Finacea Gel

 Finacea Gel
Finacea

4.0

131 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Each gram of FINACEA Gel, 15%, contains 0.15 gm azelaic acid (15% w/w) as the active ingredient in an aqueous gel base containing benzoic acid (as a preservative), disodium-EDTA, lecithin, medium-chain triglycerides, polyacrylic acid, polysorbate 80, propylene glycol, purified water, and sodium hydroxide to adjust pH

Start your review


on 11/27/2018 8:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Skinoren and Finacea are different marketing names that Bayer uses in different countries, though Skinoren seems to be commonly associated with the 20% cream preparation of the product whereas Finacea seems to be commonly associated with the 15% gel preparation. In this review, Skinoren refers to the 20% cream, and Finacea refers to the 15% gel.

Back in October 2009, I wrote a review on how Skinoren did not work for my hormonal chin acne. Fast forward to 2016 and I was still suffering from the same acne problem! I had a particularly bad breakout episode around then and had been to the dermatologist for further rounds of oral and topical antibiotics when BP had proven to be too irritating for continual use. As most acne sufferers would know, antibiotics are not a long term acne solution but I needed something to clear me up quickly before my wedding, so I went hopelessly down the antibiotic route.

Anyway, in December 2016, I decided to give Skinoren another go. I had read up on some tips on how to apply it effectively. This time round, I applied a thin layer to my whole face, and applied moisturiser either before or after the Skinoren. I believe back in 2009, I used to just smear a thick layer on my chin. Anyway, Skinoren has proven to be a faithful friend and I have used it on and off since.

Now in November 2018, with azelaic acid becoming a more well known acne fighting ingredient, there is naturally a lot more information on the internet on this than say back in 2009 or even 2016. My online research suggests that Finacea is less irritating than Skinoren while being more effective (it absorbs and penetrates better), so I have recently sourced some Finacea from an online Australian chemist (AUD 25 plus roughly AUD 6 for DHL international shipping). I must say that the consistency is a lot better than Skinoren. It goes on skin much more smoothly and absorbs a lot better. Finacea is now my preferred treatment, though I make sure to always have some Skinoren on standby as well (in general, I find it easier to source Skinoren than Finacea).

In terms of how I apply it:

1. Wash my face with a mild moisturiser. Currently I am alternating between different cream washes from Japan.
2. Dry face.
3. Put on Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturising Gel.
4. Wait a bit.
5. Put on a thin layer of Finacea gel.
6. Wait a bit.
7. Put on sunscreen.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.



on 5/12/2018 6:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I read the glowing reviews and I was so excited to try this product, but unfortunately it didn’t work for me. I am very in tune with my skin and I usually watch out for reaction, but I ignored the signs in hopes this product would work. I have a lot of comedonal acne, redness, and dehydrated skin. I get a few papules, but nothing extreme. Once I started this product I started noticing quite a few papules/pustules cropping up, but I disregarded them in hopes it was just a part of the purging process. As I continued to use it I started getting a terrible bumpy texture across my face, and it started feeling rough. I realized this product was causing more dehydration in my already sensitive-dehydrated complexion. Once I stopped using it the bumps reduced dramatically. I gave it two lippies because the first few times I used it it reduced the redness in my face, but after a few uses my skin started to look irritated. I would say give it a try for sure if you have oily skin, but if you’re dry/dehydrated ease into it or patch test an area first. I also tried buffering, by applying my moisturizer first, but even that wasn’t enough to combat the dryness my skin suffers from.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 4/5/2018 9:37:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I’ve been using this for 8 months now and it has reached HG status.

I do not get cystic acne but little horrible bumps all over my face. I’ve tried a couple of Azelaic acid products in the past and nothing comes close to Finacea - Skinoren (fatty alcohols break me out) and Evologie (not even half as effective). It has done wonders in keeping my skin mostly clear (and has faded a lot of PIH from my previous q switched laser session, and a little bit of my melasma). I have incredibly sensitive skin that does not tolerate most things (including BHA).

Couple of pointers if you have sensitive skin:

1) Start with a THIN layer. Applying too much at first will cause a lot of irritation on sensitive areas. I learnt the hard way!

2) Start off with ONCE a day application. Only bump it up to twice daily if your skin can handle it. If your skin is irritated/ skin barrier is compromised, give your skin a break from it for at least a week. When my skin is cranky, I apply it twice daily on non-sensitive (T-Zone) break out prone areas and only once daily on sensitive areas (Cheeks). If my cheeks are feeling less sensitive, I apply it twice daily on my whole face.

3) Use a BUFFER - Apply after your toner/serums etc. If your skin ok with this, you can slowly try applying it closer to your skin, eg. before serums but after Toner. I personally wouldn’t apply this directly on my skin. I prefer to apply Finacea after my serums and before my moisturiser.

Btw: it is very cheap in Australia and Italy, so stock up if you are on holiday or get someone to ship some to you!

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 2/7/2018 10:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It didn't work any miracles or anything but I do feel like it definitely has helped my skin and I really like how easy it is to rub in and how quickly it absorbs. However, I will not be repurchasing because I got these as a sample and I don't want to pay for the real thing since it's so expensive.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been using Finacea for two months now, so figured it was time to do a review. My skin is annoyingly combination, dry on the cheeks, rosacea-prone, rosy (okay... red) and with mild acne. I was hoping to reduce some of my rosacea bumps.

Some top tips for using Finacea:
1. Start by applying a half-blueberry blog on alternate days, at night, mixed with lotion. Give your skin a day to react. If it isn't screaming, increase the dosage and frequency.
2. Do NOT apply to damp skin
3. Really, do NOT apply to damp skin or it will itch. Wait at least 10 minutes.
4. Don't apply before taking a shower. Oww.
5. Apply your moisturiser before the Finacea - it won't impact absorption and minimises irritation, according to this article (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19363903s)
6. Use a lot of humectants while your skin is adjusting

Here was my experience:
* Day 1: Finacea causes stinging then itchiness for an hour
* Day 4: My face is peeling off! Will reduce down to every-other-day application and try washing + 10 min wait + Hyladmide Serum + moisturiser + 5 min wait + Finacea + 5 min wait.
* Day 5: Face is also purging and still peeling (and drinking up loooooads of moisturiser), but no stinging, and itches less if apply moisturiser and let skin dry
* Day 6: Still red and peeling, but the bumps are reducing. Soaking up moisturiser faster than Mom can down a margarita. If that was a purge it was short - but I have been Adapalene for eons, so perhaps there's not much left to purge.
* Day 7: Peeling reduced to a bit around the nose, but texture back to normal. No longer feel like an orange peel.
* Day 8: Peeling has finally stopped, so can wear foundation for the first time in a week. Still redder than usual, but calming down, may wear foundation. Colleagues are by this point convinced that I have a strange tropical disease and are avoiding me. Humectants are good, very good.
* Still Day 8: Definitely a mistake to wear foundation, I have serious cake-face. The peeling has stopped by my skin is still very dry and flakey. Need more moisturiser.
* Day 10: My forehead is shiny again. Welcome back to my annoying combination skin.
* Day 12: Hmm, my skin is kinda pretty and smooth. I could live with this.

Overall, I'm thrilled. The initial dating period wasn't easy, but we're now going steady. I've now started alternating Finacea with The Ordinary Lactic Acid 5% in the morning, which seems to keep me nice and glowing, to the point where I've stopped wearing foundation. I haven't had any new pimples since starting Finacea!

7 of 7 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

my skin changed dramatically a few years ago, bright red, swollen, bumpy, dry and oily at the same time. Was diagnosed with rosacea. Tried a bunch of things and nothing worked until I used finacea, morning and at night. Everything cleared up. It is pretty amazing. Have been repurchasing for a few years now, don't think I can really get by without it, the rosacea comes right back any time I stop using it. I must use it morning and night or it does not work. Seems to reduce wrinkles as well or diminish the way that rosacea can make you look more wrinkled.


on 8/22/2017 2:34:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this stuff!! I wish I used it years ago instead of tazorac/ retin a. I got great results from tazorac in keeping my.pores clear as I have oily skin but I always had some peeling and dryness. I requested to my dr to switch me to finacea because I heard it's gentler and is good for pigmentation and it has antibacterial properties to help keep pores clear. Even though I used tazorac for a couple years I still had a little purging with this but it was just a tiny whithead you could barely see and they were gone within a day. After a couple weeks my skin looked clear, bright and even toned. It did itch a little when I first started using it but it only lasted 20 min or so. I use it twice a day and in the morning I follow with a moisturizer and my.makeup goes on great and it keeps oil at bay. In the evening I just wash with skin medica facial cleanser and wait 10 min and apply finacea with no moisturizer. I have had no peeling at all, pores are smaller and skin is so soft, I love this stuff and highly recommend to anyone with sensitive skin that is oily and prone to clogging. I prefer this over any retinoid and I have tried them all through the years.

3 of 4 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is the only cream that helps to clear my face from pimples or rashes . Calms the skin within 2-3 days, a bit drying so use some moisturizer on top.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 2/10/2017 10:39:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have never had acne in my life and I'm 50 years old, I was very blessed with flawless skin but about 4 months ago I started to get a little acne breakouts, so I tried almost everything on the market for adult acne, nothing seemed to help me at all. So lately it got worse and worse, I didn't want to go outside at all, so my daughter said that I should really see a doctor about the breakouts. I did and went to a Derm. who gave me some acne pills and no cream at all, just told me to use the pills and some extra gentle face wash, no luck only worst. I went to yet another derm doctor and she looked at my face and quickly gave me a prescription for some more pills but yet a stronger dose and gave me Finacea 15% Foam, and this stuff is pretty pricey. I started not to fill the prescription just because of the price, I was so lucky because this product is priced at about $275 but with my insurance I only had to pay $20, so I bought it! I have a lot of acne marks and redness by now, she also gave me Desonide for the redness, let me tell you these two medications are miracle drugs in about 3 days I saw so much of a difference and my marks were fading so much. Some people say that it stings and burns when they apply it to their face, but with me I felt no burning at all. I used this every morning and night with CerVa or Cetaphil cleanser and then applied the foam and i am good to go. Don't listen to what other people say about the medication if they say that it's not good, everyone has different skin, what works for one may work even better for the other one, try it if your insurance pays part of it it's the bomb!! Right now I am still on the pills which I take every morning and I still use the foam when I have a breakout and it's great, all my redness and marks have disappeared, this medication must have some sort of bleaching agent in it because I have no scars at all now. would I buy this again, YES, I'm going to get another prescription just to have this on hand, and it's not sticky and has no smell to it. This foam is a bit drying so you have to use a good moisturizer with it, but besides that the good weighs out the bad, Please give it a chance.


Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very expensive, but Azelaic acid acts in part by inhibiting the growth of acne-causing bacteria, such as Propionibacterium acnes. It also works on the cells that line hair follicles by changing the way they mature and proliferate, which decreases follicular ‘plugging’ and helps prevent blackheads, whiteheads, and inflamed acne lesions. In cases of hyper-pigmentation, azelaic acid appears to selectively target hyperactive melanocytes [pigment-producing cells], while having little effect on normal melanocytes. For this reason it is a treatment of choice for hyper-pigmentation in patients of all skin types,” says Dr. Lortscher. A normalization of keratinization leading to an anticomedonal effect of azelaic acid may also contribute to its clinical activity. Electron microscopic and immuno-histochemical evaluation of skin biopsies from human subjects treated with AZELEX cream demonstrated a reduction in the thickness of the stratum corneum, a reduction in number and size of keratohyalin granules, and a reduction in the amount and distribution of filaggrin (a protein component of keratohyalin) in epidermal layers. This is suggestive of the ability to decrease microcomedo formation.

9 of 12 people found this helpful.


Back to Top