Jane Iredale PureMoist LipColour SPF 18 in Brett

Jane Iredale PureMoist LipColour SPF 18 in Brett
JI PureMoist/Brett (over Vanicream Lip Protectant)

4.4

8 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Zinc Oxide 8%. Ingredients: Castor Seed Oil, Isopropyl Jojobate, Jojoba Esters, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Candelilla Wax, Carnauba Wax, Beeswax, Grape Seed Extract, Peppermint Leaf Extract, Vanilla Tahitensis Fruit Extract, Flavor, Borage Seed Oil, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Bisabolol. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Carmine, Red 30 Lake, Red 7 Lake.

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 7/15/2018 11:39:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Jane Iredale lip products are far superior to any lip products I have purchased. They are kind to your lips, apply smoothly, and are available in a great array of colors. Whether you want a gloss, a stain, a moisture lipstick, or a lip plumper, you will be happy with the results!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 11/21/2010 5:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Well, well, well.... I have always avoided Jane Iredale products, even in my quest for all natural makeup options. "Just too expensive!" I thought. "No mineral makeup can be worth paying THAT much!" I said. But I have never, ever been able to find the perfect lipstick - one that didn't have scary ingredients, was moisturizing, long-lasting, and the perfect color. And then I met Brett! Actually the name did draw me in, my one and only brother's name is Brett, so I thought it was kind of funny...
But JI's Brett is a LOVELY berry on me - not orangey, brown or too warm at all on me. Its a perfect MLBB shade applied lightly, and can be built up to more of a true berry/red. It feels light and yet like a balm. There is no strange taste, and the scent is light and minty. It lasts a decent amount of time. The case is a pretty gold, and closes firmly with a satisfying little click. I will gladly keep forking over $20 for this stuff, and will be trying more colors and other things in JI's line now too.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Product full name: Jane Iredale PureMoist LipColour SPF 18, in Brett.

Perfect YLBB everyday lipstick with physical-only sunscreen (SPF 18, zinc oxide). The Brett shade appears (on me anyway: see pics at end of review*) as a berry that's just sufficiently darker than natural lip colour to enhance, no more. A cross between Clinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey and Lipstick Queen Medieval. Nicely moisturising, some taste from peppermint, otherwise nothing inoffensive to report in the ingredients. Unlike the JI lSPF lip balms LipDrink and H/E for men, there's no lemon (which may be photosensitizing).

I got this after extensive research online (especially, of course, here on MUA) to replace my beloved now-discontinued Aveda Lip Tints, as an everyday lippie with sunscreen.

Packaging: simple gold twist-up classic lipstick tube. 3.4g. Decent cruelty-free company. No bismuth oxychloride; fulll ingredients at end of review. Available from some salons and spas, and online. Price: CAD22.50, somewhere around USD18.00-20.00.

INGREDIENTS: Active Ingredient: Zinc Oxide 8%.
Ingredients: Castor Seed Oil, Isopropyl Jojobate, Jojoba Esters, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Candelilla Wax, Carnauba Wax, Beeswax, Grape Seed Extract, Peppermint Leaf Extract, Vanilla Tahitensis Fruit Extract, Flavor, Borage Seed Oil, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Bisabolol. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Carmine, Red 30 Lake, Red 7 Lake.

* pic in profile, on product review page here, and here if you click continue: shot in natural light, worn here over Weleda Everon lip balm and Vanicream Lip Protectant SPF 30 (TiO2). As you can see, no whitening effect.

Comparison of Gingerrama-approved lippies for everyday redhead use: continued >>

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 9/9/2009 9:42:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

While I do not adore this lipstick, it is one of the few in my cadre that I have almost worn down to a nub, and I have repurchased it. It applies soft and creamy and feels as nourishing as my Badger lip balm. The color is long wearing, leaves behind a natural stain, and it is buildable -- so you can get a sheer YLLB look or a warm punch of berry. This color would probably flatter most fair to medium skin tones, whether warm or cool toned; it almost enhances my fair, cool (NW15) skin, but it really does lean too warm for me to love it.. (I wear JI Ivory or Bisque in the pressed powder.)

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 8/11/2009 4:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

There is nothing about this lipstick that I don't love! Perfect for every day use as well as night wear (very buildable color!). Buttery, smooth, not too glossy OR too matte. Just plain beautiful.


on 6/15/2009 9:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love this lipstick. It's half-gone and I've only had it a couple of months. That's unusual for me. I hardly ever use up a lipstick. Part of the reason is that this goes on like a really smooth balm; the other reason is that I use it daily. It has a wonderful smooth, moisturizing texture. I love the vanilla mint scent. And the color is fabulous. It looks dark in the tube but really goes on very sheer, and you can build the color up. But it will not get scary on you. A single coat gives a rosy, MLBB look. A second coat brings it up a notch to a gentle rosy berry tone that is really flattering. This is the red that you want for daytime! It looks great, never dark, dragon-ladyish, or garish. Just natural, pretty lips. I think this is kind of like the Laura Mercier Sexy Lips line in terms of concept/color. I will definitely repurchase!

P.S. the packaging is nice and the case gives a nice solid click when you close it.


on 4/21/2009 11:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I was really bummed about this lipstick. After reading all the great reviews about how great it looks on pale skin, I was really excited to try this. I looked at swatches on the jane iredale site and dermstore.com and the color looks like a deep berry with neutral to cool undertones. Once I tried it on, it has a very warm almost brown (and possibly slightly orange) undertone and looks horrible with my neutral skin tone (I wear Bisque in the Pure Pressed makeup). I would definitely recommend finding a clinic that carries the line and trying the color on first before committing to a shade based on online swatches and reviews.


on 1/24/2007 12:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The PERFECT YLBB shade! It's just a touch deeper than my own lips, and very moisturizing and sheer! I purchased a full sized tube about 2 months ago and use it so much that I had to purchase another a few days ago! That is extremely rare for me, as I have enough different lipsticks to last me the rest of my life! This is the only one I use everyday and have not gotten bored with!

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Back to Top