3.5

Created with Sketch.
42 reviews
62%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

Unfortunately something in this causes an itchy rash under my eyes and along my jaw. I wanted to like this because its ingredient list is fairly short/simple, it's marketed for sensitive skin and lots of people on the skincareaddiction Reddit seem to like it. I wish I knew what the ingredient culprit was, as most of the ingredients are not listed as irritants on cosdna. However several of the ingredients cosdna doesn't seem to have data for. Anyway, the search continues.

About reviewer (106 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen



1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I have verrrry sensitive skin. from the getgo, I loved how completely simple and non-irritating this lotion felt. but it didn't seem moisturizing enough. after drying down, my face would feel tight. after a few weeks, I started breaking out in little red bumps and whiteheads. I have adult acne, but it tends to be more like hormonal cysts. the zits happening from the vanicream were different. pretty much the day after I switched back to my favorite old lotion, the breakouts stopped. an aside: sometimes I break out in unusual ways when my skin is too dry, so I tried mixing this lite lotion with vanicream's heaver face cream. since this stuff was so simple and affordable, I really wanted to make it work! my face didn't feel dry and tight anymore, but the breakouts persisted.

About reviewer (55 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I’m in LOVE with this moisturizer. Currently on accutane and still breakout prone and sensitive from rosacea and this stuff is legit amazing. HG while on accutane.

About reviewer (113 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

LOVE this moisturizer for the face and body! I use to use the Cerave PM lotion but after L'oreal changed the formula to be more irritating, I switched to Vanicream. The change was pretty much instant overnight. My face was always so red, greasy, and pimply/irritated when I used the new Cerave PM formula but after switching, the irritation has vanished and my skin actually looks even-toned and super smooth! I find that the best way to apply this product is to rub some on and then gently pat it in to avoid a white cast (which is from the white petrolatum). After applying, give it 10-ish minutes (on my oily skin at least) for it to become matte but still look dewy. I never knew that my face could look so luminous and not be so greasy!! Truly a game changer and I love the simple ingredient list - helps with making my sensitive skin less likely to be irritated. I can finally go out on a windy day and NOT have my hair stick to my face (like with the cerave)! The price is pretty amazing as well at around $9 (Target) for 16 oz. And the 16 oz bottle comes with a pump! Definitely my new HG and will replace my Cerave PM lotion as the new formula for that one is too irritating for me :(.

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Background on my skin: oily, acne/clog prone, rosacea-prone, and sensitive. I want to note that I use this in conjunction with products that fight my acne. This contains no actives (which is exactly what I needed) so don't expect any benefits other than what it is designed to do: lightly hydrate. Pros: -CHEAP. This is the main advantage against my other favorite moisturizer (CosRX Birch Sap Oil Free Moisturizer - review in profile). 16oz vs 3oz... still love the CosRX but I was going through it at an alarming rate after upping my chemicals. -Doesn't break me out. -Fully absorbs/dries down. I have oily skin and a heavy film will break me out. -Bland/low thrill. I need this trait for several reasons. Less likely to break me out and more likely to interact positively with the rest of my skincare. -Wears well UNDER my sunscreen and make up. Doesn't ball up or start looking gross. Undereye concealer looks a lot more smooth, foundation looks more natural. -Mixes great with other skincare. Again, this goes back to it being bland. I use harsh ingredients such as tretinoin and benzoyl peroxide (at times) and need a gentle buffering agent. This fits the bill and dilutes formulas as needed. -Doesn't upset my sensitive skin. Even if Im having a rosacea flare up. Vanicream Lite is fragrance-free and again...very bland. Cons: -Doesn't mix INTO my very matte foundation very well. I was hoping this could be used to sheer it out. Instead I just have to apply it under. That's fine, not a big deal. I suspect the reason it doesn't mix into the fndt is because of the lack of oil. Not a deal breaker... if it did mix well, then it might suck for other reasons. Advice: -Biggest complaint Ive seen from others is it's too light. There is a heavier version on the market. Before giving up I'd rec trying to apply a few drops of a trusted oil beforehand or apply it to damp skin. Worth a try. -If by chance you are on the opposite side of the spectrum and this is too heavy, give it about 15 minutes to fully dry down or apply less.

About reviewer (515 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

This has become my staple night cream for now. I bought this to replace my Differin Balancing Moisturizer which is WAY too rich for me if Im not paring it with Differing gel & Benzoyl peroxide (In which case I prefer Differin Balancing over Vanicream light because it's more emollient. Then it balances out the drying effects of the actives). It was clogging my pores a little and making me look very oily. Not to mention it made me feel itchy constantly. I usually have problems with vegetable oils making me itchy and the Differin moisturizer has avocado oil in it. If Im using it together with Differin Gel & Benzoyl peroxide I dont experience that issue though. It makes me sad and happy at the same time that this is a no frills moisturizer. Its basically water, synthetic emollients and an humectant. I apply it on a damp face since all it does is prevent water loss, so I want it to hold the maximum amount of water possible. When it dries I follow up with the rest of my topicals at night, which generally is Benzoyl Peroxide. I also like that its designed for people with sensitive skin in mind. I tried using this lotion on my body as well after showering (the same as on face, on damp skin) but it didn't work out for me. I don't cover/wash my whole body with soap daily (just once/twice a week). The rest of days I wash the necessary areas and the rest I just flush with water) to prevent dry skin, so I noticed an increase in breakouts. I stopped using it as body lotion and went back to using Aloe Vera for that or nothing at all. Breakouts stopped. I hesitate to call it an HG because it has no bells and whistles, but I'm definitively calling it a staple because it a good product to fall back on to, doesn't irritate my face or give me breakouts, it's accessible at drugstores, affordable because of the amount you get, and it has a nice hygienic packaging with a pump. Im VERY happy I found it and I give it 5 stars because it does what it promises to do.

About reviewer (350 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

No irritants No fragrance No parabens I don't find it particularly moisturizing but my 16yr old son loves it because it doesn't burn his face and it doesn't feel heavy or sticky. I do like to use this when I've derma rolled my face because it doesn't introduce any irritants into the skin.

About reviewer (203 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is hg for my combination, sensitive, acne-prone, rosacean skin. A small amount is all I need on any dry patches, and it helps make my makeup goes on smoothly. Not greasy, and best of all, not irritating to my skin! In fact, I started using this line (the bar soap on my face along with this) when my dermatologist suggested it at a time when my rosacea was freaking out about anything that touched my skin...this was the one thing that didn't burn or make things worse, while providing moisture. Of course this won't work for everyone as sensitivities are so variable, but I would highly suggest giving it a try!

About reviewer (175 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I use a benzyl peroxide face wash to tame acne. Recently started using liquid foundation and was needing something that could go underneath and level out dry patches but not leave me so oily mid day that my make up melts off. I also have tried other OTC and department store brands of lotions and most leave my face burning or very oily. Got this stuff on a whim and was worried about price. No need for that as it only takes a pea sized amount to do my face and neck! It sank in so quickly and made my face very soft. Does not make me oily mid day. No burning or redness and creates great base for my makeup. I am so relieved I can cry. If you're worried about the white petroleum making you oily, don't! I had been using just Vaseline on my face at night and it actually has helped my skin. (It was not good under make up though as it would break up the formula). Very happy I bought this. It's also been great for my 6 year olds eczema on her face! I will be getting more once I run out, which will be a while from now!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Absorbs fast, moisturizes my sensitive skin (face and body) and doesn't cause any redness/puffy eyes that some other lotions have caused. Best of all... It's made in my hometown! Yay!

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen