Graftobian HD CREME FOUNDATIONS, 64 SHADES

Graftobian  HD CREME FOUNDATIONS, 64 SHADES

4.1

170 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Caprylic/Capric/Triglyceride, Octyl Palmitate, Carnauba Wax, Petrolatum, Lanolin Oil, Bees Wax, Ozokerite Wax, Acetylated Lanolin Alcohol, PTFE, BHA, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Isopropylparaben, Isobutylparaben, N-Butylparaben. May contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Talc, Ultramarines.

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 7/17/2018 9:06:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My shade is Lady Fair (for reference Phyrrah the beauty blogger also wears that shade, and I find if it matches her it matches me) I can also wear Ivory, but Lady fair (neutral vs ivory's warm) is far better.

I tried the "Ultra-Lites" Pallette. I was surprised to find Silk Sprite, porcelain and Nymph too light to use except for concealer. It's rare I find something to pale for me. There is a great color range here.

I had high hopes for this but could not get it to work. With a beauty blender, brush or fingers. Wet or dry, even stippled and blended. I have dry skin but a few areas I want a little coverage on. I have used stick foundations before but this just didn't want to blend well on me.

I don't know if it wasn't playing well with my primer, etc...but I just couldn't make it work with any technique. Maybe it's just me since others love it. Even as a concealer only I found it hard to blend and cakey.

When it goes "off" or bad, it starts to smell really rancid and eventually I had to throw it away but I never mastered using it, sadly. It may be just me, my skin or my technique though. It is the thickest, most pigmented foundation I've ever seen. I just couldn't get it to blend well on me.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have tried them all, from drugstore to highend, and for a long time I stayed with Kevyn Aucoin Sensual Skin Enhancer in SX06, thinned and mixed with a silicone-based face complex, for my oily, dehydrated, sensitive, acne-prone complexion...oh what fun!

Recently, I had a terrible acne flare-up which left me with flaky skin and horrible scars which I am treating with Retin A. I find that I really need to raise the bar as the Kevyn Aucoin, though opaque and heavy, still couldn't cover the scars and the flakiness is very visible and horrible with the KA SSE.

I decided I need a heavy-duty makeup, like a stage/theater makeup, and read the reviews on Graftobian and bought one for myself. It is very affordable at USD25 for a 20g pot. The KA SSE is twice the price for a 18g pot. The color in between Ingenue/Vixen suits me well.

First, I am surprised by the texture - it is opaque but fine, creamy and powdery, with a primer-like texture, without any silicones. It is very different from the sticky creamy texture of the KA SSE, and I doubted if it would last for hours but it did.

I also applied in very thin layers, patting with my fingers, more where I needed them to cover the scars, and very little where I didn't. Although it looks a bit flat, I must say it gives a nearly perfect, smooth, matte, even finish. I didn't have to powder at all even in hot summer weather, but I applied highlighting powder, blush and a primer to achieve a more natural finish.

The Graftobian foundation also helps to hide the flakiness with the right method. The skin needs to be exfoliated (I used fine cinnamon powder, which fights bacteria, to exfoliate gently and naturally), moisturized with sunscreen, left to absorb and normalize, and the foundation must be applied by pressing and patting in very thin layers over the scarring, flaking skin. This is amazing as I couldn't achieve this almost flawless finish with the KA SSE which simply wouldn't stay put on the flaky skin.

So this is now my HG concealer and foundation, at a drugstore product price! I won't go back to the KA SSE - if I use the Graftobian as a concealer and apply tinted moisturizer/sunscreen over the areas where less coverage is needed, I achieve the same, more dewy finish as the KA SSE.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 5/22/2017 5:44:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I started using this a few months ago because my 40 year old skin is so strange now. The product is awesome!!! You can use as little or a lot as you like! I use two shades on my face then blend with a blender brush. I love that the tiniest amount gives great coverage and is really lightweight. I also use the color corrector palette. It's easy to over apply because you're use to regular foundation, so really start out sparingly. You can always build on it. If you get one of the palettes in your color range you can highlight and contour with the other colors. With aging skin this product is great, doesn't sink into wrinkles or cake if you use sparingly. You'll need a setting powder.

Tip: Use a foundation brush to dot on your face then use a blender brush to blend out. If you have too much on use a beauty blender to remove some.


on 3/2/2017 8:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have terribly uneven skin. My skin is very red from rosacea, and I have patches psoriasis along my hairline. So I need high coverage foundation to tone down my beet/lobster/sunburned looking skin. Graftobian is in my top ten brands for foundations. The creme formula works well with dry skin, though, it does develop oil as I wear it. The colors I like the best are Buff, Aurora, and Sunrise Flush, and I normally mix them to get my exact shade.

Pros: High coverage, a little goes a long way, and they have a great variety of colors.

Cons: It's difficult to blend, it gets oily as you wear it so you need to re-powder, it can apply cakey if you don't blend it right, and I feel that I don't get a lot of product for the price.

This is a nice foundation, and does even out my skin, but the price tag and the need for retouches make me hesitate to reach for this one. I find it blends better than Kryolan foundations, but I find the Kryolan looks better in photographs. I think Graftobian, however, looks better in person.

I recommend this foundation if you're looking for high coverage, and are willing to devote time into blending it. I bought mind in a palette, and the pots were very small. You really only need a little bit, but I just feel for the size you get that it's a little pricey.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 11/22/2016 4:10:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is the most amazing product on earth...seriously I've tried everyone's foundation. This HD creme produces an absolutely flawless AND undetectable finish. I'll never use anything else. For the money ($20) per pot...a serious bargain for what it does. It lasts forever.
I apply it with a damp foundation sponge...need very very little product. Try it...you'd love it

9 of 9 people found this helpful.


on 7/6/2016 8:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

My go to makeup! It's stage makeup so definitely it's heavier but you can control the coverage by using a damp beauty blender. Lasts and covers imperfections perfectly and smoothly if applied well. I use this on myself and my brides!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 5/15/2016 3:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this foundation. I use it on all my clients. ( shoots-brides-shows ) It has a very very high coverage is extremely creamy and if you have the warm and neutral palette you really can do the make up of allmost anyone in the world.( but the slik sprite and you can mix for extreme light skin and you're done! ) You can get to everybody their color very easy I never have trouble mixing with these colours they are very obvious and easy. Applying is also very easy you can do it with anything you like I reccoment a brush or sponge or both. It looks really soft/HD. You don't get a cake face easily with this because a tiny amount covers allot and it's also great for mixing with a light cream and create a lighter foundation. I allways mix it with cream on clients except op the undereye area I use it pure. And on problem skin I use it pure all over. It does cling to dry skin extremely so people do need to take care of their skin and moisterize and exfoliate. But I had brides who had parts of skin it clinged on to and when they took care of their skin a couple of weeks the foundation went on great ! But whenyou are allways dry/patchy you will hate this it makes it look a 100 times worse. Not a great choice for realy oily skin. A bit oily is okay just set it with a powder puff and use a good primer before hand. Or mix the primer into the foundation. But can really slide off on "extremely" oily skin and sometimes cause breakouts I heard but I haven't had that problem so far but I do clients only one time and not everyday and I'm sure that makes the difference in that problem. Packaging is great it's a small palette but a little bit goes a lonngg way trust me it takes a while before you get it ;) The only bas part about the packaging and I also communicated that with the company is the mirror. It's okay that it's there..it is a pro product and we don;t really need a mirror in there that's more for personal users. But the edge of the mirror is bare and quite rough. It's not nicely processed in the pallette. Mine didn't get get any hits but still I had one time that I opened it and suuupertny pieces of glass were in the foundation because the edge of the mirror had lost a shard..that is really not acceptable for a pro product we should be able to travel with. But the company really took it seriously so who knows :) !

8 of 9 people found this helpful.


on 4/5/2016 3:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

In Bobbi Brown I'm a 4.5 Warm Natural, in MAC I'm somewhere in between NC 40 - 42 (never could find my perfect match there), in Graftobian I am a Desert Sand (I can use Golden Sunset for bronzing the outer parts of my face and Buttermilk as an undereye concealer).

This foundation is incredibly creamy and easy to apply. A little seriously goes a very long way - and even though I've had the palette it for years, it hasn't dried out.

Would definitely repurchase as a refill for my cream foundation over any other cream/liquid foundation that I've tried. Excellent value for the amount of product you get.

7 of 7 people found this helpful.


on 12/3/2015 6:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is the only foundation I've found that can match my skin tone perfectly (Bombshell). It does take practice, and a well moisturized face is key. I have applied it many different ways, my favorite is mixing 1:1 with Graftobian Aloevation and applying with a Sephora #56 brush. It's cruelty free, and looks just like skin.

6 of 6 people found this helpful.


on 5/12/2015 3:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is my holy grail foundation. I was able to visit Makeup Mania in Denver and get a perfect match. Cashmere Beige. When I got home I started experiencing buyer's remorse~ it seemed so goopy and too dark and weird. And then I took it out of the packaging and started experimenting.
This foundation can be as sheer or heavy as you want to make it. Used straight it's a great concealer. I sheer it out with primer or moisturizer. The ratio depends of how my skin looks on a given day. I love that flexibility. And believe me, this foundation is so pigmented that a tiny bit goes a long long way. Naturally I learned that lesson the hard way.
I applied this foundation to one half of my face and was stunned to see it was a perfect match to my skin colour. It evened out my skin tone, blurred out pores and lines, covered dark circles. My skin but way way better. I'm a believer!

12 of 12 people found this helpful.


Popular Crème Foundations


Future Skin
Future Skin
328 Reviews

Popular Crème Foundations

Future Skin
Future Skin
328 Reviews
Back to Top