4.3

Created with Sketch.
18 reviews
83%
would repurchase
4.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It smells too powdery- very old ladyish. A no for me.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel



5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I'm bound & determined to eventually collect all 4 of these rollerballs the next being coconut! First of all Vanilla in general is my favest fragrance in the world, some of my faves would be VS Vanilla Lace & Body Fantasies Vanilla Fantasy, but this is much more potent. I love gourmand scents. This is grown up vanilla boozy sexy smoky adulting vanilla. Not your sugar cookie fuzzy wuzzy juvenile vanilla, it is said that vanilla has pheromones & therefore holds the power of attraction. I don't doubt that. Rollerballs are so convenient coz I can tuck them into my purse, wastes less perfume, & usually I can afford only a small container of fragrance (i.e. 0.20oz is approx most rollerball size & most range ~$25 or less). I wish these were sold as a set for economy's sake.

About reviewer (2417 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

Vanilla has been my signature scent since high school and I've always had a hard time finding a vanilla perfume that wasnt too artificial, or cloying. This is simple, pure vanilla and i adore it! The staying power is great, it's lasted about 6 hours on me just today and still going strong!

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

My favorite scent ever, I have nothing bad to say about it other than the strong alcohol smell you get when you first apply, but that's not a problem as it settles in a few minutes to the vanilla smell I love. If you like creamy, mature vanillas that don't smell like anything B&BW sells, I think you'll like this a lot. Just keep in mind that everyone's body chemistry is different, so I would try it on in-store before purchasing.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

Everyone else has covered the scent angle here, so I'd like to address the packaging quality first, since that's something I often take into consideration when looking at perfumes. The main benefit to using a rollerball format is a decrease in product loss, and yet many companies choose to save a couple pennies by opting for a cheap applicator that ultimately results in equal, if not greater, wastage. Lavanila seems to have chosen a good design. The amount of product that comes out with one swipe is pretty sizeable -- it doesn't flood out of the bottle by any means, but you don't have to press hard for payoff. The rollerball will not pinch your skin, nor does it drag across your skin like cheap eyeliner (another problem with some designs I have encountered in the past). The base of the glass container is nicely weighted so that despite its skinniness, the bottle will not fall over -- unless you try putting it down at something like a 45º angle, which . . . really? It's a perfume bottle, not a Weeble. In any case, this bottle is much more stable than some other tall rollerballs that are out there. So no, it's not as delicate as it looks. As for the scent itself, well, it's delicious on me, but perfume is pretty notorious for smelling different according to individual body chemistries, so try before you buy! Personally, I picked up Pure Vanilla as a substitute for BPAL's Antique Lace, since that was discontinued and my old bottle just ran out. Pure Vanilla is not as floral as Antique Lace, and it's not as soft, but I still really like it. Also, the scent does manage to avoid that overwhelming cheap "I just chugged a bottle of vanilla extract behind the 7-11" smell you get from some other vanilla perfumes, so if that has been a problem for you in the past, don't worry! The good-quality ingredients and formula of Pure Vanilla shine through very well, and the wear is extensive, unlike those weird eaus de toilette you pick up at Anthropologie and immediately regret. (Not that I'm holding a grudge . . . no, not me . . .) I don't mean to damn the product with faint praise, but really, Pure Vanilla does exactly what it says on the tin; it's a very reliable, no-fuss vanilla, and I recommend it.

About reviewer (38 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I got this as part of a 4 piece rollerball set and the Pure Vanilla was the best one of the four! It's a delicious, smoky vanilla scent and while it is a little sweet, its not foody or cakey. This is probably one of the best and sexiest vanilla scents I have smelled and I will definitely purchase a full sized bottle when the rollerball runs out.

About reviewer (272 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Other, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

This Pure Vanilla is a wonderful sophisticated vanilla. It is perfect for cold gray winter days and has a wonderful warm rich quality that makes it a comfort scent. It's not foody but warm and sophisticated. Patchouli does an amazing job of providing richness and depth as this warms and becomes part of your skin. The patchouli doesn't linger nor does it stink! The rollerball is awesome for layering and Pure Vanilla makes a wonderful base and complement to other notes. At this moment, I'm wearing Kai on top of Pure Vanilla and it's just heavenly.

About reviewer (276 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I have been searching for a natural and long-lasting perfume, and have FINALLY found it!!!! I am in love with the scent of vanilla, so I decided to check out Lavanila's perfumes. After trying the mini roller ball set, the Pure Vanilla scent won by a long shot (vanilla lavender smelled like laundry detergent, vanilla coconut smelled like play doh, and vanilla grapefruit smelled like 5-year old Barbie perfume)! Pure Vanilla is a beautiful classic warm vanilla scent (not too sweet), definitely comparable to the not-so-natural Fragonard Fleur de Vanille (my old favorite vanilla perfume). I was afraid the staying-power of this perfume would not be as great as the un-natural perfumes, but I was actually impressed! I could still smell the scent at the end of the day. Since scents vary based on each person's skin properties, it is best to first order the mini roller ball set to determine what works best. I have now ordered the pure vanilla spray perfume and larger rollarball from Sephora. :)

About reviewer (120 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I don't find this a young vanilla whatsoever.... It's got some exotic depth and a smokey vanilla quality. It doesn't smell like bathroom spray like someone said.. I think that was a joke amongst drunk men. Some men are just like that no matter how old they get and joke around. Some men and women like certain perfumes and some don't, and there are plenty of perfumes that are popular and I hate them. At first when I smelled a tester last year I thought this was powdery, but on my skin thankfully I get a great complex vanilla. Pure Vanilla blends the tender sensuality of fresh Madagascar vanilla with the warm touch of soft patchouli and pure tonka bean. Infused with more vanilla bean than vanilla cookie, this superbly clean scent is a must-have for any vanilla addict. I read freesia and heliotrope are in it as well from another review. I can smell those too if I really try, and they are soft florals that you can barely detect. I get compliments galore from this one. I like the others in this line, but the Pure Vanilla stands out more in the cool weather. It's a warm and cozy scent that wraps around you like a cashmere sweater scarf.

About reviewer (1598 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

Okay so I bought this based on all the positive comments here. I had to go to a party that night so i figured i would break it in, so i put some on my wrists and a lil dab behind the ear and off i went. I met my husband there and we settled into a booth full of men. Within the first 5 minutes two of the guys at our table started laughing and saying how someone smelled like, ahem, bathroom spray. And one of the guys said " I think that is someones perfume" and they started cracking up. Well, as you can imagine i wanted to crawl into a hole and hide there for the rest of the night. And seeing that I was the only girl at the table and one of the last people to arrive it wouldnt take long for these somewhat intoxicated guys to figure out that it was me wearing the "bathroom spray"

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown