4.0

Created with Sketch.
48 reviews
60%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I tried 31 Rue Cambon twice in my perfumista past . Once in 2008 and again in 2009 I believe. Both from pretty good samples. In all honesty I think 31 Rue Cambon has been reformulated a bit and it has been brightened just a bit. The first two samples I tried ..I loved the first one .I was reminded of clothes scented with high perfume , in a closet. Rich ,rare and comforting. The second sample which was an official Chanel sample did not progress into anything much for me .I do not know why . It was enough for me to never take the plunge and get 31 Rue Cambon. 31 Rue Cambon of 2016 is slightly different.That elegant mustiness of an older world and stored vintage clothes ...is not there. It is now .. bright sharp citrus over iris .. a bit of a lipstick note wafts in after the opening ... and dries down to slightly chewy cleaned up patchouli .It is entirely elegant . This is so Jacques Polge ! The opening is euphoric ,the middle is elegance and the dry down is classy warmth. There is a slight nod to Chanel's Allure here AND God Forbid yes Chance EDT and EDP. Actually I like Chance too so this is ok . I love its progression and it has great character . Decent longevity and sillage . Fantastic Les Exclusifs. I prefer this one to the tamed down Cuir de Russie of 2016.

About reviewer (463 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther



5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

What a gorgeous find. I was surprised to see comparisons to Number 5 and Coco here . . . although, there's a good whallop of powder in this, this is considered a light (i.e., "modern") chypre fragrance, infused with patchouli. This is a floral -- woody fragrance, created by Jacques Polge, who also created Allure, Allure Sensual, Coco, Coco Noir, Sycamore, and the timeless Cristalle, among others. He has described it as an "oakfree chypre,' a first in modern fragrance, chypres nearly always defined by an oakmoss heart. This is a modern fragrance with nods to Chanel's fragrance history -- I am besotted of it's powder, the patchouli, I also get notes of leather and jasmine, as well as the hints of vetiver and jasmine. I find this to be a complex and sophisticated fragrance, and a joy to wear. The first whallop is pure luxury, and it continues into the dry down . . . the play of wood and florals and the hint of smoke and powder really extraordinarily complicated and captivating . . . many who shy away from patchouli (I am not one) love this, because the wood and florals blend with such finesse, the patchouli smoke an elegant and not overwhelming compliment to the wood and flowers. Staying power is unexceptional, but the scent's provocations make it lovely to reapply. From the Chanel site: "Description: The epicenter of the world of Gabrielle Chanel, (31 Rue Cambon) a place that harmoniously combined her need for simplicity with her taste for the baroque. It took the complex form of a beautiful Chypre fragrance to capture these contrasting passions, also present in Haute Couture, in a scent. This exceptional fragrance combines the mysteries of both sensuality and elegance." Indeed.

About reviewer (298 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I bought a sample of this parfume but it did not smell anything.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

What a glorious, old world fragrance. I can't imagine wearing it in spring and summer, but it's one of my go to frags for fall/winter, along with Shamilar Ode to Vanille and Dioressence. Really rich, warm chypre, really well done.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I love some Chanels, and had high hopes for this, but no such luck. Very indolic. Quite metallic and sweaty-smelling to my nose at times. After about an hour, it settles down a little and gets a bit powdery. Still not for me though. And of course, as with most perfumes I do not like, it sticks around for a long time.

About reviewer (123 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Other, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Bergamot (and citrus in general) and I tend to not be friends, and 31 Rue Cambon confirmed it. All I get is ashy-burned-medicinal citrus--in other words, floor cleaner. No. 5 Eau Premiere did the same exact thing to me, so I'm not surprised, just disappointed.

About reviewer (284 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Tan, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Some people here say it smells like Coromandel...??? The only similarity I see between the two is that both are perfume and that is about it. Now come on, if you spray this on at the shop along with two other perfumes, can we really call this testing??? In my opinion to really get to know a fragrance and to be able to decide whether you like it or not you really need a one on one experience. Before you trash it, please give it a fair go. Order a 1 ml sample vial. Have a shower. Apply it to clean, warm skin. And preferably do it when you are in a relaxed mood. And don't stick your wrist up your nose straight away. Go make you self a cup of tea and read the paper. And let the smell just waft, envelope you, let it come to you. 31 rue Cambon is beautiful.

About reviewer (121 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Other

HairBrown

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

This is my perfume for getting things done, especially things I’ve been putting off or just generally don’t feel like doing. The opening can be a little manic—no snap and growl of aldehydes, but lots of bouncing citrus. Then there’s a peppery phase. Then it’s a crisp floral, seems mostly iris, without any powder. From time to time, it reminds me of Mythique. I don’t match perfumes to outfits, but this is far more tailored-suit than jeans or cocktail dress. Feels very polished. Low to medium sillage, very good longevity.

About reviewer (73 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

This is lovely and I find it a little similar to #5 Sensual Elixir. There are women for whom this is or will be a holy grail. I've had one decant since it was released and have thought of how lovely it is every time I wear it. The thing is, it isn't a scent that has automatically entered my mind to wear for any specific occasion. It's more like I've been looking through my minis, decants, pure parfums and happened to see this one. I rarely remember what it smells like when it's mentioned on the fragrance board aside from knowing it's a Chanel. For those who are lost without their now d/c Chanel Sensual Elixir (I have a FB of that one so I'm good) this might heal your pain.

About reviewer (132 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

This is my go-to "grownup" perfume. It's classic, yet has enough of a modern edge that I don't feel grandmotherly wearing it. It's a chypre, but I'm picky about my chypres, and can't stand the fuddy-duddy ones. Frankly, this is probably the most perfect chypre that I've found -- I can't handle anything too powdery, and 31, rue Cambon doesn't come off as powdery in the least on me. I can wear it any time of year -- I basically wear it whenever I have an important meeting or presentation and need to dress up and be professional. To me, it says classic, but not hidebound or overly traditional; grownup and sophisticated but not old. It has a fair amount of sillage and good staying power. If I put it on in the morning, it's there when I leave work. People know I'm wearing perfume during the day, but it doesn't have the killer sillage of, say, a Tauer perfume. It's an expensive perfume, and I was fortunate enough to get it as a birthday gift from DH. But the nice thing is that it also smells expensive, unlike, say, the Bond No. 9 perfumes, at least in my experience. So at least if you're spending the money, you get your money's worth.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGray