3.9

Created with Sketch.
895 reviews
76%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Very good for the use its intended for. I tried it on my face after hearing a few beauty gurus recommend it as a primer but it cause me so many milia that never went away. My son uses it as a chafing cream though and it works

About reviewer (44 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlack



2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

UPDATE December 4, 2018: I had the bright idea to use this everyday to use it up asap. I should've listened to the Youtuber, Tati, who said it's great but not to use it daily or else it may clog pores. I used it daily for about 1-2 weeks & I noticed all these bumps around my eyes & randomly on my cheeks where I never get anything! Switching to using it only as an actual anti chafing product now lol. ----- This is my first face primer product & I'm still pretty new to foundation. I use this w/ my Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless in 310 + 312. I've tested this in the HUMID countries of the Philippines & Thailand where it's nearly 100 degrees Fahrenheit... and this stuff can LAST as long as you don't touch it.. It doesn't help prevent oil or promote smoothness or fill in pores but this thing definitely has longevity. The reason I won't repurchase is b/c I need something that smooths my nose & surrounding area.

About reviewer (224 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Tan, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I, too, used this random ass product from Monistat as a makeup primer for years. I don't use it anymore since I like a dewy finish nowadays, but it was amazing at creating that poreless, spackle-y base that's good for a matte finish. If you like a matte look and your skin likes silicones, you've got nothing to lose but $10. It goes on smooth, dries down to a satiny finish in a flash, and lets you just glide your foundation on. It's basically identical to the Smashbox Photo Finish primer but with a slightly thicker texture, and clear instead of tinted of course. One tube lasts about six months with daily use.

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I may be the only woman who actually bought this product for it's intended purpose. Being a plus sized woman, I definitely experience "chub rub" in the summer. I also adore wearing maxi dresses when the temperature soars into the 80 & 90 degree area. I usually combat the dreaded "chub rub" by wearing Spanx or some such item, but in the heat it was just too much. So I went a purchased a tube of this and it does do exactly what it is intended to do. Smooth a bit of this where you don't want chafing and you will stay smooth, cool and comfortable throughout the day. I will admit, I DID try it as a primer too, but it just didn't work for me in that capacity. However, if don't want your inner thighs to be sore, raw and red, use some of this and have a very happy maxi dress wearing experience.

About reviewer (362 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairOther, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This may be the weirdest review you will see for this this, but I love this product but not for the reason for it's intended purpose. I had seen a YouTube video about this being used as a face primer. I thought they were crazy. They said it had the same ingredients as a pricey Sephora face primer. I did a little bit of research of both products and sure enough, they did. Instead of spending almost $50 for the other one I purchased this one and I have now been using this going on 5 years now and I will never use anything else. I even use it on my makeup clients including my brides. I get some funny looks from them, but when I explain the ingredient break down we all have a good laugh and even some have gone out and purchased this as well. Monistat really sure bottle this, rename it, bottle it and sell it for a little bit more money. It is just as good as the big guys.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinDry, Olive

HairBlack

EyesGray


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

It didn’t work out for me. My skin is normal to dry and sensitive. I like powder foundations so I’ve tried to use it with them. The gel spreads easily but compare to any other primer I’ve used it doesn’t provide an adhesive surface for makeup to stick to. The makeup wore off two times faster than it usually does. Though that should be expected since chafing relief gel by the definition suppose to give the gliding surface. Maybe it helps with pores, I don’t have the issue so I wouldn’t know. My makeup didn’t settle in any face lines, but it was almost gone by five hours. I don’t think this gel should be used as a primer.

About reviewer (651 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is amazing quality for the price. I’m sure there are others that may perform as good or better than this but with a price to match. This makes application smoother and helps with longevity of your foundation. It literally lasts forever. Love this stuff!!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Is it me or did the reviews for this product go down?? I love this primer, it helps immensely with my pores around my nose and under-eye area. Literally nothing bad to say about it besides it's an excellent dupe for most up-scale primers and it never breaks me out (knock on wood). I have combo skin with a really oily forehead and it helps keep the oil at bay.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I found Catdarling's review below very informative. NurseMiel's review also had some great tips for application. I tried this years ago as a substitute for silicone primer. I found it worked well but thought it might be too heavy. I now realize that I was probably using too much. I stopped mainly because I branched out into other mediums: moisture spray as primer; lotion type tacky feel primers etc. etc. When I read about the Wayne Goss method primer, then powder, then foundation on top (sometimes mixing in a drop of primer into your foundation; then powder over that), I thought to try the method with the various primers I owned. I tried the monostat using the WG method and it worked well to lock in the foundation and reduce cake. So I recommend it for anyone who likes a silicone primer. I will also use the monostat with thicker concealer so they have more spread (so basically a tiny drop as a mixing agent). I also use this method with other sunscreens and moisturizers, though the texture of the monostat gives a smoother surface. Currently I apply a minimal - a tiny dab of moisturizer with primer properties (I have been using curel hydra therapy because I got a large free two oz sample) on my face and then minimal amount of powder; then half the small amount of foundation/concealer (cinema secrets palette #3 for my NC 30-35 olive skin) mixed with a drop of the medium. Then powder over. This sounds like a lot of makeup, but because you basically only have a few drops on your face and you buff off excess, it provides coverage and sets without being cakey. The mixtures apply best when buffed out with my Sigma angled Kabuki or ELf small stippling brush, not a sponge. A drop of this plus a bit of lipstick that is a mistaken MLBB but too light can be applied like a cream blush (the resulting effect is like a matte multiple stick look) I have not used monostat for chafing as I don't run. I have used it in a pinch when I cannot find band aid blister block and it works reasonably well in that function also. I cannot reiterate my suggestion to apply VERY sparingly if you want your makeup to stay in place.

About reviewer (517 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Works perfectly as a primer: smooths lines, helps to soften pores, lessens scaly patches, foundation applies easily, but doesn't slide off. As a chafing gel: works perfectly, especially useful applied to feet to prevent chafing from shoes. Acts as a frizzy hair tamer: rub a very small amount between hands and rub on dry or damp hair. Under $10 at Walmart or Target.

About reviewer (50 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairSilver, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.