4.3

Created with Sketch.
22 reviews
86%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have been experimenting with other products. I purchased Clairol Creme Toner in Champagne Beige. No weird violet or gray tones showed up so I think it was a good neutral blonde selection. First off, I did not use the recommended 20 volume peroxide with it as I was worried about my very bleached hair being excessively damaged. I used Ion Sensitive Scalp 10 volume developer (peroxide). I must say the Ion developer is the strongest smelling hair product I have ever used!! Eye-stinging strong. Fortunately, the burning sensation was limited to a few irritated spots on my scalp and it did not seem to further damage my hair <a href="https://time4buying.com/best-hair-toners/">9 Best Hair Toners to Use [For Brassy & Blonde hair]</a>. I left the toner on for about seven minutes which is less than recommended. This was my first experience with the product so I was cautious. Next time I would leave it on the full 10-20 minutes as I did not get as deep of color as I had wanted. The color has lasted about as well as other toners I have used.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther



5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I'm 100% pure Italian. My father was the first generation to be born in America, making me a 2nd generation American. So, this next statement will not be shocking: my natural hair color is VERY dark brown. Just this side of black. Close your eyes think of what espresso looks like in a porcelain white cup. See it? Really dark, right? This, my friends, is the only reason I bothered to mention that little nugget of information, about my lineage. I am a trained cosmetologist. I went to school for 2 years in New York and by 18, was a NY State licensed Cosmetologist. So, dying or bleaching my hair should not pose too much of a problem. Except, my hair has its own ideas and much like me, doesn't really care for the rules! Take my hand. Don't be scared. You are about to enter another dimension, a dimension not only of sight and sound but of mind. A journey into a wondrous land of imagination. Next stop, the Twilight Zone! WE'RE HERE!! You younger ones are very lost, I know, but it's safe here, ask the many who recognize it as the '80's. Eccentric looking singers were everywhere. Billy Idol, Twisted Sister, Joan Jett, Annie Lennox, Cyndi Lauper, Madonna, Adam Ant, Boy George and Cher. Well, wait. The '80's didn't give us Cher. It seems we've ALWAYS had Cher *shrugs* she is ever changing and timeless, so I thought she deserved a shout out. Punk Rock and big hair were all the rage. Seems everyone had streaks, chunks or a full head of bleached blonde (in some cases shockingly white and in most cases burnt, frazzled and very frizzy!) hair. Did I say everyone? Correction: everyone ELSE, NOT me. Sorry if I keep scaring the younger ones in the crowd. This may seem archaic but, this IS how we did it. The '80's technique for streaking hair: Salon: ill-fitting rubber cap & metal crochet needle. DIY: store bought kit, leaky plastic cap & plastic crochet needle which left leopard spots all over your head! Foils weren't even a concept yet! Remember up there *points* I told y'all my hair didn't like rules? In order to get the blonde, hair needs to be stripped down to a pale yellow (or a color even close to yellow, would really help!) the most my hair was willing to do was ORANGE! BRASSY! UGLY! So, whatever, blonde wasn't happening then. At one point, I stumbled upon Kaleidocolors. Bleach and toner in one! Since my hair was so dark and prone to turning orange, I chose the violet to offset the brassiness. I want to say I used probably 40 volume peroxide but, I can't swear to that! I put the bleach on, covered my head in tin foil (creating chemical reaction and more heat, hey, I need all the help I can get to help my hair yield to the rules!!), covered head in plastic bag and because this product said it needed heat to work, I used a really old fashioned plastic bonnet/plastic hose, housed neatly in its own little round case, hair dryer. (Older folks will remember the apparatus I speak of fondly. Younger ones may find themselves scared again, for that, I apologize) Kaleidocolors worked wonderfully for me. Until my little antique bonnet dryer took a crap! No way I was risking using a blow dryer and getting uneven heat! That could be a disastrous orange mess!! So, I settled for dying my hair a very dark brown. Now, I am now going to be 50 in February. My hair is just about all grey, with the exception of a black streak 2"-3" wide, down the center and some of the hair underneath in the nape area, but for the most part, I'm grey. You would think that would make getting my hair blonde, to cover this grey up, a LOT easier right? Well, you would be wrong! I had a hell of a time! It STILL wanted to turn ORANGE!! Then at one point it turned a pineapple color, which I ALMOST couldn't fix! (I said almost couldn't.. I AM a trained professional after all!!) I have to tell you all, I am the trained one. BUT, my poor mother is the one that gets stuck doing the actual job. It IS stressful because we NEVER know what my hair is going to do and, did I mention my hair is down to my waist?? Yeah, my hair is all one length and down to my waist! So, my mom, Lord knows I love her, gets wrangled into doing this for me. In my defense, I go and buy all the stuff, I mix it all and I walk and talk her through the entire process. So, whatever happens, it's not her fault, well, it's not totally my fault either, remember I'm fighting the whole thing about my hair and the rules. So, after a lot of experimenting, a lot of strange colors, a lot of crying, screaming frustration and cursing (specifically dropping the "F" bomb all over God's creation!) I did managed to get a color I LOVED!! It was PERFECT for me. Just the color I was trying to achieve all those years!! Here's how I got my perfect shade of blondness: 3 packets Clairol Lightening Activators - 7th Stage @ .99 each, a bottle of Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener Double Drabbing Action about $4.99 (for max. decolorization and 8 - 10 keels of lift) and Clairoxide Pure White 20 Volume Creme Developer 16 oz, I bought the large one because I would need it for the toner also. It was about $4 Lastly, and most importantly, the perfect color could not happen for me without Clairol 301D Creme Toner Directions found on the back of the activator packets: 4 oz. 20 volume Clairoxide Developer with 1-3 lighteining activators, mix well, add 2 oz. of lightener (this would be the double drabber) and mix gently. Lighten to proper level of decolorization (45-60) minutes), rinse. Apply a toner if necessary or desired. In my case, VERY necessary! Clairol, in all their infinite wisdom, discontinues 301D? They don't even replace the EXACT color in their new product line? WHY? They give an alternative BUT a neutral base when 301D had blue, it makes a difference people! Clairol knows this! Clairol, if you are reading this, PLEASE, give us an alternative in your new line with a BLUE base so we can continue achieving the color that took, some of us, YEARS to perfect! I'm dyin' ovah here! Than

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

When I first went Platinum Blonde in summer of 2009, and it gave me the results I wanted for over a year. It didn't turn my hair grey or purple, and it also left it in a good condition. The Two shades that I've used are 323 extra-lite platinum and 301 white beige. I'm very disapointed that clairol has decided to discontinue the product.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

No way to describe thos but AMAZING! Oh and according to my hair dresser: discontinued.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

9 years ago

Hearing rumors that peroxide-free Born Blonde toner is going to be discontinued, I have been experimenting with other products. I purchased Clairol Creme Toner in Champagne Beige. No weird violet or gray tones showed up so I think it was a good neutral blonde selection. First off, I did not use the recommended 20 volume peroxide with it as I was worried about my very bleached hair being excessively damaged. I used Ion Sensitive Scalp 10 volume developer (peroxide). I must say the Ion developer is the strongest smelling hair product I have ever used!! Eye-stinging strong. Fortunately, the burning sensation was limited to a few irritated spots on my scalp and it did not seem to further damage my hair. I left the toner on for about seven minutes which is less than recommended. This was my first experience with the product so I was cautious. Next time I would leave it on the full 10-20 minutes as I did not get as deep of color as I had wanted. The color has lasted about as well as other toners I have used. For hair bleached to gold/yellow (rather than the light yellow of mine) I think the recommended 20 volume peroxide would be necessary. Addendum: Anyone bleaching their hair to light yellow really should try to not use toners containing peroxide as your hair is already quite damaged. EDIT: I have abandoned peroxide toners in favor of other less-damaging products such as Roux Fancifull Rinse, and the few semi-permanent non-prexoide toners available. Edit II: Since locating a Born Blonde Non-Peroxide Toner dup in the UK called Proclere Herbal Blond Toner, I am now ordering from them or on EBay and it seems just as good as the discontinued Clairol Born Blonde NPT.

About reviewer (308 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

Hi Ladies...if you are reading this then I am assuming it is because you have found yourself in the same tragic position that I have! I have always gone to a salon for coloring. I have dark blonde/light brown hair naturally and my stylist has always donea fabulous job. However, not wanting to spend the $300 and 4 hours at the salon, I attempted to do this myself. I started using Feria platinum blonde and OMG! It was HORRIBLE. I had flourescent power ranger YELLOW hair with orange chunks. I was mortified. It was so bad, I wouldn't even allow my ponytail to hang out of the back of my hat as I rushed to purchase some toner! I had heard that toner would be helpful at eliminating said problem, so with fingers tightly crossed I purchased Clairol white beige (which had a violet undertone). I followed the directions exactly and when I dried my hair it was not flourescent, but it was CERTAINLY very VERY yellow still. Think Holly Madison yellow. I was certain I was going to blind other pedestrians as I rushed off to purchase yet ANOTHER toner. This time I chose "Towhead" by Clairol. The mix was a beige color which scared me at first, but after about 10 minutes I began to see my hair turn a pale shade of purple/violet. Again, terrified, I rinsed a strand and it seemed to be working so I took a deep breath and left it in for 10 more minutes (20 minutes total). When I dried my hair this time, it was total magic. It was the EXACT shade that I had been trying to accomplish from the start, a light blonde without being "LOOK AT ME" platinum. And it didn't seem to damage my hair at all. I would HIGHLY recommend this product. It does produce quite an odor so be careful if you have pets or are not in a well ventilated space. My hair will probably stink for another day or two but it is a small price to pay considering what I started with. I would use this product again and again and again. The swatch in the store didn't look like a flattering color, but when I read that it had blue and violet undertones I prayed for the best. DON"T PANIC if your hair looks to be a dull purple while the product is working! Good luck and I hope you have the same results I did (in the end, NOT in the beginning!).

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

It's....okay. Not the holy grail I was hoping it would be. I bleached my hair from about a level 8 to go a few shades lighter and it was orange-y when I was done. I know people say you should bleach it from an orange to a pale yellow, but the bleach had been on for over 60 minutes. I wasn't about to kill my hair so I washed it out. I used this toner in Towhead which knocked my hair from pale orange to pale yellow. I'm still brassy as all get out, though. I don't have a Sally's down the street to run and get another bottle and developer. I'm in a foreign country of people with mostly black hair where dying platinum is not really done all that often. And the few I have seen have had bright orange or yellow hair. I have ordered another toner, but this time I'm going with Wella color charm and it might take weeks to get here. We'll see which I like better. This toner did go on an ashy brownish shade...and not a violet like I'd hoped. I've noticed that any color that goes on my hair as violet ALWAYS gets the end result I want. This says it's a violet-based toner, but the results didn't turn out the way I expected. Overall, the product did knock a lot of brass out of my hair, but didn't give the end result I was hoping for color-wise. As far as the damage potential, my hair, despite being bleached and put through hell, did end up in wonderful condition. The toner didn't seem to hurt it. Then again, I mixed up Tigi Bed Head Dumb Blonde with some V05 hot oil for a hair mask immediately after the bleaching and toning. A second application might do the trick with this, but I'm really dying to try the Wella since it's gotten so much hype and I don't want to have to tone my hair AGAIN if a 2nd application finds that this toner just isn't for me.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

10 years ago

OMG this is a god send! I have been getting my hair professionally highlighted along with a base color that is a few shades lighter than my natural color. My hair gets pretty brassy fast, and it's organge-y and yellow-y (due to the highlights and base color). I've used Shimmer Lights and it works fine, but sometimes makes my hair look grey and really dull and doesn't get the orange tones out. I don't want to spend tons of money on purple AND blue shampoos. I also don't want to go into the salon but every couple of months, seeing as how it's uber expensive. So, I went into Sally's and asked the associate there which toner she would recommend for my hair. She suggested the 311 Towhead because it is a blue and violet based toner. Perfect! Trust me, I was really scared and researched the heck out of this before I started. I went on here and noticed that most reviewers said to leave it on longer than the directions indicate. So, here's what I did. I applied the toner to my roots and about 3 inches out to bump that color up and left it on for about ten minutes. Then I applied the toner to the rest of my hair and left it on for about another 15 minutes. I got scared because it was turning really dark (now I know it's just the blue/violet tones doing their magic) so I rinsed after that. I applied a good deep conditioner in the shower and left it on for about 5 minutes and then rinsed again with cool water. It looks fabulous! Not too ashy (which I hate because it looks dull and doesn't reflect light). It's very neutral, which is exactly what I was hoping for. Next time I'm going to leave it on a bit longer. I just don't know how often I can tone. I'll research a bit more to see but my hair does go brassy fast. I wish I had known about this before... (I'm relatively new to coloring)

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

i swear by this stuff!!!!! its seriously like magic

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Other

HairBlond

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I used Clairol 323d Extra Light Platinum. My hair was double processed from a dyed light brown using 30vol for the first bleaching and 20vol for the second a few days later. The color was a light yellow-orange when I used this toner. I mixed the toner to a 1:1 ratio with half 20vol and half 30vol developer and left it on my hair for about 20-30 minutes. When I rinsed it out, there was hardly a change at all. I read later on forums that most people choose to leave the toner in for a greater amount of time than directed, which is where I might have gone wrong. Not sure if I'll buy this again - I'm going to try Wella White Lady toner tonight instead.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue