4.6

Created with Sketch.
59 reviews
91%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

This is my goto book for makeup! RIP Kevyn!

About reviewer (90 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

HairBrown, Kinky, Other

EyesBlack



5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

Classic book... What a genius!!! Nuff said!

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

I just put "yes" in the 'would you buy this again' box, just because I love this book so much. Making Faces is a bit better, but this is great when in an insprational drout! If you don't have this yet - get it.

About reviewer (82 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

A must-have for makeup junkies. Actually, all of his books are must-haves.

About reviewer (3510 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Olive, Cool

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

What a unique book! I honestly didn't even bother reading much, I was too interested in the pictures...lol It was so much fun trying to guess the celebs as other celebs in the 'Dimensions' section, such as Martha Stewart as Veronica Lake, Calista Flockhart as Audrey Hepburn, Gwyneth Paltrow as James Dean, Winona Ryder as Elizabeth Taylor and Alex Peruzzi as Linda Evangelista!...WOW (continue for picture). <img src="http://youaremakeup.files.wordpress.com/2008/11/alex-peruzzi.jpg?w=500&h=344"> And thank god the make up was so much better in this book than in 'Making Faces'...yuk! (still too much hard lip liner though) Also, I love how it explained how to apply make up on a man...you don't see that too often. (Copyright 2000)

About reviewer (77 reviews)

Age

SkinOther, Other, Neutral

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

i love this book. but i do prefer Making Faces to this one. but still a great read.

About reviewer (170 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

Kevyn (RIP) is a legend, and rightly so. He made up "ordinary" faces to be phenomenal. Of all the makeup artists, past and present, he is the one I'd choose.... if I could have anyone do my face. This book takes us from the ridiculous to the sublime, all in a very amazing way. A must-have, I'd guess, for anyone on this site!

About reviewer (93 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

This book was awesome. Kevyn exposed me to a variety of looks and ideas for my own style. Amazing pictures as well. Pick this one up if you get a chance.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Dark

HairRed

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

13 years ago

I have to say I like Making Faces better for tips and everyday looks. However, this book is great as well. A lot of interesting, dramatic looks, and the transformations are incredible, Kevyn was such an amazing, inspiring artist, we're so lucky to have him share his life, career, and thoughts about makeup with us through his books. Beauty will never be the same without him. RIP K.A.

About reviewer (349 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOily, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

13 years ago

I REALLY enjoyed this book. I did not learn alot of new makeup tips but I sure did enjoy the pictures and comments ! Gave the book away but would love to see it again.

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination

HairOther

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us