L'Artisan Fragrances L Ete en Douce

No Image

3.6

20 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


on 4/16/2017 4:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Not only would I buy this perfume again, in fact I already have done so, just in case I run out of it at some point in the future :)

Now I'm no connoisseur when it comes to perfumes in general, all I've ever been able to say on the subject is whether a perfume is fresh or sweet, summery or wintery, strong or mild, more for a younger person or for an older one - or just simply whether I like it or not.

I bought L'Ete en Douce online, without trying it out first, on the strength of Mimosa Pour Moi - another lovely scent by L'Artisan Parfumeur. I figured, if this brand managed to produce a bunch of freshly cut mimose blossom in a bottle, they can't really go all that wrong with their other scents.

And boy, am I happy that I held on to that thought :)

L'Ete en Douce is the loveliest perfume I've ever owned. I do smell the hay and the linden in it, but it's not what you can break this perfume into that matters - it's what it smells like as a whole, in my opinion.
And as a whole it is unobtrusive, elegant, sweet and gentle, subtle and feminine (without being an old-lady kind of perfume, if you know what I mean).
Some people here complain about the lack of longevity, but I personally can smell this perfume on my skin and clothes for hours and hours after the application.

I would agree with all of the reviewers here that it's primarily a summer scent, as its name suggests; however, I distinctly feel a certain bitter note in it as well.
It's very light, but it's there, and it is this very note that makes this perfume so special - it creates such a lovely nostalgic mood... Which to my mind is indicative of not so much the actual summer, but rather of a longing for the summer or that feeling you get looking back at the summer that's gone by way, way too fast - in, say, September.
So I can perfectly well imagine myself wearing this scent almost all year round, except maybe in winter time.

To sum up: think tenderness, understatement, lightness, genuine (not in-your-face) femininity, gentle sweetness.
That's what this perfume is.

3 of 4 people found this helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Just got myself a bottle from a niche perfumery shop. I loved it from very first spray. I should say I did not know what to expect and the scent appeared quite unique to me compared to anything else I own.
I would love it for both spring and summer days when I need just a light swift of perfume which is rather skin scent than a tail-y fragrance.


on 8/29/2012 5:57:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Reminiscent of fragrant twigs and freshly soaped skin, l'Été en Douce is light and ethereal and I find it wears better on fabric than on my skin. On fabric it unfolds with the subtle honey nuances of linden and orange blossom with hints of petitgrain; where as on skin, the clean "white musks" and synthetic "white woods" notes are taking over. And there is also an underlining bitterness, reminiscent of almonds but not quite - the mark of coumarin (hay is listed among the notes, but there is non of its delicious sweetness, so I think it's just coumarin - adorable all the same, but just a little flatter).

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 4/19/2012 12:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a gorgeous summer fragrance, very sheer and feminine. On me it's linden-dominant with some support from green leaves and a hint of orange blossom. It reminds me of a favourite passage in Raymond Chandler's "The Long Goodbye": "She was standing close to me. I smelled her perfume. Or I thought I did. It hadn't been put on with a spray gun. Perhaps it was just the summer day." It would be a five but for its fleetingness, a typical L'Artisan trait.

5 of 6 people found this helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I remember receiving a sample of this when it was first released under "Extrait de Songes" and I was immediately smitten. I knew I'd go through bottles, plural. I adore L'ete en Douce (Soft/Sweet Summer Day? Anyone?) and keep a bottle handy, as it it refined and genteel; perfect for any given relaxing day filled with sunshine, clean cotton dresses hanging on the line, cool breezes on a porch swing and Southern Comfort. I am all in when a fragrance lists hay as a note, and I'm also a fan of linden. This one has both, which are the two stand out notes. I sometimes find both orange blossom and musk a bit much for my liking, but they are well balanced here, and the mint is very subtle. I wear L'ete en Douce on occasion in the winter, but truly enjoy spritzing with abandon on lazy summer days. As my favorite Jour de Fête has been discontinued, I imagine I'll reach for this one more often in the future. It's gorgeous and refined but still fun and sparkly. Notes: mint, rose, orange blossom, linden, hay, woods, and white musk

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 6/27/2010 11:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

If you're looking for a cross between Ivory soap and Tide, this is the one for you! Sadly, it makes me sneeze. Once it gets into the drydown, though, it mellows out and becomes quite soft.

3 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 12/27/2009 1:24:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This sounds so nice that I have no earthly idea how it can turn so awful on me. The notes include mint leaves, rose, orange blossom, linden, green hay, white woods, white musk, and dogwood. This is the sort of thing I’d jump to buy unsniffed, and illustrates why I must not. It’s supposed to bring to mind the dew on the grass in the cool evening after a warm summer day. I get that it’s green and cool, but regretfully on me it’s more like lying in a weedy ditch with diesel trucks going past. Good luck. It has to be better on everyone else.


on 2/11/2009 7:54:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I agree that it is a calm fragrance, "summery". Fresh and clean, somehow very dry, but at the same time a way too detergent-like. I usually like those kind of "clean", even soapy smells, but this one developes into a too "laundry-detergent" type of scent. It lacks a "sparkle".


on 7/26/2008 2:12:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I'm testing this for the first time today. It reminds me a bit of Malle's En Passant because it has the same wheat (hay?) note, but it's not as strong as it is in En Passant. I also got a note of linden - I'm glad the reviewer below said it because I wasn't sure what I was smelling but just thought to myself, "linden!". :-) This is a very pleasant summery fragrance. It reminds me of being in the country during summer, the smell of fields and country lanes. I think it's a bit nicer than laundry sheets.


on 7/21/2008 7:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely love this scent! For me at least what's not to love!? L Ete en Douce is a perfect scent for a hot humid weather we have every summer, it lifts my spirits - it's perfect for the office as well as weekends when I just want to relax. I find it soothing and calming and delicate in a way, but at the same time it's attractive and happy. L Ete en Douce sure knows how to get a compliment and gets noticed every time I wear it :). Oh and I better mention that on me it lasts all day as I get compliments on it hours and hours after application.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.

Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1421 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
159 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
La Vie Est Belle
199 Reviews
Back to Top