4.3

Created with Sketch.
26 reviews
84%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is one of the best hands down well formulated gentle water soluble cleansers at the pharmacy. I don't understand for the life of me why Cetaphil is so popular. Cetaphil has a gloppy texture that doesn't really cleanse well at all, certainly doesn't remove makeup and just feels like nothing. Maybe for a morning cleanse but when your washing the night off but for I definitely prefer the ego qv face gentle cleanser. Cetaphil also contains the ingredient everyone is so scared about Sodium Lauryl Sulfate but no one even seems to mention it when they are reviewing that cleanser. Anyway this one from QV has a base of petrolatum and safflower oil as a nice emollient cushioning effect to the gentle surfactant ingredients that make this cleanser foam up nicely. Most makeup can be removed very well with this cleanser, is clean rinsing and does not leave any pore clogging residue. Now that we are officially in winter this will be one of my main cleansers as it is gentle and does not dry out the skin as it is also soap free! A great budget beauty buy there is absolutely no reason to spend alot of money on cleansers. Cleansers are only on the skin for a few seconds to a minute and therefore do not need to contain expensive ingredients, in the brief moment that is cleansing i beleive ingredients dont have time to penetrate. All a cleanser can really do is cleanse gently without drying or irritating skin. It is colour and fragrance free and a nice milky texture.

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlack

EyesGreen



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Great gentle cleanser for pretty much all skin types (apart from super oily?). Doesn’t really help to fight acne or spots but hydrates skin and doesn’t irritate sensitive skin at all. Staple product for sure, and quite cheap to buy.

About reviewer (50 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

A really nice, gentle cleanser, unsure about it's cruelty free status though, if that is a concern to you, I use this or Cetaphil (not cruelty free) every day (or alternate days - just depends on which cleanser I feel like using and also on my skincare concerns at the time) and it's a nice, milky consistency that does cleanse well without leaving the skin feeling tight afterwards. Very simple and probably a good product for hypersensitive or sensitive skin as well as acne-prone or just-flared-acne (hormonal, dietary, other - this is me at the moment haha) and it does not irritate at all. I would consider this line almost a cheaper version of cetaphil and la roche posay (simple ingredients) and I use it with a microfibre washcloth which uses less cleanser, yay. Be aware of the expiration date on all cleansers though. Nice product that is well priced - I will not repurchase unless there are sales as I have too many cleansers to get through already! haha.

About reviewer (283 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My skin is sensitive at present because I foolishly used a product with glycolic acid on it for about two weeks, even though my skin has reacted badly to aha's in the past. Because of this, and the fact that it's winter and I'm working in a dry air conditioned office, I was on the hunt for a cream cleanser that wouldn't strip my skin, but also wouldn't clog my pores. QV is specifically formulated for sensitive skin so this fit the bill. It's fragrance free, concentrated and does the job. I use a small blob about the size of a 5 cent piece and that easily cleans my face and neck. It does a good job of removing light makeup such as non waterproof mascara, sunscreen, powder and powder blush, and I don't feel the need to double cleanse as long as I remove it with a wash cloth, rather than try and rinse it off with warm water. It would be a different matter if I used heavy makeup. I am currently using both this and the QV day cream with spf 30. The combination did give me a few pimples the first week as my skin adjusted to the richer products, but now it's fine. I also found that when I first used the cleanser, I used far too much. I purchased the large pump bottle, and one pump dispenses a blob of cleanser the size of a 20 cent piece, which is far more than I need. If you get the pump bottle, this is one thing to look out for, although someone with dry skin may be fine with that amount of cleanser. I have ticked that I will repurchase, because, as I get older my skin is getting more reactive. Products built to nurture sensitive skin, and a couple of well chosen anti aging ingredients is a better option for overall skin health now than trying to use too many anti aging ingredients in the hope of turning back time. I think this would be a good choice for most people, except for those who have very oily skin. For the record, I only use this at night. In the morning I use a soap free bar designed for the face. Cost for the 250ml pump bottle was around $22AU.

About reviewer (816 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Started using this once I began using doxycycline for my moderate acne as the drug makes your skin more sensitive. I have had red and irritated acne for years and this product makes it far less red and feels creamy on the skin. I doubted it would clean my skin much as it is light and doesn't really lather at all. But it even takes my eye makeup off. I thought it wouldn't help my acne as it had no salicylic or benzoyl or anything harsh. But after using cleansers with chemicals like that, and also using tea tree oil, I never want to go back. It has helped to save my skin along with doxy and benzac ac gel, and the QV spf moisturiser :)

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

This is my holy grail cleanser for Accutane and post-Accutane skin. I've tried this and Cetaphil, and I find prefer QV because it cleanses better, it is more moisturising, and it lathers somewhat. The texture of the QV face wash is interestingly creamy and it lathers too, which I just enjoy seeing. It cleans sufficiently if I'm just wearing moisturiser, but if I'm wearing makeup etc, I prefer to double cleanse with micellar water as step one, and QV as step two. That said, I have used QV to cleanse (no double cleansing) after wearing LIGHT makeup, and experienced no breakouts or any other skin issues. The packaging is attractive, although I'm not a fan of the flip-up lid on the 250 mL size because mine eventually broke off. But I was quite rough when using it in the shower. The 500 mL bottle has a press-pump which I much prefer. This would suit any skin type as long as you're not expecting this to remove a full face of makeup.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I was originally using Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Cleanser but decided it was a little bit too expense for me to regularly be purchasing. I have been using this QV cleanser in conjunction with the QV day cream and it has been working beautifully. I find this cleanser identical to the PC cleanser but considerably cheaper. Also much better than Cetaphil in my opinion - I believe it cleanses more sufficiently. I don't find it drying as others have stated, rather I find it leaves my skin lightly moisturised. Overall, don't waste your money on expensive cleansers, this one works perfectly.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I love this product. I have quite oily skin with a few blemishes and acne spots and it really has settled my skin down. I did go through I stage where is dried my chin out and other sensitive areas out but I think that May have been because I didn't wash it off properly! Love it though. Wouldn't recommend anything else

About reviewer (2 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Makes my skin feel light and clean after use but my skin is a bit on the oily side as the day goes on. It would probably be really good for people with dry-normal skin.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Totally amazing! Wish i had discovered this years ago. My skin has never looked so fresh, clear and healthy. Smooth milky texture and no scent. Reminds me a bit of an Ella Bache facewash I used previously (without the yummy scent though). Cheap at around $AU10-15 for a 250ml bottle, you only need a 20cent coin sized squirt to cover all your face & neck. Link is here: http://egopharm.com/our-products/qv-skincare/qv-face/qv-face-gentle-cleanser/ if you are searching for ingredients list. It feels very moisturising, my face is never dry after washing yet my makeup was gone. I will definitely continue to use this and recommend it to friends & family. UPDATE: Used this for a few months but found it almost TOO milky/moisturising (is there such a thing? LOL) my face started to not really feel clean after washing it and traces eye makeup seem to be left behind. Changed to another brand instead.

About reviewer (53 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us