4.5

Created with Sketch.
19 reviews
79%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I really like so many of Neostrata's product offerings but this was just alright for me. I am always on the look out for an effective chemical exfoliant for the body to help with roughness, textural irregularities and just to help build collagen. This body lotion is formulated at a effective pH so it will actually exfoliate the skin and it has 10% glycolic acid. I hated that it has a pump since the product was exposed to air making it less effective over time. The newer versions are now in a squeeze tube but you also get less product.The product as smoothing but I as not a fan of the smell and towards the end the product changed textures and became more runny. I won't repurchase as I will be trying the exfoliant from Makeup Artists Choice.

About reviewer (230 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Dark, Cool

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I am writing this review for using this product on Seborrheic Keratosis - not the Keratosis Pilaris that seems to be the more common condition. SK are wart-like growths that are disgusting and embarrassing. Heredity is the culprit and my dad had them, as does my sister. I'm 62 and first noticed them in my late 30's. At that point, I stopped wearing swimsuits and tops with low-cut backs. I had some burned off and begged my doctor to take more off but she wouldn't because they're non-cancerous. Doctors are useless for this condition. I paid hundreds of dollars to have some removed but couldn't afford to continue as there were dozens of them. I had bought this Neostrata product years ago and used sparingly but didn't see any difference. I was considering buying Glytone (higher % glycolic acid). Then I was at Loblaws (Canada) 2 months ago and saw this product marked down by 50%. I think it was marked wrong because the regular price was showing $9.99 so I got 5 bottles for $4.99 each! I came home and rigged a back applicator (by putting a pad made of a sheet of paper towel secured by an elastic over the end of a cheap, bamboo back- scratcher). I have been liberally applying it to my back 4-5 times a week (I've used almost 2 bottles) and the improvement is phenomenal! I would say only about 1/4 of the warts remain. This is nothing less than a miracle to me! I will continue and I'm sure that by the end of another month they'll be almost totally gone! Awesome product!!! NOTE: Contact lens wearers beware!! Make sure all of it is washed well off your fingers before applying lens. NOTE: Also I've been adding a pea-size amount to my facial moisturizer a couple times a week to brighten up my skin. UPDATE June 15 2016 - Success! All that's left on my back now are some freckles! :D

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

I bought this product because it contains 10% glycolic acid, and I had read somewhere that glycolic acid is a good exfoliator. Quite honestly, I didn't expect to be as impressed with this lotion as I am. Although it is a lot thinner than other lotions I have used in the past, it seems to moisturize my dry skin very well. Usually I'll notice dry skin on my legs by the end of the day, but with this product that issue is completely gone. I believe that this lotion is meant to be unscented. Usually, I like to have some kind of scent in the lotions that I use. This has a bit of a chemically/neutral scent to it (which dissipates quickly after application), I'm not really a fan of the smell, but it really isn't a major issue. The major selling point is how soft it made my skin -literally baby soft. Seriously! My boyfriend pointed it out without me saying anything at all about this lotion or the change in my routine. Anyway, I am running low and am going to purchase another bottle. The price is a bit of a drawback (I think I paid $27CAD for it originally during a promo at Shoppers Drug Mart, but I can't remember for sure). Either way, I would definitely recommend it.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Medium Brown, Not Sure

HairBlack, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I love this lotion. I use it about twice a week and my skin is soft and moisturized. The small red bumps on the backs of my arms have all but disappeared. I used to use Glytone which has a higher glycolic acid content but I like Neostrata's lotion much better. It is absorbed faster and does not smell as bad. I will definitely keep buying this product and recommend it to anyone that has dry skin on their arms and legs or suffers from keratosis pilaris.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I am reviewing the Body Smoothing Lotion This stuff is a MUST HAVE and works amazing if you have those little dots on your upper fore arms (reddish or darker skinned ones). They do practically disappear over use of this lotion. I have started my 2x use per day as summer is approaching. Pump is awesome and if you live in Canada, Shoppers drugmart often has gifts or a sale on Neostrata, I have not seen this at Save on Foods

About reviewer (75 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Don't use it as a daily body lotion. I use it as a after shave lotion. Gets rid of my dead skin cells from shaving and prevents ingrown hairs. My sister uses it after waxing and it does.the same for her. Burns if you get it in a cut but well worth it for no little red bumps. Smells bad but for how often I need to use it doesnt bother me. Works amazing on my lady business for.in grown hairs pimples and razor burn clears everything right up so I look sexy in a bikini. Works quickly has saved my life at times. Hats off to neostrata great product

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

Tried this for my dry skin, and it didn't perform in any way!!! Not only did it not exfoliate at all, it isn't even a good moisturizer. It's thin and and bluish/transparent. MUCH prefer the Reversa Skin Smoothing Body lotion. 2 applications of it, & my skin is smooth as silk! UPDATE 1/2/2017 Found my HG body lotion, CeraVe SA lotion and cream. Check out my review. It's seriously THE BEST body lotion ever.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination

HairRed

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I have sensitive skin with keratosis pilaris (KP), so I am prone to red bumps on my upper arms and thighs. My skin is a little bit on the dry side because of this. However if I use creams that are too heavy, they don't absorb well and may break me out. This lotion is light, absorbs quickly, and although it has a bit of a medicine smell, it fades fast. It leaves my skin SO smooth!! It's the only moisturizer I've ever tried that really gets rid of KP bumps. I am 8 months pregnant right now and I have been using this on my belly every few days, because heavier body butters break me out. If you have severely dry skin, I would caution that this lotion MIGHT not offer enough moisture for you. But for ANYONE with KP, you should seriously give this a try, it's HG material!!!

About reviewer (66 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I absolutely love this product!!! I just finished my first bottle and went straight to the Drugstore to buy another one...I cant be without this moisturizer.I never really care for body lotions, whatever I can get my hands on is usually what I purchase especially if it smells good, but the ones that smells good are usually the ones that don't moisturize enough and I end up with dry,flaky skin. So about few months ago I started breaking out on my chest area, they were red and at most times they were kinda itchy and they were just there no matter what product I use to get rid of them until I stumbled upon this product. It completely got rid of the spots within days and evened out my skin tone and got rid of the dark spots. This lotion contains 10% glycolic acid & it slowly exfoliate your skin while at the same time moisturizes it and it removes flakiness and build up dead cells and this leaves my skin very smooth and supple, even after the next day my skin is still as smooth as the first time I applied this on. The only con about this product is the price, its very expensive but to me it's worth the investment. I'm not very fond of the smell, I mean its probably something I would not buy if all my moisturizer smells like this but for the results that it gives me..i could care less if it smells like cat pee or something lol..I actually have some sort of hyperpigmentation on my lowest waist and back and Im not sure where it came from, my dermatologist dont exactly know what it is and prescribed me all sorts of medication but it was still there, it never went away and that bothered me alot. I started using this religiously everyday after showering all over the area and within 2 weeks, the hyperpigmentation has subsided and to me that's a dramatic result considering it took me a few years trying to get rid of it. I can barely see it anymore and with continous usage of this product, I know my hyperpigmentation will finally disappear...HG product!=)

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

11 years ago

I am a fan of Neostrata's glycolic facial cream so I decided to pick up the body lotion to try it out. I have extremely dry skin during the winter time, and fairly dry skin during the summer time. I had read that this lotion will "cure" and improve dry skin. Well, I'm glad I purchased this lotion as my skin is so silky smooth and oh so supple. I cannot stop touching my tummy area as that is the most softest part of my body, and has NEVER felt this soft before in my life! When I first applied this lotion to my body, it stung but only for a short period of time. It has a bit of an off scent to it, but not so strong that it gets annoying. The scent disappears after it has completely absorbed into your skin. For the first 10 days, I used it everyday, but after that I only use it every other day, alternating it with another lotion. Overall a very good product and I will keep buying this product over and over again.

About reviewer (80 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Other

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us