3.6

Created with Sketch.
22 reviews
59%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I received a packett of this and was able to get two uses out of it. This mask is great if you dont like the tight feeling of typical clay masks sucking the life outta your skin. This not only clears the pores out but hydrates the skin was well. Its easy to remove....warm water rinse and muslin cloth. On the fence about the price point as its more than my beloved clay mask but this could be easily included into my skincare rotation.

About reviewer (320 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Dark, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I think that this mask is a little unnecessary. I love high end things but this one pushes it a bit. I got the exact same results from my bentonite mask! I bet you could make something like this at home by taking an amount of clay, a few charcoal capsules, honey, and some essential oils.

About reviewer (67 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I am shocked at any bad reviews about this mask. I felt like I struck gold when I finally broke down and purchased it. I have been using many Chantecaille products over the past year, including their other masks and I love them. I have also tried many clay masks that were okay, but made my skin feel tight, including Kiehl's and AÄ“sop. I'd only resisted purchasing this product because I knew it was black and would stain my washcloth. I figured after my friend kept raving about it that it was worth sacrificing a single washcloth for. Oh my gosh, was it ever! The texture is like butter, and smooths onto the face incredibly easily. A little goes a long way, making the price tag worth every penny. I've already used it about a dozen times, and still have just over half a jar left. If you appears almost greenish, and I find this scent to be pleasant and quite soothing. I enjoy rosemary, and like all some Chantecaille products, it's very subtle. The suggested time is 10 minutes, although I have left it on for up to 20 minutes, without any tightness whatsoever. Perhaps the honey helps keep the skin soft? Any other clay mask would make my face feel super tight at that point, and leave it somewhat red after washing it off. I found washing this mask off to be very easy and gentle, using a soft washcloth and warm water. It makes my skin feels soft, pores noticeably smaller, and leaves my skin glowing. I will occasionally get a tiny pimple immediately after using this product, which disappears the next day. That's the idea behind using a purification mask, isn't it? I wish I hadn't waited so long to purchase this product. This is the only clay mask I'll use.

About reviewer (162 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Curly, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

I LOVE the Chantecaille Detox Clay mask. I got this for free at work and this is hands down the best mask I've ever used. My skin is very sensitive and acne prone so a few of the girls who work the makeup counter at work gave me this to try. With this product, a little goes a VERY LONG way. I only put a little on my index finger and it covered my entire face. This mask is honey and rosemary infused and feels like silk on the skin. It didn't burn my face (which is saying a lot because EVERYTHING burns my face) and glided on easily. One of the things I noticed first was the smell. The scent was sweet and very calming. The whole mask process was very much like a personal spa treatment. Next thing was the color. It goes on a very dark, almost black color but after about 10 minutes it has turned a blue-ish color. Contrary to what some reviews here have said, my skin was not stained blue or any of my towels. One of the best things about this mask is that it doesn't dry out your face. In fact, the mask never dries. It stayed silky and moist on the skin. When the time came to rinse the mask off I took a close look in the mirror. ALL of my black heads on my face were at the surface. Even the white heads in my huge zits has surfaced. I was sold. Everything rinsed away cleanly and without problems. Upon further inspection I could instantly tell that my skin was detoxed, clear, pores were dramatically reduced and so smooth. I used my usual moisturizer and went about my day. I would recommend this product for women like myself who use a lot of layers of face products (moisturizer, primer, foundation, powder, setting spray) and use this mask at least once a week. Pricey but you get what you pay for.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

i don't use sample packets usually but i decided to give this a try one night, not expecting much at all...was i surprised after! i was never excited over a mask because i never experienced an immediate result like this one. so i went ahead and ordered it the next day! yes, it is expensive...but it is worth it for me. i love how this clay mask does not dry on the face like other clay or mud masks. it stays creamy throughout the recommended 10 to 12 min. i tend to stay away from mud masks because i dont like the tight feeling when it dries so this is unique. i do feel slight burning and tingling sensation since i have sensitive skin but it does not irritate my skin at all. i feel that this really detoxifies my pores, therefore brightens my skin, i notice less white heads (i am prone to getting white heads because i dont have large pores and it tends to clog up), texture is much improved, more even and soft. i use it once a week and i recommend jumping in the shower to remove the mask because it gets messy and it is not easy to rub off. i use muslin cloth in the shower to gently but effectively remove the mask. it stains the cloth so designate one cloth for this mask use!

About reviewer (121 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

I'm a huge fan of Chantecaille's cosmetics & the jasmine and lily healing mask. The detox clay mask, however, made my skin red in spots -- with a rash, immediately caused a pimple and is messy. I used cotton swabs to remove it, as recommended, but it still gets all over. Would not buy this product; had a sample packet. There are plenty of similar masks out there that cost less.

About reviewer (136 reviews)

Age

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Over-priced product which did not have great results and it has hydrogenated castor oil in it which I don't think works for acne prone skin.

About reviewer (208 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I, too, LOVE this mask. I have generally good skin but changed my skincare regime a couple months ago which caused all sorts of problems - redness, larger pores, bad texture, etc. Well, I got a sample of this mask along with some other Chantecaille products and within a week my face was back to normal and after the 2nd week my skin looked even better. These products ARE very expensive, but to me the extra cost is worth the great results. I definitely recommend giving this product and this brand a shot.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

This is my first product review. I felt compelled to leave a review because of this mask's mediocre rating. I just don't understand the negative reviews at all. This is one of the best masks I have ever used. After using it my skins feels and looks dramatically different. The first time I used it, I did notice a slight burning or tingling sensation but no more than any other purifying mask I had used prior. After a few uses, I don't even feel it anymore. Most purifying masks I have tried dry on your face and tighten leaving an unpleasant feeling. This mask stays creamy on your face but still gets the job done. Does this mask stain your washcloth? Yes. Is it the end of the world? No. Since the mask stays so creamy, you don't need to scrub it off like you would other masks. I can literally rinse 85% of this mask off my face with getting my hands wet and rubbing gently rinsing. The other 14% I use a washcloth to get off... and on those nights, I just use a dark washcloth. For the last 1%, I use a cotton pad with my toner to sweep across my face which is usually left slightly grey. I have found that using this mask once a week along with my other skin care regimen has helped my minor break outs clear up faster than normal and help prevent a new blemish from showing. I have combination skin. I normally can't wear a moisturizer with sunscreen because I break out. After using this product I decided to try and introduce a sunscreen into my skin care regimen since I know it is so important. Over the past few months, i have only had one new blemish form. Normally I would break out within days of starting. I Know that this mask is the sole reason I can now handle the added sunscreen. If you are looking for some kind of ultra luxury experience that leaves you feeling like you just left the pampering spa, this is probably not it. It's not meant to be. It's a serious treatment to address pore size and detoxify your skin. This product does that and more with texture that no other mask has, which is something I expect from a luxury skin care brand.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

Received a couple of sample packages of this mask from my friendly Barney's representative and it was spectacular! My pores were super clean and my face was soft and my skin was bright. Splurged and bought a full sized product and am still loving it (9months later). The jar is made of glass so be careful.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown