2.3

Created with Sketch.
76 reviews
32%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This was my first line of deodarants that I tried out on the beginning of my “finding my HG all natural deodarant journey” a couple of years back. The apricot one was the first one that I tried and at first it was ok buuuuut then discomfort ensued:( I knew that since it was an all natural deodorant that it wouldnt absorb sweat like an antiperspirant would but really just mask the smell of sweat and beginning my aluminum antiperspirant detox was aware of the unpleasent first steps that would occur. As expected I did notice a funky smell after it weared off. But alot of people need to realize it isn’t necessarily the product that does this to you it’s the bacteria that harbours in your under arm area. No sweat absorption means increase in bacteria, hence the funk you may smell with any or most natural deodarants i have come to find. Just wash your armpits with antibacterial soap before you put it on once a day atleast i find that it helps keeps that problem at bay. Also, since there is no absorption it may cause some under arm stains on your clothes which is another complaint. But the worst of all was that it started causing a very painful red and swollen rash under my armpits. At first i thought this was perhaps just part of the detox process with having switched to a natural deodarant but found out that it really is just this deodarant after trying the lavender one sometime later down the road and just ending up with the same rash. I did some more research on it later to find out that it has some more irritating ingredients that caused those rashes for me propylence glycol which unfortunately was the first ingredient listed. It’s too bad coz i like most of the scents and have easier access to buying them at the store than most natural deodarants but sadly its a no go for me. Needless to say, if you have sensitive skin I would definitely steer clear of this deodarant. P.s So far I have found that the only natural deodarants that work for me are only found online. My favorites thus far are by the organic and independently owned fields of heather brand as well as lavender moon by spirit nest. They have a creamier consistency, smell great and don't cause those painful red rashes. But if you like a more water based consistency similar to toms, arm and hammer has one called essentials that is similar in texture but doesn’t cause the red rashes (at least not for me) just throwing it out there for anyone who is on the lookout for a better natural and aluminum free deodorant

About reviewer (205 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel



2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

At first I thought some of these reviews were exaggerations. But this scent smells like @$$. It really does almost make you smell worse with it on. Do not buy. Get a more neutral or fresh scent, apricot smells bad mixed with your sweat.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This was my first try at "natural" deodorant. I noticed after about a week that my armpits were red, peeling, and very irritated. So much for being kinder to my body! Needless to say I stopped use right away and my armpits went back to normal. There are plenty of natural deodorants out there that don't cause irritation, definitely skip this one!

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesGray


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I thought this deodorant actually worked quite well - I don't have a huge issue with smell and this works very well for me.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

Disappointed. I had high hopes for a natural deodorant. It darkened my pits, made me smell worse than I think I would had I not used it. This was actually my second try with Tom's Deodorant, the first was the Calendula scent which was ok, not great but ok. I thought the Apricot would be better as I wanted to go for a more feminine scent...I was wrong! I expressed to my SO my disappointment over my darkened pits, yet how great it is they don't do animal testing as I am a vegetarian, he says they did the testing on you, you're the animal! If you try this, try and get it on sale. It's just not worth shelling out $5 for something for which a cheapie deodorant would do a better job.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium Brown

HairBrown

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Awhile back, I believed all the hype about antiperspirants being bad for you. I purchased this deodorant hoping it would be a good alternative to mainstream antiperspirants/deodorants. Well I would have been better off using nothing at all. It was worse than bo. And I had just showered and was in a/c and yet this awful stench infused with apricot was coming from me! It was awful. Well thankfully I researched a little more about the whole antiperspirant thing and the whole claim that it is harmful is pretty much an urban legend. So I'm back to wearing mainstream stuff and I'm most definitely okay with that.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Other, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

This stuff is f-ing HORRIBLE! DO NOT BUY! This crap irritated my underarms like nothing before! It was really bad and took a few weeks for my underarms to recover. I developed a rash that stung and darkened my underarms also (been applying coconut oil to my underarms every night for several weeks to soothe the area during the night). If you check out the ingredients, I believe the culprit is ascorbic acid, other people say it is the ingredient 'zinc ricinoleate'. What ever the case is, this natural deodorant has been the worse deodorant I have ever tried (and even if the rash/burn never occurred, this deodorant left me fresh no longer than half the day. The ironic thing about this product is that I purchased the Tom's of Maine Long Lasting Wild Lavender roll on and have never had a reaction from that one AND it keeps me fresh for at least two days without reapplying (probable the salts). So try the roll on version.

About reviewer (120 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Dark, Not Sure

HairBlack, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Do not use if you have sensitive skin!!! Seriously, this stuff burned my underarms :( It's my fault for continuing to use it when it stung a bit in the first place. It's been about a week since I used it and my skin is still flaky, dry, and dark. Ugh :( And I see from other reviews that I'm not the only one. Even if you don't have sensitive skin or an allergic reaction to it, this isn't the best deodorant. It felt like it never dried, and there were times I felt self conscious because I didn't smell as good as usual. The one thing about it I enjoyed was the scent. This was a spontaneous purchase and I had thought that since it is a natural product, I shouldn't have any problems. Won't make that mistake again!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

What to expect in a deodorant: prevents bad BO, lasts at least 8 hours without souring, doesn't burn the armpits, texture isn't unpleasant, and doesn't stain clothing. The only positives I found to this deodorant are that it smells great and doesn't stain (more than normal, no-deo'd sweat.) Not horrible for an all-natural deodorant, but doesn't live up to being a deodorant. When a deodorant says long-lasting, I expect it do last me at least 8 hours as I sweat EXCESSIVELY. This lasted 3 hours of lounging in air conditioning before souring slightly. 2 hours of excessive work and it's gone and it's very noticeable. Doesn't prevent BO, doesn't last a few hours, and burns my armpits. 3 strikes, even with the lovely apricot smell. The texture is a bit gloopy while it settles in and there's no noticeable stain on my shirts or horrible salt rings, which is alright. I've tried many different brands (all of them?) with different compounds at different concentrations. Down to business; I sweat a hell of a lot. My dad does and I do. Couldn't have my mom's awesome genes for THAT, nope. One application of normal anti-perspirant/deodorant can't last her 2 whole days. My skin and sweat don't allow 24-hour anti-perspirants to halt or even slow my sweating to a more normal amount, but should delay the BO stank.

About reviewer (296 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I bought this because I was intrigued by the "all-natural"ness of it and because of how great it smelled. Unfortunately, I seem to be allergic to some ingredient in this deodorant. Immediately after applying, my skin stung and turned red. I can't say I'd buy this again despite it's amazing apricot scent. I hope it works for someone else out there.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us