, but something is off in the formula, that's for sure. I'd like to add that I've reacted very well to other PC products. Just not this one.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Great toner/moisturising fluid for normal-dry, or combination/oily/slightly drier skin. Costs $20 for 6.4 oz regular price, but I have never paid full price for anything PC - I always wait for a sale, and then use coupons. Anyways, my skin is combination, clog-prone, dehydration-prone, and sensitive to most fragrance ingredients. I also have eczema so I am careful about what I put on my skin. I prefer moisturising toners because they can replace serums and lotions for me, while providing hydration/skincare ingredients minus a greasy feel. In the winter I still use moisturiser on top, although I need less when I use a good toner. I usually rotate between Missha's First Treatment Essence (amazing stuff) and Moisture Boost or Earth-Sourced toner. I apply them all with my hands, like you would a serum. I use an oil-cleanser followed by foaming wash, so don't need toner to remove any "last traces of dirt, etc", my cleansing routine removes all that stuff. Pros: - contains antioxidants - didn't irritate or flare up my skin, has no fragrance - provides enough light hydration for my skin without causing breakouts or clogged pores Cons: - none for me Repurchase/Recommend? I would and do repurchase (although I am getting increasingly irritated with PC's marketing gimmicks so may look for a replacement in the future). I would recommend this to anyone but those with very dry skin, as it probably won't be "cushiony"/moisturising enough (it's more watery). Although samples are available which is nice, so anyone interested can always try it out for themselves before committing to a full-size.

About reviewer (399 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

This toner was a nice addition to my skin care regimen. It claims to boost moisture soothe skin and prevent signs of aging. If you are wondering if it has antioxidants skin identicle Ingredients Humectants and anti- irritants you will be pleased to hear that it has them relatively in abundance. True to its claim it is color and fragrance free. Does that mean it will not irritate your skin? Maybe and maybe not in my experience with this I did get some irritation in two instances one where I used olive oil as a makeup remover with this so it may irritate your skin in conjunction with other skin products. Did this moisturuze my skin? It is hard to tell. My skin is naturally very oily and that can be hard to control. In my case it relieved some oiliness for certain periods of time wich I liked but naturally it is not permanant as it is a cosmetic. This can remove dirt and some makeup but you might need more if you are wearing heavy eye makeup. The packaging can help or hinder its performance. There is a small hole that allows only a small amount to be released at a time. I guess I should say this can be a hindrance if you need more but it prevents you from using too much. This comes in 6.4 fl oz but it is pricey. I like it.

About reviewer (272 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

This is the way toners SHOULD be.Not full of alcohol (yes you Clinique) witch hazel,perfumes , dyes,artificial colourings and other irritants.Toners containing these ingredients are best left alone..A toner is not a necessity in my book.They are supposed to get rid of the last bits of make up a cleanser has missed.But really.if you're still getting a whole load of gunk on a cotton pad after cleansing I would seriously rethink my cleansing regime.I just like to use this.It's full of antioxidants,glides on like a serum and dries very quickly. I don't find it hydrating, but it's certainly won't dry skin like alcohol based toners.It's just a pleasure to use ,gives my skin an antioxidant boost and makes my skin feel refreshed.I will continue to use this as it's a product I enjoy and I feel it's a beneficial addition to my skincare routine .Highly recommended.

About reviewer (235 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Medium

HairOther

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I got this as a sample with a purchase from Paula's choice. As someone with dry skin, I really love this toner. Itfeels REALLY great! It's fragrance free and really gentle for my sensitive skin. I'll update my review with more info when I buy the full size.

About reviewer (534 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

The HG of toners as far as I am concerned. I was a teenager back when Sea Breeze was all the rage (before we found out it was full of stuff that actually hurt vs helped our skin). While it of is true that you actually don't need a toner, as someone with dry skin, it just feels REALLY great! Also, there are many mornings when I need to get out of the house quickly and I will just use this toner before my tinted moisturizer with SPF and I am good to go for running errands and the like. Fragrance free and chock full of great antioxidants which really provide visible benefit to the skin. I never watch infomercials, but one day the line for Cindy Crawford came on and they kept talking about how it had this special, rare antioxidant from a melon grown somewhere in Europe. Did my research, found out that was called "superoxide dismutase" and began looking at the products I was already using. Sure enough, this toner actually already had it. It's not cheap - I think about $18 for 6 oz. but the Paula's Choice website often has sales or free shipping on a certain amount and so I will stock up then. There is not a day in the month I don't use a toner both morning and evening. During the two weeks of my cycle when my skin is not breaking out, I use this toner. The other two weeks, I use the Paula's Choice toner from her "Clear" line which keeps any PMS breakouts away. Love most of her stuff. And of the toners I have tried (probably over 15 in my lifetime, from Clinique, Boots, Estee Lauder, Sea Breeze . . . ), this is by far my favorite. It will leave your skin feeling soft and silky and bathe it in antioxidants without leaving any residue whatsoever.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel