MAC Matte2 - Blanc Type

MAC Matte2 - Blanc Type
MAC - Blanc Type All That Glitters Omega GrainMAC e/s Blanc TypeBlanc Type Eyeshadow

4.7

228 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 6/2/2017 1:43:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am convinced that Blanc Type is one of MAC's best eyeshadow creations ever! (At least it is for women over 50.) I can't believe I never reviewed this gem, because I purchased it years ago when it first came on the market. This eyeshadow instantly revives and brightens my aging eyelids. I always use an eye primer before applying, and Blanc Type lasts all day and night on my lids. I usually use this with a darker shadow on the outer edges of my eyelids and bring it slightly upwards into the outer third of my crease. I definitely recommend this for anyone who is getting (or feeling) too old to wear shimmery, frosty, bright, or colorful eyeshadows on their lids anymore.

7 of 7 people found this helpful.



on 3/3/2017 11:41:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Was it only last year when MAC confused us all as they began to phase out and discontinue the entire collection of the truly superb matte2 formula? Some were lucky and acted quickly and were able to find whatever matte2 stock their freestanding store or counter had remaining. I was not so lucky, despite having two pans of Blanc Type at my disposal. It was not long before I panned BOTH and suddenly I found myself having to find something similar as my holy grail was now 'seemingly' wholly gone.

Keyword: Seemingly.

Sad as I was, I asked about the possibility that they might have any remaining stock every time I found myself in a MAC store. Until four months ago when I was STILL searching for something comparable when a lovely, pale Ivory shade caught my eye and had me thinking that I had finally found something useable. I flipped the little black pot over and the label read BLANC TYPE. Oh happy day! Within minutes, I was already out of the mall and on my way home, holy grail in hand. Today I had become the modern day makeup Indiana Jones.

This resurrection comes with a caveat, however. Those that loved it so, once spouted praises of its buttery texture, silky smoothness, incredible blendability as well as rich color payoff. Nothing can ever be perfect but MAC had come close. Unfortunately, the caveat, the price we're forced to now pay is that this new batch is NOT the same. The two I had before were incredibly soft and kicked up obscene amounts of product with every use but the pigmentation was phenomenal. It was a 'one dab will do ya' product. This new one feels stiff, has no kick up and I find that I have to work the product out of the pan and onto my brush. I am terribly disappointed.

I will remain hopeful, though, that maybe this is just mine and I am eagerly waiting to see if the full shade range returns to the stores and website. At $6 a pan, my new Blanc Type wasn't a budget killing disappointment. The color remains the same and I can make it work and I would most likely repurchase it again, and should the remaining colors be released, I will most likely repurchase the colors I have and add the ones I missed. Now we just have to wait on MAC to do the right thing...

Original 2011 post: I never understood the hype around using a highlight shade on your browbone, especially when I would see women with severe shimmer racing stripe syndrome ie. porn stars, strippers. Then I received this in a swap and I understood. A MATTE highlight is the trick! It can sometimes pull a little too pinky if I pick up too much shadow and it has a little bit of a fallout problem (which is easily cured). I wear this almost everyday, either as a highlight or as a base, my favorite look being the pin up look with my favorite crease shade (Bobbi Brown hot stone) and winged eyeliner. Don't forget the red Lippie!!

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 10/21/2016 10:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

OK, now I'm really mad at MAC. Many of their shadows look great in the pan but go on blotchy or blah. This one goes one smooth, creamy and true, and is the top performer of my MAC palette, which I pull out all the time for use with other palettes too ... as a shadow base for my light, cool lids, or to brighten/clean up other shadows.

I recently dropped the palette and this one, classic shade broke up. Went to MAC's site to refill, and WHAT, it's gone! Only available as a single, free-standing shadow. Who can use those?

Leaving me with a palette containing about 75% lackluster shadows, and no Blanc Type to make them work!


on 7/11/2016 8:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Blanc Type is da bomb! Perfect for a matte brow bone highlight or a pop of brightness on the lids. I'm NC35 for reference and I can't do without this shade in my palette.


on 11/15/2016 6:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My all-time favourite eyeshadow. This colour almost matches my skintone, just a tiny bit lighter / brighter. I am fair and cool toned (NW 15) for reference. I use this colour as a browbone highlight, lid colour to neutralize any redness or veiny-ness, to blend out my crease colour and to clean up mistakes. I just love the matte squared texture and am sad Mac has chosen to discontinue it. Thank Goddess I recently purchased two backup pans.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The perfect brow bone highlighter for fair-medium skin tones. I love to use it as a blending shade as well, it makes every eye look a lot softer and smoother.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 10/22/2015 4:07:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I was psyched when I saw I hadn't reviewed this shadow, but surprised, in a way. It is one of my absolute favorite shadows. It is a true cream color--no pink, no grey, no peach. You get the picture. It is very pigmented, which is typical of the matte2 shades. It is similar to brule, which is a satin, but blanc type is a better shadow, no question. Brule is ever so slightly more tan. It is also a lot less pigmented. I would call it a sheer wash. So I would use it if, let's say, I put a lid color on that I felt was a shade too dark. This would bring it down a notch. I would use blanc type, on the other hand, as an all over color, or when I use a lid color that's like, holy crap, that's TOO dark to use as a lid shade. This will bring it down as many shades as I need it to. I buy it in the pan even though I hate the magnet MAC puts on their shadows. They are too flush with the bottom, so the shadows only stay nicely in MAC palettes (I prefer a Z palette). So I have to pull off the magnet, pry the sticker off, super glue on a Z palette magnet, then put the sticker back on. What a hassle.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 2/7/2016 9:02:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Blanc type is one of those iconic MAC shadows that I use over any primer base I place on my lids. This matte shade blends into my own skin tone making it look softer and making it much easier to shade and blend out my other shadows. Excellent also for a highlight under the brows and even for a nice clean look on the lid with no other shadow. Excellent for everyone but especially anyone of age ... the matte doesn't exaggerate lines - on the contrary it helps blur them ... would not be without this ... have back ups.

9 of 9 people found this helpful.


on 1/26/2016 7:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love the color of this shadow. It's creamy and pigment, which seems to be a plus when watching youtube videos. But I've noticed that shadows like this do not last on me. When I wear this on my lid and a brown in my crease, this does not stay. Within a few hours it has creased. By hour 4 it is completely gone. The only way I use it now is for a base color, with others on top. I wouldn't buy this again.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

It is creamy white colour, quite cool toned. Very good pigmentation and blendability. Sets well on the lid, does not crease. Great for using in the inner corner of the eye or under brow.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Back to Top