4.0

Created with Sketch.
29 reviews
58%
would repurchase
4.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I bought this toner at my local Marshalls so I paid less than half the price for the product. That being said I am more than half way down with the toner and I’m really happy with the results. I have mild acne on my face and back and have mainly used this on my back. I’ve used it plenty of times on my face but not consistently enough to claim that it has changed the skin on my face, I will say this would dry me out if I used it every single day. I actually use this 2-3 times a week on my upper back. Ever since I started using the toner I no longer beak out with multiple pimples that leave ugly spots on my back. I occasionally get a pimple but goes away quick and leaves no scar. I truly believe this product has allowed my back to become less oily and look a little bit nicer than it did when I had multiple scars and bumpy spots everywhere.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Perfect toner. First I love the packaging. Designed so you don’t use too much wasting product like the sprays and squirt bottles. The toner itself does exactly what it advertises.

About reviewer (34 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Dark

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I have a mixed feeling relationship with most toners because of my oily, sensitive and acne-prone skin type. In the past, I have used toners including Clinique, Dickinson's, and Estee Lauder, in which they all did little to nothing for my skin. Sometimes those toners did more harm than good, especially the ones that were chock-full of alcohol and fragrance! I bought this toner out of desperation because the Clinique Clarifying Lotion 3 irritated my skin and eyes with its strong stench of alcohol. What I expect out of my toner is to help control my oil production throughout the day without attributing to acne breakouts or irritating my skin. Normally I would not give a toner a score of 5 lippies, but everything about this product is worth while to me. The first factor I love about this toner is the fragrance-free and gentle formula that is alcohol-free. It may feel and look like purified water, but it does more than what water can offer. I like to dampen exfoliating cotton rounds with this product and lightly swipe over my t-zone area and then the cheeks. I do notice that it does remove some traces of makeup and dead skin left on my face after double cleansing. Second factor that I love is the clarifying properties. I have so many acne scars and hyper pigmentation because I broke out often and acne clearing products often dried my skin. This toner successfully keeps my skin looking clear and smooth with minimal break outs and I have used this through late spring to early winter. I used to have to worry about acne specifically during the summer when I get super oily, but this toner has resolved my issue from its daily use. The third factor I adore is the packaging. This comes with a dispenser that you push down on. This dispenser is much more hygienic and practical to use, especially for someone who likes to use cotton rounds or pads often. It dispenses a sufficient amount of product and even when it is near finishing, you get almost every drop of toner, meaning less wasting. The bottle is plastic and semi opaque white, but you can some see through it so you will know how much product is left. I don't find this too bulky to travel with. Also I haven't had any issues with the product spilling because the dispenser and cap keeps it all intact. I highly recommend this toner for people with a similar skin type as I am. The price is expensive, but I believe it is worth it. When I was near finishing my bottle, I drove to the nearby Sephora to repurchase. It is my HG toner and I won't try any other toner unless Kate Somerville discontinues this product.

About reviewer (78 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Impression: This is the best toner I've ever used, seriously. With this toner, and with many skin care products, the results do not show immediately, as we might want them too. With this toner, since it is a clarifying treatment, the results will show much later than a week after initial use. For me, I truly began noticing the results after about a month of use, which is when I saw a nice glow and evenness within the appearance of my skin. Also, my skin is much smoother after repeated use of this product. How I use it: To be clear, using this AM and PM, I apply this to a cotton ball or pad and sweep it over my face, switching the starting spots every day or two, or whenever I feel as though I am beginning in the same place often. Toning, of course, should occur after a thorough cleanse of the face, removing makeup completely. Packaging: The packaging allows for very little waste of the product, as the pump does not allow any product to escape upon initial press. Also, the packaging promotes perfect hygienic use of the product, and even when I reached the bottom of the bottle I was still able to retrieve product down to the very last corner. Money: Price? Expensive, for a toner. I think we are used to the days of Sea Breeze and Witch Hazel running us a good $5-$10, but, with this toner having good ingredients, the price point is much higher. This toner runs for about $24-$28, depending on the store from which you purchase. Also, it is not in Ulta, so beware of that, and only in certain Sephora stores but definitely online in both Sephora and Kate Sommerville. Thoughts: Would I repurchase? Absolutely. Would I refer this to a friend? Absolutely, and have already. Could I live without it? No. I have combo/acne prone skin and this works wonders for controlling the frequency of breakouts, and, most importantly, it lightened my hyperpigmentation over the course of the first month of use. No irritation, clogged pores, or adverse reaction. Top good ingredient? Phytic acid. If you have the money and access, buy it; it's worth the money.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium Brown

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Fantastic product! I have oily-combo skin and it gets closer to the straight oily side during the warmer months. I used this from Spring through Summer and it was a miracle worker for me. For a Benzoyl Peroxide product (the active ingredient that works best to keep my acne at bay) this product was perfect. I didn't find it to be too harsh, but just right. I used about 2-3 pumps twice per day (morning and evening) and I found that it kept my skin clear and actually helped with the texture of my skin. I did definitely notice a difference when I wasn't using the product. I would certainly repurchase but it does stand on the pricier side for me, at $26, so that is deterring me from repurchasing immediately, but it is a great product to rely on.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

My skin is mature and extremely acne prone (with rosacea). Not only that, I'm also very dermatitis prone. Although I'm not oily anymore, I suffer from raised clogged pores at my hairline as well as chronic clogged pores around my nose. The use of retin-A hasn't changed that a bit. My dermatologist suggested I use a glycolic product to help shed skin cells. The only problem is, my rosacea doesn't tolerate glycolic acid. I tried a few products as an experiment, including glycolic pads (for which I used a short-contact method) and a glycolic cream. My skin didn't tolerate either. I thought about trying a milder form of alpha-hydroxy acid, like lactic acid or malic acid. To be honest, I purchased this toner because 1) it didn't have alcohol; and 2) Sephora was out of several other products I wanted and it was the last day for the 15% off for BIs. I succumbed to the pressure. I very much like the delivery of this product with the dispenser bottle. I apply the toner with a cotton pad following cleansing. On my skin the results of this toner are pretty quick. Some clogs that are close to the surface roll out the next day. I also experience some drying and mild peeling; raised blemishes dry out quickly However, if I use the toner for several days in a row, I get multiple irritation breakouts plus additional drying/peeling. Perhaps my skin isn't oily enough for this product. Many of the positive reviews here are from oily-skinned users. Maybe some of the problem is the caprylyl glycol (a coconut-based product). Maybe my skin doesn't tolerate AHAs in any form. Who knows?! Hopefully, I can find a product that works. And I can put it in this bottle which is the only thing I can take away from this purchase.

About reviewer (55 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

So this is my first Kate Somerville purchase and I'm very happy with it. First of all with this product I noticed how smooth and soft my skin was, softer than it's ever been and makeup was just gliding on, also I love how hygienic the pump is. It has definitely improved some redness and discolouration on my skin, and I will be re purchasing if I run out!

About reviewer (124 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Olive

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I love this toner so much. It has to be my favorite toner I've ever tried. I have oily, acne-prone, sensitive skin. I find this very gentle but very cleansing. Makes my skin feel great. I find this does help prevent acne and help clear and fade active acne and hyper pigmentation. It is quite expensive for the amount you get. I'm used to drugstore pricing but I very much believe it's well worth it. And the pump bottle is so convenient! I think all toners should come in a container like this, its absolutely amazing.

About reviewer (69 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I love this toner so much! I have very oily, sensitive and acne prone skin and this toner has done wonders to my skin. It lightens up acne scars, removes excess makeup, is gentle enough to use am and pm, and controls hormonal acne. For $24 your skin will love you. I highly recommend this product if you struggle with acne or clogged pores and want something gentle and alcohol free. *Use with the Shiseido Cotton Pads* - Perfection

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Love this toner. The good: NO ALCOHOL. Lol... Alcohol in skincare break me out and there are very few clarifying toners in the market that has no alcohol and still does a good job of clarifying and mildly exfoliating. It's good at prepping my skin for my serum and moisturizer. Instructions on the package say to use it only once a day which is why I did. My skin gets dry pretty easily if I use too much oil-free products or exfoliating products. So I've never tried using this toner twice a day to give a lowdown on what happens then. Haha.. Really good packaging too. You place your cotton pad on the top of the bottle and press it down to release the toner on the cotton pad. The bad: None so far!

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBlack