4.1

Created with Sketch.
38 reviews
65%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Hourglass Extreme Sheen Glosses have a great formula. They are extremely pigmented, and my favourite shade is the true red - Icon. These glosses have a flat, doe-foot applicator and dispense the right amount of product, enough to cover both lips without dipping back in. The texture is fairly thin for a gloss, and not sticky feeling at all. It has a high shine finish - ‘Extreme Sheen’ is the perfect descriptor. It wears well, lasts through drinking and light snacking, but will need reapplying throughout the day to maintain the shine. They do stain the lips though. My only complaint is that some shades can bleed slightly, and for this reason I docked a lippy. Overall, these glosses are great and I highly recommend them.

About reviewer (724 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Pretty colour. However not very long wearing and leaves my lips feeling dry. Much rather purchase the mac lip glass of the nars lip gloss/ lip Lacquer

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Dark

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I bought this in the colour Canvas and it is the perfect colour! I'm quite pale and struggle to find a nice nude or neutral shade of lipstick. A lot of the time those shades can make me look washed out but this colour is amazing! I love that it is so opaque - definitely a liquid lipstick rather than a lipgloss but still has a really nice sheen to it like a gloss. The consistency is great it's smooth and easy to apply and it's not sticky at all, which I love. It lasts pretty well throughout day and doesn't fade patchy like some liquid lipsticks do. The packing is amazing, as with all Hourglass products! The only downside for me is the price. Here in Australia it will cost you $38 (and that's even after a recent price drop) I still didn't mind paying that too much, as it's a great product and Hourglass are a cruelty free brand so I'm happy to pay extra for products like this!

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

I purchased this gloss in the color 'lush' which when i swatched it on my hand looked just like nars orgasm gloss (i dont know if it would look different on the lips, though). the consistency is really smooth and nice feeling. the scent smells like artificial cotton candy, i actually would prefer it to be scentless. the color was pretty but i didnt like how it looked when it wore off, it left glitter all over my lips, whereas other glosses just leave a small amount of sparkle. it seemed impossible to get the glitter flecks off even when i used makeup remover there was still some left. i think this gloss had way too much glitter, it made my lips look like a metallic peach color. i guess it is good if you are super into sparkles. i didnt like the applicator, it was too flexible, the hard doe foot ones give you the most control. i prefer something a little more natural looking than this gloss. i think it is overpriced for what you get. the formula felt nice though so i am giving it a 3/5.

About reviewer (53 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Tan

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

I have this in Child which is a flesh-toned beige. I got it in a Sephora Give Me Some Lip kit. I would not have bought this color normally. I can see why people like this gloss as the packaging, applicator, feel going on are all fantastic. I love the chic, "different" package. However, this color just doesn't work for me--I'm pale, yellowy, with no natural lip color so I look dead. This is a very "sticky" lip gloss (I'd compare to Bobbi Brown) so if you don't like that, you may not care for these.

About reviewer (387 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Very unique, metallic red. Not glittery or sparkle-filled, but glowingly metallic. Build-able consistency goes from sheer to opaque. Nice for the holidays, but I use it year-round. It's the only Hourglass product I own and I'm very pleased.

About reviewer (179 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Tan, Warm

HairBrown, Relaxed, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Amazing texture, not sticky but definately very long-wearing, great smell (vanilla),beautiful color payoff!!! I have ORIGAMI, FLUSH, IMAGINE and TRUTH!!!! this lipglosses can only be compared to chanel extrait de gloss, nothing else can be put on the same level, well done HOURGLASS!!!!! I'm truly in love with these lipglosses, but I must say that I prefer the old packaging to this new one with the flexible doe foot applicator, hopefully they will change that flexible doe foot applicator with the classic brush applicator (just like the older version!!!)

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

I have this in Nectar, which is a bright, medium-opaque corally pink. I coveted Nectar for at least a year before buying-the ridiculous price tag put me off. But everything Hourglass makes seems to be high quality and amazing and surprisingly worth it, and this gloss is no exception. It brightens my whole face, looks like it does in the tube but not in a frightening, neon way and lasts longer than glosses normally do on me. It's non-sticky, smells lightly but not intrusively of vanilla and is just pretty all-around great.

About reviewer (55 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I got the one called Lush. It is very pigmented but it's not as "sheen" as i would have expected it. it's actually a sticky type of lip gloss, not that oily feeling type.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I purchased this in Siren at Sephora.com after hearing raves about this cosmetic brand and seeing a review of this particular gloss on Scrangie's blog. Siren is an extremely metallic and highly pigmented warm-toned red colored gloss. Initially, I loved the way it looked in the tube and the way it swatched on my hand. And it smells like buttercream frosting! Yum. On the lips, I am not as big of a fan. Upon application, I noticed that Siren was cakey looking (as most metallics/frosts can look). Sheered out, it translated to this orangy/coppery color that took me back to the 80's in a bad way. And after it sat on my lips for a couple of hours, it felt dry and uncomfortable. So, I couldn't justify keeping this in my collection since it's so $$$$.

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown