3.3

Created with Sketch.
1032 reviews
53%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

After The Great Lighter Fluid Accident of 2019 I was left with tiny stumpy eyelashes to my right eye (as well as no fringe and very little right eyebrow) so was desperate to find a lengthening mascara so I could look remotely normal whilst my eyelashes grow back. I saw a good review for this product and as it was half price at Chemist Warehouse sprinted there to buy it and give it a go. It certainly isn't the best mascara I have ever used. On application it is very blobby and too much product goes on despite the description on the pack of the 'wonderful' case which supposedly wipes excess mascara off the wand as you remove it from it's case. But after spoolying it to death and mopping up the bits of mascara on my brow and lid with a dampened cotton bud (q-tip to our American sisters) I found that it did indeed lengthen my stubs and made them look quite natural. I was worried that the colour I bought (the only one available) Very Black would look too hard on my 57 year old fair face but it is actually fairly soft. A plus for me but a minus for anyone who likes that dramatic deep black look in mascara. I was also worried that my eyes would be irritated by the fibres (I wear contact lenses) and that I woud get some flaking. I usually wear tubing mascara to avoid this. On a side note I am getting fed up with tubing mascaras as they dry out in the tube so quickly that they are a big waste of money. There has been no flaking and no irritation with this mascara. And removal is a piece of cake-it just comes off when I wash my face with Neutrogena Hydrofresh Water Gel or Neutrogena Cleansing Bar with no rubbing at all. I haven't had any problems with panda eyes either during the day and I did have occasion to have a bit of a weep recently (also connected with The Accident and my lack of hair, eyelashes and eyebrow). So overall, even though I can't just swipe it on and go (though I also can't discount the condition of my lashes contributing to the blobby application), it does what I wanted it to do with no nasty side effects. And for $7 you can't get much better than that. So if you are after a cheap lengthening mascara which won't hurt your eyes and comes off easily when you want it and stays put when it should I recommend you give it a try. Update: after a few experiments I have found that the blobby problem is mostly with my frizzled lashes and NOT the mascara. So please disregard the above comments relating to this. There is still a little too much product on the wand initially for my liking but that may just be my personal preference for a very natural look.

About reviewer (81 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue



2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

It said it would have lengthening properties, and I liked that, but it was mostly for the sweet packaging. But sadly, the wand is too limp and wiggly,the formula weighs my lashes down, and it does not separate or define anything. ) : Once again, I am savvy marketing's little b*tch Will not buy again

About reviewer (67 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Lengthens nicely but stays terriblly!!! I've found cheaper mascaras that perform better. I like the brush, but I would perfer a curved brush. I'm just not impressed by this product. Easy to remove but some of the worst staying power I have ever seen!!! Doesn't last worth a bean!

About reviewer (105 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have been using this mascara forever! This is my holy grail! I use the waterproof one because I have extremely oily eyelids, I haven't used the non waterproof one, but I just like to stick to waterproof because my eyes tear up when it's windy. This mascara hold my curls and makes my eyelashes really long and defined. It's a very basic mascara and it tends to kind of give your eyelashes a doll look to it. It is not clumpy at all, so if you want some volume, you can ALWAYS put some more on, you can get crazy with it! the consistency if very light weight and i love it! Also when I'm almost done with it, I use it to comb my eyebrows and it holds it in place ALL DAY and even gives my eyebrows this fullness! and it's really cheap.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

My eyes feel dry, itchy, and irritated, and I'm disappointed because this is an otherwise good everyday mascara. Lashes pretty natural looking, a bit longer w/ a bit more volume. Sad I have to try something else b/c of it irritating my eyes.

About reviewer (257 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I don't like this mascara. It didn't add any length to my lashes and when I removed it, using coconut oil as I always do, some of my eyelashes came out. I have a big chunk missing :/

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Dark

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Define a Lash in the green tube is my favorite mascara. The black is a natural looking black. And I really like the style of the brush. The bristles all line up so you can really get between your lashes and separate them. If you spin the applicator a little with your fingers you get separation and no clumps. (If you DO see clumps that means the tube is getting old and drying out.) It comes off with soap, facewash, or makeup remover. Its hard to tind this because Maybelline keeps promoting newer mascaras that just don't work as well. If you have very thin or very short lashes, this product will not be thick enough to give you a dramatic look. I dont recommend Waterproof Define a Lash because its VERY different from the Regular Define a Lash. The waterproof kind feels thicker, oilier, and heavier when you apply it and it takes a while to dry. The waterproof kind doesn't look good all day - it starts to come off in grainy clumps after you've been wearing it a while.

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Other

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is my HG mascara! I am allergic to a lot of mascaras, as they either itch my eyes and make them all red and irritated, or they make a lot of my lashes just drop out. Blessed I know lol. Anyway, I have been using this for about 6 years and it has really been a great mascara for me all the way around. This mascara does not irritate my eyes or cause any eyelast loss at all. It never clumps and it has a soft, silky texture that never flakes even on the hottest of days. It is a great every day mascara with just one coat or, since it dries quickly, I sometimes put on 2-3 coats for more glamorous evening into night time look. The price is pretty good at $8-10 a tube and it lasts me about 6-8 weeks, depending on if I used it every day or just 4-5 days a week. I use the color Very Black #LN01 and find it to be just the right shade of black for my medium medium light skin tone. I use this in the regular formula. I did try the waterproof version once and it was very hard to take off, so I am not able to recommend it in waterproof. The regular version is very easy to remove with little to no fuss. The packaging is just "ok" but then what does that matter as long as you receive the product in good fresh condition, right? I hope Maybelline NEVER discontinues this product! I love it!!!

About reviewer (50 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

The perfect day-to-day mascara. For me, it's all about the brush, which is the perfect size and shape for precision application. The thinner formula prevents clumping and results in a more natural look, perfect for everyday wear. I have been buying it for years, and live in fear of it being discontinued!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I like to describe this as blah. I almost see it more of a lash tint more than mascara, just meant to darken and define them. Well you may say "that's what it's supposed to do", problem is that it doesn't do it with any actual satisfactory result. A very light darkening, defining, and lengthening. It's perfect if your one of those TRUE people that want makeup to look like your actually not wearing any.

About reviewer (519 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us