3.3

Created with Sketch.
22 reviews
36%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I would get this again for the cool toned pinky purple. Its a pretty normal eye shadow and doesnt come across oozing with pigment as the name suggests but the color is stunning on my skin tone & eye color NC25. The darker purple is nice to use as a liner accent but its nothing amazing. Im definitely gaga over the pinky purple which flashes blue. Its gorgeous!! Blends well...I can apply it light or pack it on. Its just as pretty & unique as a UD eye shadow. Im going to get a back up for myself and I already got one as a gift for a friend because I love it that much!

About reviewer (1017 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

While I agree with some of the complaints made by other reviewers about this product, it's still the best drugstore eyeshadow I've ever purchased. So much so, that I bought two more of the shadows in different color combos. This purple duo is defnitely my favorite, however. I do feel that the color is much more pigmented than that of many other shadows, and with eyeshadow primer (I like Benefit's), it will stay on oily lids like mine all day. The darker purple is, as others have said, more difficult to blend for some reason, so it helps to use a good brush (you'll never see me using a spongy eyeshadow applicator). Other drugstore shadows seem to last me about a week before they start to crumble in their case, but this brand really sticks around. I can see how the color wouldn't look right on everyone. I have cool undertones however, and purple really is my color, so both shades work very well for me. The best part may be the packaging... if you DO like spongy applicators, there's a little "compartment" for one that doesn't compromise space. The little round cases fit well inside makeup bags, and with a screw-off cap there's no danger of the top snapping off. You really have to purchase these in the right colors... I have a brown and gold version that's quite good, but I also have the "Romantic" set, which is a pale blue and pink and is just plain awful. And not just in terms of color, but in terms of how it wears overall. So yeah, I would check out reviews on all the color combos.

About reviewer (72 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I actually really like this duo. The lighter color is very nice- a purpley pink, very pigmented, easy to blend. The darker color is not quite as nice- it's slightly chalky and harder to blend. That said, I still think the darker color has decent pigmentation and looks purple- not gray, not blue, but actually purple. Both colors look more vibrant over a creamy e/s base or primer. I also found that the darker color looked better layered over the lighter color. Overall: it's not the best purple duo in the world, but purples are hard to find at d/s prices and this is probably the best one I've tried thus far. I'm not positive if I'd buy it again, but I'd consider it, if only for the lighter color.

About reviewer (103 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Other

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

What it Claims: "HiP high intensity pigments™ Concentrated Shadow Duos contain micro-pulverized pigments for ultra-smooth contours and layering. Color that’s purer than pure. Truer than true. And, like all HiP high intensity pigment™ products, these coordinated shades pack more pigment—for a look that is always captivating. Never fleeting" Claims - True or False? 1) Ultra-smooth contours and layering: False. While not chalky, it's not nearly as smooth as some of their other duos or other eye shadows in general. 2) Pigmented: False. Worn alone, it will not provide adequate pigmentation, although when worn over a primer, pigmentation is moderate and buildable. Packaging: While not amazing, I do not dislike the packaging. Has a clear lid, which I do love as it makes it easy to see which duo I am using without having to open it up. Has a small mirror on its underside, which can be beneficial if using on the run for touch ups and if you are unable to access a mirror. I've read some general reviews that state that this is useless or cannot be easily used, but I've had no problem using this mirror while also using the eye shadows on the other side; simply place the colour onto your brush, flip the packaging around, and apply the shadow while using the mirror. If you need more eye shadow, then repeat the process. Older packaging used to list the ingredients as well, which I do wish they'd add again, as it's important for anyone who must stay away from specific ingredients. The sponge brush applicator is an immediate throw-away. Please, do NOT use this to apply your makeup, regardless of how new to makeup you are. Consistency: Soft, decently smooth, shimmery but not glittery. The plum is very work/school friendly, while the fuchsia might be best kept for night looks for those who shy away from colour with their makeup. I find that these colours can create a little bit more fallout than others, but nothing excessive. For best application, I like to swirl the colour into the bristles, tap excess off, and then pat onto the lid. When worn over my usual UDPP, I get at least 8+ hours of wear without creasing and/or fading. This is less time than with other shadows, but only occurs from one of the sides from this duo (I believe the plum). The plum does tend to fade a little, but the application throughout the day still looks fresh and newly applied, as with all of my other shadows, d-s or high end. I have uploaded pictures of swatches for this duo. All swatches were applied with a thin, dense eye shadow brush, and not with fingers or the sponge that comes with the product. Ease of Use: Compared to a few of my others, this one is a little trickier to use as it is not as creamy as some. That being said, it's not too difficult to achieve a smooth, blended and even application. They can be a little more pesky at blending out the harsh edges though, but blending it with another colour isn't an issue. Bang for your Buck: Prices will vary, but I'd guess that the average price would be about $8.00USD. For me, this is a fabulous price, as I do not use the same eye shadow colours on a daily basis. I still have a few of these duos from a few years ago that are only half used up, so for me I'd say these are a good price. I'd also say that it's a fairly inexpensive way for newbies, or even experienced makeup wearers, to venture into the world of colourful eye makeup. If you dislike the fuchsia on its own, you can always softly blend it over the plum or use it as a liner. Final Consensus: After skimming through some of these reviews, I find that many are quite unfair. I mean, if you dislike the colour, then WHY BUY IT? Just because you dislike the colour(s), doesn't mean everyone else will. Even if you dislike the colour(s), the review should be reviewing the QUALITY of the product, and not solely how you liked the colour(s). Now that I've gotten that out of my system. I'd say that this is a decent duo, but not my favourite. I do adore the colours, especially when combined over one another and used with greens or blues/teals. Neither colour is truly chalky, but I do find that the darker plum is a little less smooth. Does require a little more layering to get a desired coverage, but not much more than my other shadows (d-s and high end). I find that one of the colours, although I do not remember which, can cause some creasing sooner than with other shadows, and it does tend to fade ever so slightly. While I do like the shades, the quality just isn't high enough for me to want to repurchase. Overall Rating: 3/5 Price: 2/5 Packaging Quality: 3/5 Would you buy this product again: No.

About reviewer (230 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Other, Medium

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

This duo goes down in history as one of the worst products I've ever purchased. I can't say enough about how hideous these colors are. The lighter, brighter color on the left makes me look like I need to be rushed to the emergency room, and the darker plum gives the impression that my husband needs to be arrested for domestic violence. The colors do not apply smoothly and feel heavy and rough on my lids. I did not find the darker plum color to be highly pigmented at all. This is going back to Walgreen's for a refund, and I will never repurchase anything in this line again. Yuck. ($7.99 USD.)

About reviewer (420 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I really dislike this duo. The left is a purpleish pinkish color that looks duochrome. I don't know if I got a bad batch but it is not pigmented at ALL. It's too pink for me and I really hate wearing pink on my eyes as it makes it look puffy. The color on the right is just a deep purple, nothing special in my opinion. Its quite pigmented but not the most blendable of eyeshdadows out there. I really hoped I would like this duo because i love my sassy and sculpted duo, but I really regret buying this product.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

The light color on the left is very pigmented and vibrant. It lasted all day for me, with a base, and it's very easy to blend, and it's smooth. ..But the darker purple, eh, not so much. It's more chalky, and I have to apply a lot of product for it show up properly, even with base. I'd buy this product again only because of the lighter color.

About reviewer (61 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinSensitive, Dark, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

Click 'continued' for photos. <p>The light side contains just a tad too much fuchsia but is generally a nice unexpectedly unique pop of pink. The right side is a tad too dull/dark, it easily looks brownish black on the eyes but is not really as flattering as a real brown or black since it contains plummy tones, which can look bruisey on some skin tones. Overall an average duo, the colours are just slightly tricky to work with. There are many more fool-proof and newbie-friendly shades of pink and plum out there, so save your money if you're, like me, not too big of a pro. <a href="http://tinypic.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i30.tinypic.com/2r3ijw6.jpg" border="0" alt="Image and video hosting by TinyPic"></a> <a href="http://tinypic.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i25.tinypic.com/1533c6d.jpg" border="0" alt="Image and video hosting by TinyPic"></a> <a href="http://tinypic.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i27.tinypic.com/f3cleg.jpg" border="0" alt="Image and video hosting by TinyPic"></a>

About reviewer (82 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

Hmmm , I dont get why all the bad reviews , the one I got was really pigmented alone or over a base . Ive wore this duo as a smokey eye lately and it looks beautiful with my brown eyes!!! It dosent seem to fade to much at all if you put a base under it I will buy more colors of this line

About reviewer (65 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

because i have brown eyes, i am a purple shadow lover. this duo would have been perfect if it was more pigmented. it's not tooo chalky or too sheer, dont get me wrong, but the dark purple definitely needs to be darker. the combo looks nice for a subtle smokey purple look though.

About reviewer (401 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOther, Other, Warm

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us