3.4

Created with Sketch.
74 reviews
53%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

this is my favourite shampoo! it makes my hair feel squeaky clean when i'm washing. i don't use conditioner normally and my hair is short, it feels light and bouncy afterwards. also, i notice when i spent lots of time in the sun, my hair got a bit blonder! i think this is good for people who have oily hair or scalp, and don't wash frequently. i personally wash my hair 2x a week.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel



2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This product isn't for everyday use. Since its clarifying it's good for removing silicone & product buildup. I have wavy hair thats been henna'd multiple times. Henna'd hair and this shampoo do not mix well, at least in my experience. It's easy to work into my roots but my ends that have most henna just don't lather well. I end up with dry and staticky hair. I can't touch doorknobs and flip light switches because I get shocked. It's okay for once in a while use and with a good conditioner but other than that, it's a little too drying for me. Also I'm all about volume and shine, and this shampoo just gave me flat & dull hair.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Just writing this review so you don't waste your money on this product. I found this shampoo at Marshall's and even read the reviews about it causing dandruff but I didn't believe it would bc I have oily hair. I decided to try it to see if it could wash out build up in my hair so it wouldn't be so oily. Every time I use it I get giant flakes on my scalp. I like how it smells in the bottle, but it doesn't smell good once your hair dries. I'll stick to the neutragena clarifying shampoo from now on.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Tan

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Brilliant! I suffered from dandruff and oily scalp and had been using TBS ginger shampoo up until the Spring, when my hair became so oily I had to wash my hair every day. This prompted me to do a bit of research, resulting in a decision to hunt down some clarifying shampoo. While the reviews here state the shampoo is drying, I have not had this experience. This shampoo does sud up, but not as robustly as other shampoos, so it isn't as fun to use. That said, I feel that this shampoo has been the best for my hair. It thoroughly cleans my hair (but does not strip it to squeaky-clean levels), resulting in more volume (since it's not shellacked to my head), and my dandruff issue is gone. I only use conditioner after beach and poolside days. This shampoo is now on sale at TJ Maxx and Marshalls.

About reviewer (101 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination

HairBrown

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I had high hopes for this because not only is it organic & sulfate-free, but the scent is just marvelous. The first few uses were okay, I found that it removed buildup well but as time went by, my scalp started itching after usage, hairfall has increased & it left my thick, coarse, chemically-straightened hair quite stiff. I passed this on to my parents who use this after they dye their hair and they actually love it.

About reviewer (175 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Great gentle clarifying shampoo. Wonderful lemony smell. It's harder work up a good lather since it is SLS-free, but it can still be slightly drying, so make sure to condition or use some sort of treatment to retain moisture in the scalp afterwards.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I love this shampoo. I have long hair with an oily scalp, so to avoid washing my hair everyday I use Batiste dry shampoo between washes. I only use this shampoo 1-2x a week, as it is a clarifying shampoo and can prove to be stripping to hair if used everyday or even every wash. The days that I do not use this shampoo, I use The Body Shop's Ginger shampoo for dry scalp and I'm very happy with this routine. This has a great scent, rinses clean, and gives me a nice shine that's more noticeable than when I use TBS' Ginger shampoo. I think the price is fair because AO is committed to sustainable and cruelty-free practices.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Dried my hair out. Lots of hair fall out. It even dried out the skin on my hands. The same hands i used to wash my hair. I think I need something gentler. Had to stop using it.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

It's pretty drying, definitely not your every day shampoo! Also not for dyed hair since clarifying shampoos can be stripping. I have very thick long natural mildly curly hair, dry scalp too. This shampoo actually helps a lot, I use it once or twice a week. I'm getting ready to switch over to co-washing whenever I run out of what I got, including the Avalon clarifying duo. It has pretty much no lather. The first time I used it I actually used quite a lot because of no lather. But it cleans very well.

About reviewer (68 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I bought this shampoo after seeing lots of websites and models mentioning the product. I'm always looking for a slightly cheaper, but good quality shampoo that does amazing things for my hair. I've been unlucky so far, with only the (expensive) Keratese range taming my hair (it tends to catch static and tangle and the tops more than I would like it to). I gave this a go, I wanted to like it, but unfortunately, it isn't really working with my hair. It made my scalp quite itchy, left build-up, and worst of all, it made my hair super frizzy! However, it apparently reduced dandruff (my mom pointed this out, but I don't think so). I think the dandruff reduction may also be helped by a natural oil I'm using for my hair... so I'm not too sure about this either. This is an ok shampoo that didn't live up to it's expectation.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel